We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your appetite!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saugerties
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House
Save
You added Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House to your Saves list
158 Burt St, Saugerties, NY 12477   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Saugerties B&B and Inns
Shrub Oak, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bring your appetite!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We were looking forward to a peaceful weekend where we would be pampered and cared for, and that is just what we got at David and Justine's Inn. Justine welcomes you with a big smile and is quick to share lots of paraphernalia about local places to enjoy. She also cannot wait to whip out a menu filled with delightful breakfast treats to choose from during your stay. Our room was tastefully decorated with wonderful touches...our own coffee maker and little frig, local chocolates, and homemade biscotti. There is also a TV and lots of DVD movies if you need a little down time. The next morning you will have a hard time staying in your room as the smell of David's cooking permeates the house. Both David and Justine are very willing to share their favorite cooking secrets as Justine literally waits on you hand and foot throughout the meal. I don't think my coffee cup was ever less than half full. Their recommendations were wonderful, from the Ship to Shore restaurant we ate at to the Millbrook Winery that we visited. We look forward to another visit.

Room Tip: We liked the Bird Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chefsmythe, Owner at Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Thanks for sharing the details of your positive experience. The coffee and tea stations are a new addition to the rooms and we were delighted to find all guests used them last weekend, a holiday weekend when Smythe House was fully occupied! Wish we had thought of adding them years ago! Enjoy the tail end of winter! David & Justine Smythe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
29
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We truly struck gold when we found this B&B. We were visiting friends in town and looking for anything pet-friendly, and found this lovely hamlet of cozy antiques and delectable cuisine. The owners are simply charming and have much knowledge and history of the house and Saugerties, and they were kind enough to allow our rambunctious doggy to stay. The house is warm and inviting, and the breakfast was simply outstanding. With the owners also Culinary Institute of America alumni, breakfast was a special treat. I highly recommend the hot chocolate, it was divine. The furniture in the rooms were a bit large for the space, but beautifully furnished nonetheless. The bathroom was also lovely, with a vintage and almost colonial vibe. The outside offers meditation gardens and a koi pond, with a playset under construction.

Beautifully done, a perfect bed & breakfast experience if you're in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chefsmythe, Owner at Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Most lodging properties dont accept pets or children, but in our experience we have always found both to be delightful visitors. Our property is such that everyone can enjoy themselves w/o worrying about imposing on others, one of the perks of a spacious Victorian home. Glad to share that the playset all completed now, along with a three story treehouse!! David has been a busy builder.

Thanks too for sharing that you liked the hot chocolate, hand made with the best cocoa. Yes, both of us being professional chefs, we love to cook, glad its obvious and appreciated.

It's true the furniture in guest rooms take up a bit of space, antiques tend to be substancial, but our goal is for each room to not only have bed and nightstands, but also seating areas, fridges, widescreen wall mounted Cable TV, WiFi, and also now fireplaces to kick up the romance a bit and afford guests a second way to warm their room immediately, radiant heat is so warming after a walk outside or ski adventure in the Catskills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Where do I begin? Everything about the stay was excellent. We had a larger group (six), and thus did not stay in the Smythe House proper, but rather a cabin along the river approximately a mile and half away. As it was not booked, they also afforded us the opportunity to use the guest house. The house was very quaint and cozy. The shared areas provided more than enough space for everyone to do their own thing, but also allowed for an intimate setting with the lovely fire place and large flat screen television. Almost every bedroom had it's own bathroom, and I was lucky enough to enjoy a deep bath / jacuzzi. Although it was reserved for six, it could have comfortably slept many more. The neighborhood is very quiet, and just off the main road leading into town.
Every last detail was accounted for in the cottage, and the breakfast alone is worth another trip. They extended a refined courtesy far exceeding my expectations. Any future visits to Greater Woodstock will include a stay at the Smythe House.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chefsmythe, Owner at Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
We aquired the cottage on Esopus Creek five years ago because we so loved the location...been canoeing on the Esopus for more than 20 years and often had taken our boat into the part of the creek that goes into the backyard of the cottage, envisioning one day that we might own that property...imagine out delight and suprise when it finally came on the market and we were in a position to add it as an offering for our guests.

With four bedrooms and four bathrooms, a working fireplace, WiFi, Cable TV, and a deck overlooking the creek, its a wonderful getaway to the country. So delighted to hear your group enjoyed your stay at the cottage and that you felt well cared for.

And, a note in general, normally we do not offer breakfast included with the cottage rental, simply because we can only serve so many at the B&B, and the cottage comes with one and a half full kitchens, plus its just a short mile to the Village which offers dozens of dining opportunities. On rare occasion we do offer breakfast included, when we are able based on case by case situation..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commack, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed in the cottage and it more than exceeded our expectations. Everything from the wood for the fireplace, games, movies and a stocked kitchen with every appliance & utensil you could need.Very clean, neat and tidy.Our custom breakfast was almost too pretty to eat, but the smell overcame us and we had to!Justine & David were the best hosts and we wanted for nothing.Definitely going back.
Patty Commack ny

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chefsmythe, Owner at Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Your praise is so appreciated, thank you! We have a strong committment to keeping our properties clean, including keeping a housekeeper on staff year round, also we clean not only after guests depart, but also before guests arrive...its our double cleaning insurance policy because we understand that a clean home makes for happy guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

This B&B is the perfect, cozy getaway outside New York.
The room we stayed in was beautiful and comfortable and the bathroom had a huge hot tub. Hosts David and Justine have paid attention to every little detail, from the chocolates next to the bed to the toiletries in the bathroom. Justine had printed out a list of restaurant recommendations in the area, and as a chef, she definitely knew where to go.
As for the breakfast, hmmmmm!!! Both hosts are chefs, and you can tell! We ate to our heart's content in the dining room, facing the garden and a hill range. Very peaceful.
The B&B is also perfectly located near Saugerties and other cute villages around.
I would recommend this place to anyone who likes good food, interesting chats and cozy, relaxing getaways!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

Outstanding ambiance, cuisine and attention to every detail! A+++ recommendation from 2 people who notice everything! David was our chef. Breakfast was not only delicious beyond words, but the presentation OUTSTANDING!

Barbara & Chris Reynolds, Toms River, NJ

Room Tip: ANY room in the Symthe home is exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

We felt our hosts were wonderful, thinking of every small detail that makes a guest feel pampered. Decor was beautiful and well suited to the home while avoiding the overly fussy look of many B&B's. Bathrooms are outstanding! Breakfast was lovely! We were thrilled!

Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House

Address: 158 Burt St, Saugerties, NY 12477
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Saugerties
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Saugerties
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a romantic getaway? Experience Outstanding Hospitality -- complete gourmet breakfast prepared especially for you by two CIA culinary chefs. This 1890 Catskills Victorian Cottage is furnished for comfort. Elegant bedrooms appointed with fireplaces, private bathrooms, WiFi, Wide screen Cable TV, coffee/tea stations, wine service set up, "sleeping beauty" pillow-top mattresses, natural fiber linens, Persian carpets, Tiffany style lighting, air conditioning, telephone. Enjoy Catskill Mountain view & Hudson Valley attractions, close to picturesque villages of Woodstock, Saugerties, Rhinebeck, and moments to scenic Hudson river and three nature preserves. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barclay Heights Bed & Breakfast at Smythe House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.