We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed comfort only plus” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Saugerties

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Saugerties to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Saugerties
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2790 State Route 32, Saugerties, NY 12477   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Saugerties
VALATIE
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Bed comfort only plus”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Talk about no frills. No elevator, no vending machines, no coffee past 10am, staff not helpful at all. I went to the desk looking for a vending machine for a beverage. No machines, the desk had bottled water for 1.25, I only had 1 dollar cash and a card. No go.......had to drink tap water. No one informed us there was breakfast, so we missed that too, and as I mentioned no coffee left. Paid $145.00 for one night, truly overpriced for the area. Not happy at all.

Room Tip: No tips......also, smelled very smokey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiphaz7, General Manager at Comfort Inn Saugerties, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
I am so sorry that you missed breakfast. There were signs at the front desk and in your room which displayed the breakfast hours. I guess you didn't see them. Coffee is always available at the breakfast counter. Yes it is true that we don't have an elevator... But we are having one installed in the beginning of next year. Again I am sorry that our vending machine was in need of restocking but we do have one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    23
    30
    13
    16
See reviews for
28
13
11
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wayland, Massachusetts, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had just come from two nights in an Econo Lodge in the area, paid twice the price for 1/2 as good a facility. The lobby and breakfast areas are well done. The rooms have good furniture and are of adequate size. could use some new sheets and of course it is on the highway so there is some noise. Ask for a room that does not face highway. Well worth the very reasonable rates they charge.

Room Tip: ask for a room not facing the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiphaz7, General Manager at Comfort Inn Saugerties, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
The entire staff thanks you for your kind comments.
We love to hear from great guests like yourself.
Thank You Again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Square, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed for one night with our dog. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The television worked well. The bathroom was clean and we had no trouble using the shower as others seemed to have in their reviews. The hotel staff was very nice. They have plenty of grass for walking the dog. The price of the room was a bit high but then all the motels in the area were over $100.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms #222 and #224, they are on either side of the stairwell. We heard people clunking their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiphaz7, General Manager at Comfort Inn Saugerties, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
It was a pleasure to read your review. Thank you.
Please come back and also tell your friends about this Comfort Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Let's start with the good. Convenient location-right off Thruway exit and central to a lot of Catskill sites. Close to our family wedding site. Kind of pricey for mediocre. Place is not being maintained well. Free breakfast was below average. Not enough seating for eating. Municipal water has funky smell. We use Comfort Inns a lot. This was my least favorie.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiphaz7, General Manager at Comfort Inn Saugerties, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We take them very seriously and
that is the way we can improve. Our breakfast is the standard one served in all Comfort
Inns. Yes you are correct that the seating area is small. In the beginning of next
year we plan to expand its size.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel could be fine but it is showing signs of beginning to go down hill from lack of care. It is currently just holding at adequate but a number of things that occurred convinced us that the place is on its way to poor. Taken together it showed a lack of concern about keeping up any standards. When we arrived we found the hallway to be freezing cold (it was not hot outside-it was in the 60s outside). On the second day there we walked to the end of the hall and found that it was cold because the air conditioner in the hallway was set at 60 degrees. How hard would it have been for housekeeping to notice that and fix it? When we returned to our room on the second day, we found that the housekeeping had not actually done anything but pull the top cover over the beds. The pillows and sheets were just how we left them. The breakfast was half there, the trays for parts of it remained empty and the fruit we tried turned out to be rotten inside. And although it's a little thing, you couldn't get the shower to work without detailed directions and the only place they had those directions were on a tiny sign at the front desk--not in the room. They didn't bother to explain this when you checked in. It's not that the place is terrible, there just appears to be a general lack of interest in maintaining a quality place shown by the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiphaz7, General Manager at Comfort Inn Saugerties, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
I am truly sorry that so many little things were overlooked by the staff. Your comments are so important because they will be shared with everyone responsible. As a result we can made your next stay as near as perfect as possible. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I had an overnight stay in this hotel. Checkout time is 11 AM. I went out to breakfast and returned to my room at 10 AM to find all my belongings removed by the housecleaning staff. When I went to the front desk quite annoyed, they did not even know where my belongings were. It took the general manager to locate my possessions. How dare they enter your room before you have checked out!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiphaz7, General Manager at Comfort Inn Saugerties, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We are sorry about the mix up with your checkout. The problem was caused when a guest came to the front desk to check out and gave us your room number. When the housekeeper
went to clean the room, she saw only very small bag packed and sitting on the floor. She belived that the guest had forgoten it. She brought it to the front desk where in was put on the back shelf. We assumed the guest would come back and get it. Again were are sorry, we didn't know you never checked out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean, bathroom fine, bed good, breakfast ok, staff ok. Problem is no elevator and only one ice machine. So if you return in the evening and want ice if you're on the second floor you have to go up to the room to get ice bucket back down the steps and hall to the middle of the first dloor to get ice. On two of the three times I made the trip the machine was empty. One machine can't handle 60+ rooms.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiphaz7, General Manager at Comfort Inn Saugerties, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am pleased by the kind things you said about us.Yes it is true we don't have an elevator, but we do note that on our web page. i am sorry you had trouble getting ice , but sometimes guest just fill up large coolers depleting all the ice. It takes the machine some time to replenish the ice. I am sorry you had to wait.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Saugerties? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Saugerties

Address: 2790 State Route 32, Saugerties, NY 12477
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Saugerties
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Saugerties
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Saugerties 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Saugerties reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Saugerties Hotel Saugerties
Saugerties Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Saugerties, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.