We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great B&B in Schnectady” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van Voast House Bed and Breakfast

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Schenectady
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Van Voast House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Van Voast House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1353 Union Street, Schenectady, NY 12308   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Schenectady B&B and Inns
Redwood City, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Great B&B in Schnectady”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Van Voast's host, Carol, has created a beautiful environ both inside and out. Today we enjoyed breakfast on the deck looking out over a green garden and colorful lupines and other flowers. Carol cooks up scrumptious and unusual breakfast. Today's fare: spinach on toast topped by an egg plus pumpkin coffee cake and a pear with raspberry. Every day differs, but always delightful with several alternatives.

Carol is also a gracious and generous host, going beyond the necessary. She allowed us to store leftover dinner in her refrigerator and heat it up for our lunch the next day. When I needed to know where the UPS store was today, I reached her by phone and received helpful directions and a recommendation of which restaurant would be open for a Monday night dinner. Also, if you want someone to chat with, she's there. But if you want to read a book, she'll leave you to its pages. I wholeheartedly recommend Van Voast House.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed two nights this weekend. Clean, pleasant, comfortable bed and sheets/towels..and the hostess, Carol, was pleasant and accommodating. Nice breakfast on the back porch, with cut fruit, fresh-baked treat and a cooked entre. It was quite warm, an in-room a/c unit was added for the second night, which solved the problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay at the Van Voast and will stay there again if in the area. Great beds, sheets, pillow and comfort. Carol is kind and hospitsble. We stayed for one night and had a great quiet nice sleep with cookies by our bed when we got home.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia PA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night following a family wedding. The accomodations were lovely, and there were nice touches -- some fresh chocolate chip cookies left in the bedroom. Breakfast was very nice and we were able to eat on a covered porch outside. The hostess was very friendly, and was glad to accomodate two extra guests for breakfast (the newlywed couple). There is off-street parking behind the B and B though it is a bit tight to work with. There are several restaurants and some other shopping (including a Stewart's Ice Cream shop) about three-four blocks away on Union Street. Overall, a lovely relaxing stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at this excellent B&B during a very hot spell in June of this year and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The house was charming and cozy and Carol was a very informative and friendly host who was most helpful with directions and suggestions for local activities, bike trails, restaurants, etc.

A combination of air conditioning and fans made the upstairs bedrooms very comfortable in spite of the heat outdoors. Breakfasts were delicious and graciously served al fresco on the porch where we were cooled by an overhead fan and delighted by the beautiful surrounding gardens. Carol has thought of every small convenience to make one feel at home. All in all, it was a very welcoming experience.

We will definitely place Van Voast House B&B on our list of Memorable B&Bs. Thank you Carol!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We run our own small B and B in Northern New York, so when we were in Schenectady for a wedding, we of course chose a B and B. As innkeepers ourselves, we see things with a critical eye. The Van Voast House was a top-notch experience.

Everything in the house was neat as a pin. The decorating was spot on – lots of interesting things well displayed, and yet not kitschy. We stayed in the Garden Room, and were very comfortable. Breakfasts were excellent.

The host, Carol, has been in the B and B business for many years, and still seems to take pleasure in meeting every guest. We were getting together for dinner the night before the wedding with some family members, and Carol’s advice on where to go to dinner was right on the mark. She helped is out with finding our way around Schenectady, and filled us in on the local history of the wedding venue.

Two tips for walkers and joggers. For walkers, if you head a west a few blocks toward Union College, you will go by a small used book store that is worth stopping into. It looks jumbled as you enter, but the selections were intriguing. For joggers, the park a few blocks south of Van Voast House is extensive, beautiful, and has varied terrain.

We are confident you will enjoy your stay at Van Voast House

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We only spent one night here, but the stay was very pleasant. Very clean and comfy. A wonderful breakfast to start the day. Several nice restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Van Voast House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Voast House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1353 Union Street, Schenectady, NY 12308
Location: United States > New York > Schenectady
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Schenectady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman style home within a mile of Union College in historic Schenectady NY. Closest B&B to Albany Int'l Airport. Easy access to the Canalway Bike Path.Enjoy strolling through the town's historic districts, eating at a variety of great restaruants or take in a Broadway show at Proctorstheater in the city's revitalized arts and entertainment district. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Voast House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.