We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Scarsdale” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CHAT American Grill

CHAT American Grill
1 Christie Pl, Scarsdale, NY 10583-8302
914-722-4000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
CHAT American Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 91 Restaurants in Scarsdale
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Chase Rd
Transit: Scarsdale Station off the Harlem Line 1/2 block from our location.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good for Scarsdale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Scarsdale is a small village with few restaurant choices. "Chat" is one of the few, and we enjoy it. There is an active bar scene, and ample indoor and (weather permitting) outdoor seating. The decor is dominated by huge B&W photos of famous movie stars and singers from the 40's and 50's. The food is American style, quite tasty, not inexpensive.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    31
    15
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Snobby, inefficient and overpriced.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Picked up a salad with grilled chicken. $20. Should have gone to Salzburg next door for half the price and twice the smiles!
To boot, had to stand around for five minutes before any waiters or the bartender would deign to ask if they could help me.

Never again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Terrible service, mediocre food - I can't figure out why it is popular”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was the second time I had dinner at this restaurant. The first time the service was slow and the food was just ok. However it is very convenient for us so my wife and I tried it again for what was supposed to be a quick dinner. Bad decision. After being seated quickly, we had to ask repeatedly for a waiter to bring water and to take our drink and food order. After our lost waiter experience, the food took forever. I wouldn't describe it as bad, just marginally above acceptable. I will not go back again. It was only half full and there was no excuse.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great in summer, too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I'd been to Chat once before, during the winter, and was looking for a place with outside seating for a summer lunch. Luckily, I remembered Chat! We had a great lunch on their delightful patio - one of relatively few places in central Westchester Co. where the tables aren't along a busy road. We enjoyed a Thai spring roll as a starter, then two of us had lobster tacos, which were fresh and delicious, while others in our party had grilled eggplant panini that were also declared to be excellent. Desserts were delicious as well. The Chat's "Bites" were a good choice for sharing. The service was fine, and no one rushed us. I will definitely come here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food nice atmosphere and consistently lousy stupid service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

A convenient good restaurant in downtown Scarsdale.We enjoy eating outside in good weather.Inside can be noisy.last time we were there all ordered fish that tasted fresh and creatively prepared.Hamburgers are good so are sandwiches.I love the Jambalaya .I do hate the amateurish service.Some Servers try hard ,some are stupid and some are surly.Too bad this makes the restaurant less than it could be.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CHAT American Grill also viewed

 

Been to CHAT American Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CHAT American Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.