We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indugle in relaxtion at Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saugerties
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House
Save
You added Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House to your Saves list
158 Burt St, Saugerties, NY 12477   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Saugerties B&B and Inns
Pennslyvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Indugle in relaxtion at Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

The Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Symthe House offers everything you or you and that special someone need to get away from the mundane Monday through Friday routine. They are far enough away from your every day routine, but close enough to interesting activities and excellent restaurants to ensure a relaxing time.

Chef’s David and Justine’s background blend to make a unique and intriguing Bed and Breakfast and culinary experience. You can observe their personalities imparted into all aspects of the inn. Together, they continue a tradition of sharing their home with their guests by offering fine food complete with the attention to detail for the perfect delivery of the breakfast meal whilst providing a relaxing atmosphere.

The Chef’s pride themselves by preparing high quality food, using locally grown organic produce and sustainably-grown local dairy products with a professional presentation. Expect new gastronomic adventures during your stay; and the Chef’s are always willing, of course, to scramble an egg or two for the less adventurous.

David and Justine’s gracious style of service and attention to detail provides the perfect delivery of the overall ambiance.

I'm positive they look forward to sharing some Catskills hospitality in their home and inn in Saugerties, NY for years to come.

OBTW, be sure to visit the near by Old Rhinebeck Aerodome and Museum, maybe catch a ride in a WWI bi-plane...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
29
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

Our room was very clean, well-appointed and had the most comfortable bed. The house had a lovely variety of furniture, lamps, bric-a-brac, etc. We stayed in the Forrest Room which came with 1.5 baths (both with sky lights). The guest robes were a delight. We were given plenty of clean, fluffy towels during our visit. The breakfasts were amazing and the fresh fruit used in everything from the iced tea to the French toast was ripe, juicy and bursting with flavor.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Quogue
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2006

Parked the car, walked up the stairs, opened the door and my eyes began to flitter from object ot object in the anteroom and sitting room at the Barclay house. Warm, inviting and beautiful treats for the eye had a relaxing effect countering roadweariness and making me feel right at home. Within seconds a delicate aroma caught my attention and I realized preparation was underway for the mornings breakfast. A sudden shift in expectations began with the olfactory stimulation just as the keeper of the inn made his appearance. Helping with the luggage he escorted us to our room. Here we were delighted to find a pillow topped queen sized sleighbed with a flat screen t.v and an array of wonderrful lamp lighting. The room offered an unrestricted view of a mountain ridgeline and the promise of a beautiful sunset. Best of all was a brand new bathroom with a two person jacuzzi tub included. Our stay at the Barclay house far exceeded our initial impressions. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — attention to details
  • Disliked — driveway
  • Tips/Secrets — don't hesitate to book
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2005

On a July 4th weekend, my boyfriend and I decided to take a little getaway roadtrip. We didn't have anywhere in mind - just that it should be cozy and that the b&b had a jacuzzi for us to relax in. I called the New Paltz directory and by chance, we found The Smythe House. Our stay there was amazing and my boyfriend and I still think about it several months later. Our hosts, David and Justine, were absolutely FANTASTIC. They were very warm with opening up their home to us. The meals they prepared were absolutely gourmet-delicious: everything was elegantly prepared, perfectly cooked and decorated, and simply delightful to eat. The ingredients were all natural and you really do feel special as it's prepared just for you! I cannot emphasize how attentive and helpful Justine was with our whole trip - from booking the room (completely affordable for a holiday weekend), to our stay, and even keeping in touch with me after we had left as I sent her some of our memorable pictures.

Justine helped us prepare a picnic lunch to take along a scenic drive of the area. My boyfriend and I stopped at a creek a few miles away from the Smythe House. It was an open area of the bend of the river - the view was just incredible. Next to the tranquil waters and some kids tubing downstream, we munched on buffalo wings and a pasta salad my boyfriend STILL cannot stop raving about. To see him so happy outdoors made me see a different light to his character - it tickled me! =o)

Back at the B&B, we had the master suite - the jacuzzi and bed were absolute highlights of the comfort the house gives. Those nights, we had the best sleep in a long time. On the final night we were visiting, we reminisced about our trip and decided the B&B including our hosts was the best and most outstanding aspect of the vacation and it was definitely worth recommending.

We hope you pick Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast and have as wonderful a time with the Smythes as we did. Look for us in the Guest Book!

Thanks again to David and Justine!

Sincerely,
Ed and Amy

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House

Address: 158 Burt St, Saugerties, NY 12477
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Saugerties
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Saugerties
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a romantic getaway? Experience Outstanding Hospitality -- complete gourmet breakfast prepared especially for you by two CIA culinary chefs. This 1890 Catskills Victorian Cottage is furnished for comfort. Elegant bedrooms appointed with fireplaces, private bathrooms, WiFi, Wide screen Cable TV, coffee/tea stations, wine service set up, "sleeping beauty" pillow-top mattresses, natural fiber linens, Persian carpets, Tiffany style lighting, air conditioning, telephone. Enjoy Catskill Mountain view & Hudson Valley attractions, close to picturesque villages of Woodstock, Saugerties, Rhinebeck, and moments to scenic Hudson river and three nature preserves. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.