We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique lovely setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saugerties Lighthouse

Saugerties Lighthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saugerties
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saugerties Lighthouse
Save
You added Saugerties Lighthouse to your Saves list
Lighthouse Drive, Saugerties, NY   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Saugerties B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
167 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Unique lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Had a wonderful weekend staying in the lighthouse. Breathtaking views & great hosts. Enjoyed the historic lighthouse. A bit pricy but a unique experience.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank bosphorus104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Dobbs Ferry, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I can only speak to this place because I have been swimming outside and around the lighthouse and dream to stay there! I don't know about actually staying there other than the location is DIVINE!!! From the looks of it, it looks beautiful and really well taken care of. A romantic spot and one I hope to try sooner rather than later!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank meldiva25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

A perfect getaway from the city! I almost hesitate to review this place because I don't want to share it. It's that lovely. I can't say enough about the thrill of getting to sleep in the middle of the river in a perfectly restored historical lighthouse. Wow! We felt like we were back in time a little. Rooms are cozy and quaint ... comfortable and spotless. The innkeepers Anna and Patrick are so genuinely nice and they make a breakfast that is to die for. They were really patient with all of our questions about the area's history and gave us great advice for a little hike on our way back. Cute village nearby with some good antique shops, too. Hoping to make an annual tradition of it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank henrileroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee
Level Contributor
271 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

The location was perfect; the room was cozy, and the bed fine (great night sleep). We used the grill to cook our dinner and in the morning the inn-keeper, who was very nice, cooked us breakfast with eggs, sausage, pancakes, juice and coffee/tea. Before we left the lighthouse we booked for next year.

Room Tip: Only two rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank ChicopeeJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

This is a great spot to get away and recharge the batteries. We stayed one night and really enjoyed the views and just being right on the river. We stayed in the East room which had great water views and a comfortable bed. We liked the coal burning stove in the common room downstairs. It was great sitting outside and watching boats go by and later the sunset. As other reviews mention, make sure to wear boots on the trail and pay attention to the tide chart. Sasha did a great job making us feel at home. We plan on visiting here again next year.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Gimper90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Point, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

My fiance and I spent January 2, 2002 at the lighthouse and were overwhelmed with the charm and natural beauty of the lighthouse and surroundings. Patrick the lighthouse keeper is a gentle quiet soul who enjoys his work and make a first-class organically oriented breakfast using the best ingredients. Saugerties has several wonderful restaurants to choose from and a great wine shop. We re-booked immediately and spent a night in August 2010 there, getting married in our bedroom on the second floor by Patrick, an ordained officiator. He did the service for free and was perfect for the occasion. Once again, everything was romantic, memorable and designed to please. We drank champaign on the 'Boat" deck, swam in the warm river (sandy bottom) and enjoyed a stunning sunset over the Catskills. If you want a five star hotel and a European style concierge, then this is not your ticket. But if you desire a unique, heart-warming getaway that'll bring a smile to your soul, this is the place for you. We're booked again for a stay next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank travelstilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

Concerning location, aesthetics, serentity, romanticism, eccentricity, etc., the other reviews seem very accurate to me. We found the inn-keeper pleasant enough - even if a bit absent and taciturn - and a very good breakfast chef. I don't believe I ever tasted more delicious blueberry pancakes made from scratch. Two oddities, however. First, since the lighthouse is part of a public reserve, visitors will come to and into the house, and this means that even while relaxing on the spacious deck that extends into the river you will not be alone. Second, despite the charm of the lighthouse, which I realize the historical foundation must preserve, the absence of some way to control the insect problem in the even seem unacceptable given the cost; gnats, mosquitos, spiders so numerous we joked that we were on an evening nature tour in Belize. But coupled with the lumpy matress, it wasn't too funny and I was very sleepy in the morning. Still, the breakfast made us happy again and we rested while floating around in the Hudson. Overall, the place offers more to praise than to criticize

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
24 Thank dromos01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugerties
0.5 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#2 of 7 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
1.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Saugerties
9.4 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Saugerties
Comfort Inn Saugerties
#4 of 7 in Saugerties
3.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
7.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 9 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 stars 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saugerties Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saugerties Lighthouse

Address: Lighthouse Drive, Saugerties, NY
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Saugerties
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Saugerties
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Saugerties Lighthouse Hotel Saugerties
Lighthouse Hotel Saugerties

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing