We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet, but light on the amenities as expected from the low room rate.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stardust Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stardust Motor Inn to your Saves list
Stardust Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2700 Curry Road, Off Exit 25 N.Y. Thruway, Schenectady, NY 12303   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Schenectady
Rome, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and quiet, but light on the amenities as expected from the low room rate.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

My husband and I chose this hotel on a business trip to save our organization a little money (we work for a small nonprofit). Our conference was in Schenectady, and the motel was easy to get to from the highway, only about a 8-minute drive. We stayed two nights. The hotel was built in the 1960s, and still had much of its vintage signage with little exterior updating.

The rates were very reasonable, but as expected the amenities were not substantial. The motel provided soap, clean towels, and washcloths, but little else. I was hoping for an iron, and my husband found he had forgotten his razor, but we made other arrangements and it worked out fine. The shower left a little to be desired, as the water pressure was nil, but we dealt with it. Our room key didn't work the first time, but the front desk clerk came out to our room to let us in himself and the problem was fixed by the time we left for the evening and returned. Also, our phone was not working, which didn't really bother us as we used our cell phones and the front desk was only a short walk away. The only real issue I had is that the bedspread smelled just slightly like smoke (we were in a non-smoking room) and vaguely of not being laundered. Fortunately, the sheets underneath were clean, so I avoided the bedspread as much as possible. You may also want to bring additional pillows, as we only had 3 for our king-sized bed.

That said, the staff that we dealt with were friendly, and our room was clean. They did offer coffee and danishes/honey buns for light continental fare in the morning, but be sure to get there early for the best selection :}, as I think that many of the guests were construction workers and get an early start. The wireless internet works best when near a window, but it does work. And it was pretty quiet, despite being right off the highway. On the whole, a reasonable room for a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    2
    1
    9
See reviews for
3
6
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Western MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

I almost passed on this place because of the reviews. But, The weekend was going to be expensive enough already, I figured why not? I haven't stayed in a dive in a long time. I was pleasantly surprised!! Comfortable bed and a clean room. Easy to get on and off I-90 and I-890. Bring your own shampoo, soap and conditioner. You may need to remind them that a king is the really, big bed. But, like I said, whataya want for $50?

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady NY
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

I conduct my consulting business from here and host business associates as guests regularly. My guests have never complained..
The place is clean: I daily watch the proficient housekeeping staff scour vacated rooms.
So I say again: NICE PLACE, NICE PRICE!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

This is a very run down motel. It is a motel for transients or welfare residents, as we witnessed. We ate the charge of $134.00 rather than stay there. We drove 4 hours home instead.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blahblah
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

Probally the best priced in the area. Not spic and span clean but certainly not dirty. Has chairs to sit on porch but no pool. Housekeeping staff very nice but seem to be bothered by ungrateful new owners. If you want luxary not the place to go, however if you want something centrally located, inexpensive and comfortable is a good choice.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

I have never bothered to rate a hotel before. I came online just to do it so nobody ever has to go through what we went through. Our room was so filthy, there was not even a square inch of something clean. I had to clean the sink, tub, and toilet before being able to step foot in the room. We had to wear flip flops at all times in the room, since the rug was sticky. I brought in our sleeping bags and pillows from our road trip to sleep, since everything was so dirty.

I am a camper. So, I don't mind sleeping in a tent on the ground and using shared bathing facilities. I'm not that picky. But, this was absolutely terrible. When I went to open the shower curtain, my hand was covered with slime from the reverse side. Yuck.

It was too late at night to make arrangements elsewhere. I would have slept in my car, but I didn't know how safe it would have been (given the way that the hotel presented itself).

We hope that our pleas to the management improve the condition for others in the future. In the meanwhile, I hope this helps you better make your travel arrangements.

  • Disliked — It was filthy
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2008

I have stayed at the Stardust many times from 2006 though 2008 and found the proprietors to be very friendly and helpful. The rooms were always very clean and the hotel staff very accommodating. It was quiet, especially since I like to get to bed early. Great cable TV and high speed wireless internet access is available as well!

I fully recommend this hotel for visitors, with families, couples or singles, for a stay at the motel.

  • Liked — friendliness and cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schenectady
1.9 mi away
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
#2 of 12 in Schenectady
4.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Schenectady
Hampton Inn Schenectady
#1 of 12 in Schenectady
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Schenectady
Quality Inn Schenectady
#6 of 12 in Schenectady
3.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany-Western Ave University
4.0 mi away
The Stockade Inn
The Stockade Inn
#3 of 12 in Schenectady
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stardust Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stardust Motor Inn

Address: 2700 Curry Road, Off Exit 25 N.Y. Thruway, Schenectady, NY 12303
Location: United States > New York > Schenectady
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Schenectady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stardust Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Stardust Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stardust Hotel Schenectady

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stardust Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.