We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Onion

The Red Onion
1654 Rte 212, Saugerties, NY 12477-3031
845-679-1223
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Red Onion is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 62 Restaurants in Saugerties
Price range: $13 - $29
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Glasco Turnpike
Saugerties, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Food is wonderful, service is great and the atmosphere is worth the try..
One of my favorite starters is the calamari done to perfection.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    34
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saugerties, New York, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Favorite area restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is our new favorite restaurant in the area. I always enjoy a great glass of bourbon from their selection. The calamari appetizers are great, especially the Asian street style calamari. Make reservations or come early.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Celebrating a special occasion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I recently dined at Red Onion Restaurant where I was greeted with a glass of champagne in celebration of a birthday. The atmosphere in an old farm house is attractive and warm with romantic lighting. We shared two entrees including the duck and a seafood risotto - both masterfully prepared.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delectable food in front of a beautiful nude”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We were seated at a corner table facing a large framed photograph of the profile of a seated nude. Appropriate considering the history of this pre-1850 farmhouse-now-restaurant included a few decades as a house of ill repute. I ordered the Sunflower cocktail to start and it was over-the-top too sweet for me, so I was on to the dry Rose. To-die-for rustic bread arrived in its basket and it was that perfection of so-soft and moist with a firm crust. I wanted to eat light so I chose the Caesar salad with grilled wild shrimp. The shrimp tasted as good as its description. Although not nearly as crisp as I prefer, the Caesar was very good in that the dressing was not overly sour and the lettuce was covered but not drenched. Above average food and service and it's open on Mondays when other popular local restaurants in the area are not. Will eat there again when I'm in the neighborhood.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ronkonkoma, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Open Tuesdays!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I had never heard of The Red Onion until the day my wife and I dined there. We were in the area and wanted to celebrate a belated Valentine's Day. Little did we know that my usual spots and a few others I wanted to try were all closed on Tuesdays. Having read the good reviews, we made reservations at The Red Onion and were blown away. We liked everything about the atmosphere and decor and appreciated the professional service. Additionally, all bottled wines are 30% off on Tuesdays. Together we ordered Thai mussels, pierogis, beet salad, seafood paella, rack of lamb, dessert and coffee. Every course was prepared beautifully and tasted great. We can't wait to go back and would recommend it to anyone who appreciates a fine restaurant experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Onion also viewed

Saugerties, Catskill Region
Saugerties, Catskill Region
 
Saugerties, Catskill Region
Saugerties, Catskill Region
 

Been to The Red Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Onion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.