We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My go-to place in this part of the Catskills” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Saugerties

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn - Saugerties to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn - Saugerties
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2764 Route 32, I-87 Exit 20, Saugerties, NY 12477   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Saugerties
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My go-to place in this part of the Catskills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I've stayed in this hotel maybe a dozen times -- the room has always been clean and quiet, the staff friendly and helpful, and the tv/internet/fridge/microwave set-up in the room is perfect for us. I like to read at night, but I need good light -- have always had good reading light. This is not a luxury hotel! But if you need a good place to stay at a good price, this is the place for you -- and even better with the AAA discount. I can agree that it would be nice if the pool were a little warmer in winter - my son would appreciate that, so I hope they work on it. But, honestly, I love going in after a day of skiing -- I rinse in the shower next to the sauna, heat up in the dry sauna, another shower, then into the pool. I repeat this a few times, take a hot shower back in the room, and I'm right as rain -- always get a good night's sleep. My tips: get your pool towels at the front desk when you check in, get some real half and half in the lobby if you don't like powdered creamer, and ask about the 10% discount in the restaurant if you're going to eat there (we only get breakfast there if we stop in at all -- they have a decent breakfast bar, but the discount does not apply to that.)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saugertieshojo, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Saugerties, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing the details of your stay with your family at our Hotel. You’ve covered so many of our amenities and we are very pleased to know that you’ve enjoyed them during your stay. We want you to know that we listen to our guests’ feedback and check on the points to improve to ensure that we deliver the highest quality of service and we are happy to know that our accommodations were satisfying during your visit.

Your comments regarding the pool temperature will be considered so the kids will enjoy it more next time. We also found your tips to other travelers very informative and appreciated your efforts in including that in this review.

We value your opinion and business. Your feedback helps to improve our quality of service, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    87
    93
    39
    37
See reviews for
128
76
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Connecticut, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My son and I had a great stay at the Saugerties HoJos. Wished the pool could have been a little warmer but having a pool was better than no pool. Room was perfect and really liked having a refrigerator in the room, too. Great water pressure in the shower and plenty of hot water! Wifi reception was great!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saugertieshojo, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Saugerties, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for your time to submit a review. You covered so many of our amenities; we are pleased to hear that you’ve enjoyed them. We appreciate each of our customer’s comments and use it to assess what can be done to further enhance our services and what satisfies our guests.

Rest assured that your feedback regarding warmer pool will be attended to ensure that you’ll enjoy it more next time.

We appreciate your business and we hope you will choose us again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We arrived around 9pm after 3 hour drive and were tired. It took almost 1/2 hour to check in, I was the only guest at the time. The girl was on the phone answering a question for someone who might stay sometime in May. She also kept answering the other line and ignoring us. She stated it would be another minute and she continued to chat on the phone about the area. Another 10 mins past and was about to leave. My mistake, I should have.
The room was poorly lit with horrible florescent light bulbs. The bathroom was poorly lit, just as well as there was mold all over the ceiling and shower area. Disgusting. The room was noisy as you could easily hear your neighbors talking, The heating unit was so loud that it woke the entire family up at night. It was worse when cutting in and out. The room also had a musty smell. The beds were OK if you were able to fall asleep with the noise. I told the night clerk but got that the heating system is all the same and makes that noise. He said they were upgrading to quieter ones.
I was talked to going down to the pool with my son. the hotel was full of people but no one was at the pool. I learned why. First the room is light by what I thought was emergency lights but seemed to be the only lighting the pool area. Very dark, barely see in the pool. The pool also appeared to not be heated, it was freezing. My son was only able to stay in a few minutes. Unheated pool in the winter? Strange indeed.

I would not stay here unless you have absolutely no choice.

Room Tip: Go next door to the Comfort Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saugertieshojo, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Saugerties, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We wish to let you know that your voice is of utmost importance to us. We are committed to delivering the highest level of service to our guests, your feedback will help us correct and improve our services to better achieve our primary goal.

We apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. Our aim is provide quality accommodations for your family. We are saddened to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay due to uncomfortable sleep from noisy heating system as well as unlikely lighting in your room. Your comments regarding cleanliness of the rooms and pool will be also shared to our staff to ensure that necessary actions will be taken and to correct our shortcomings which also includes them to be always courteous and helpful in assisting our valued guests like you.

Thank you for giving us the insight into how we can better serve our guests in the future. We hope you give us a chance to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, CT
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Very basic economy hotel, but we got a big run-around when we tried to use our AAA discount, all kinds of excuses. It was so clear from inconsistencies in what we were told by front desk employees that the discount could have been applied to our stay if any the clerks had been willing to change the bill. First clerk said too late, but a different person the next day said we should have requested it the day prior, before the card was charged, only it had not been charged yet. If you stay here, make sure you request the discount in the adjoining diner, you have to ask for it, even when they know you are guests in the hotel. When we're back in that area, we'll try a different place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saugertieshojo, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Saugerties, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. Your review is important to us as it helps us to identify problems and take corrective measures. We will advise our staff regarding this misunderstanding as we always aim to provide a stay that is satisfying and worth the value you paid for. Rest assured the comments you made will be addressed in order for us to improve our services, we hope you give us a chance to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Saugerties? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Saugerties

Address: 2764 Route 32, I-87 Exit 20, Saugerties, NY 12477
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Saugerties
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Saugerties
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Saugerties 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Energy Star Certified and a Proud Member of the Green Business BureauHoward Johnson Inn - Saugerties hotel is conveniently located off Interstate 87. Our newly updated hotel near the Catskill Mountains offers all you need for an exciting trip to upstate New York. Take advantage of the handy perks we offer, like free Wi-Fi Internet, in-room microwaves and refrigerators, guest laundry, heated indoor pool, restaurant and large-vehicle parking. Enjoy free coffee, cappuccino and hot chocolate, available 24 hours a day in our lobby. Handicapped-accessible and non-smoking rooms are available, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Book online today.LOCAL ATTRACTIONSCatch a kid-friendly live show at the Arm-of-the-Sea Theater or a movie at the Orpheum Theater. To learn something new, discover Opus 40 and the Quarryman’s Museum, historic Kiersted House, or the American Legion Museum. Spend time in the scenic Catskill Mountains, Cantine Dam Falls, Seamon Park or Esopus Bend Nature Preserve.Head to Kiwanis Ice Arena to watch a hockey game or enjoy public skating. Stroll along Saugerties Village Beach in the summer or hit the slopes in the winter at Windham and Hunter mountains. Get a bargain at nearby Hudson Valley Mall. No matter when you visit, do not forget to check out the variety of annual events like horse shows, music festivals and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Saugerties reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Saugerties
Howard Johnson Saugerties
Saugerties Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn - Saugerties, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.