We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a lovely view...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Mills Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Diamond Mills Hotel to your Saves list
Diamond Mills Hotel
25 South Partition Street, Saugerties, NY 12477   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Saugerties
ny
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Room with a lovely view...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed at the Diamond Mills for a 10th Wedding anniversary night - as we wanted to go have a lovely dinner and stay on site. The staff were very welcoming and pleasant. Our room, 202, was a deluxe queen with a balcony overlooking the falls. The room was clean, a good size, with flat screen TV, mini bar, etc - everything you would expect. (we particularly liked the underfloor heating in the bathroom! - welcome on a cold March morning!). We took our 6 year old daughter who loved the view of the falls. My only small complaint was that in a room that could accommodate 4 people (2 queen beds), there were only 2 tall chairs and small table on the balcony - so she couldn't sit outside with us. Also, even though the view was lovely (and the falls were lit up at night), all the balconies looked over each other, so zero privacy.
We ate at the Diamond Mills Tavern, at 7pm, and had a very good meal with excellent service. The portion sizes were huge - maybe too big. Food quality was good. The childrens menu was the same ole same ole - mac n cheese etc - no healthy options... The dining room is large, nicely lit, the fireplace was lit when we ate and we sat in an ample sized booth. All in all a good experience with good service. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    25
    3
    4
    8
See reviews for
29
33
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed with my husband while on a Hudson valley weekend drive. Facilities are new, service was very solid. We enjoyed the restaurant and loved the falls view on a late summer day. A high end property worth the solurge.

Room Tip: I had no issues with the room assigned at check in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Our nephew got married at the Diamond Mills Hotel - the wedding guests "took over".. the hotel is lovely, the food delicious and the service excellent. The staff never made you feel that you were bothering them, on the contrary - every request was accepted with a smile and sincere good will... a delightful hotel in a charming, friendly town... "the way it used to be in the Olden Days of yore"

Room Tip: View of the falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was there for a fundraising dinner. Everthing was very good and the hotel was spotless. The whole evening entire staff the was great. Everyone was very nice, friendly and helpful. Afterwards several of us went over to the tavern. It was also nice and cozy too. Once again the staff was great. I would say that drinks are a slight bit over priced for the "average" person, so keep that in mind. It was a cold night and not once during dinner or at the tavern was I cold. The evening view of the falls was so beautiful...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

A small hotel overlooking the waterfall with big beautiful rooms, heated bathroom floors and a bed you may never leave completely surprised us! A beautiful restaurant on premises and a cozy bar as well. An awesome place to run away for some antique shopping and relaxing. The husband called the hotel demanding to know what pillows they use. Wonderful service with chocolate on my pillows. I'll be back!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

This is an excellent hotel, very nicely appointed with attentive staff. All rooms overlook the falls and must be spectacular in the springtime, or warmer weather. I was there with my wife in mid Feb, to go skiing at the nearby resorts...so our stays on the balcony were limited. But I can imagine that this would be the perfect place for a spring or fall wedding. A very nice restaurant and event space is attached to the hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here for one night in January, a short romantic getaway. Diamond Mills is a very nice boutique hotel. We stayed in a King Deluxe room, and I loved the comfy bed (great pillows!), and great view of Esopus Falls (apparently all rooms have a view of the falls). I would have enjoyed the view from the balcony if it had been a bit warmer too. Saugerties is a cute town, and most of the shops and restaurants are a short walk (5-7 min) from the hotel.
Overall pros:
- radiant heat in the bathroom, this makes a huge difference to your feet in the winter!
- Big room, great bed, linens, plush robe.
- Nice thoughtful touches, like there was actual fresh milk in the fridge (complementary) for the in-room coffee maker, not that crappy non-dairy creamer you see so many places.
- Free continental breakfast in the lobby had actual yummy pastries (croissants and scones were really good!) plus yogurt, cereal.
- Hotel was very quiet, did not hear other guests at all (although it seemed like occupancy was low, so take this with a grain of salt).
Very minor cons:
- shower was low-flow, so the pressure was kind of nil.
- the room was pretty big but it felt sort of empty - it needed another chair or loveseat to fill up the space
- the staff, while friendly and polite, was very firm about the 11 am checkout (they even called our room at 10:55 when we hadn't checked out yet to remind us), this despite the fact that the hotel was fairly empty.
- only one table to sit at to eat breakfast in the lobby - I was fine enjoying my coffee and croissant in an easy chair, but if this place gets busy I imagine that area will get crowded fast.

We did not eat at the adjacent tavern but the menu looked good. FYI, despite the name, it seems pretty fancy, not a tavern at all really. We had dinner in Woodstock at Bear Cafe which was terrific, and had lunch at Miss Lucy's Kitchen right up the hill from the hotel, also recommended. And don't miss the chocolate place right next to the hotel, they had great stuff, and good to bring back to friends and family.

Room Tip: Ice maker is loud, try to avoid a room right near it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Diamond Mills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Mills Hotel

Address: 25 South Partition Street, Saugerties, NY 12477
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Saugerties
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Saugerties
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awake to the sounds of falling waters in each of our 30 well-appointed guest rooms, offering private balconies overlooking the Esopus Falls. Plush overstuffed duvets, fine Egyptian cotton linens and a rustic European design all ensure a restful and relaxing stay for you and your guests. Be it a romantic country getaway or family fun vacation, Diamond Mills offers elegant accommodations unlike anywhere in the Hudson Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter so you can book your Diamond Mills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Mills Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.