We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modest atmosphere and vibe, excellent food and drink” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dutch Ale House

Dutch Ale House
253 Main Street, Saugerties, NY
845-247-2337
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 63 Restaurants in Saugerties
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Monroe, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Modest atmosphere and vibe, excellent food and drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Having been enticed by the allure of an "ale house", 3 of my musical cohorts and I found this unpretentiously marked restaurant and ordered lunch.
The waitress was engaging, modestly dressed and courteous. She helped us choose our draft beer (of which the selections were a fair quantity) and we enjoyed what we chose.
The came the food. I chose the Roasted Veggie Sandwich accompanied by the Sweet Potato Fries. I have not had a better veggie sandwich or fries like that on my 56 years. I am a foodie, married an excellent cook, watch (way too many) cooking shows, have traveled to Italy (the world's food standard) and found that both of these items could not have been better.
The bread of the sandwich may have had garlic in the spread, the vegetables were roasted to perfection and were perfect in selection. The fries were lightly crispy on the outside and creamy on the inside.
My friends' comments went from "delicious" to "excellent" to "phenomenal" when asked by our waitress.
This place is 5 minutes from the NYS Thruway, so any of you who want a great stop between the Adirondacks and home (well south of Exit 20) then you must include a stop at the Dutch Ale House for a meal.
Unbelievable food, and so unassuming.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    24
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guilderland Center, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I went on a Friday night which maybe wasn't the best idea. It was crowded and noisy. The food, however, was unusual and fabulous. Our waitress was very busy and the tables feel cramped in the bar area, but i still think I would find my way back on a slower evening. The food is that good. We had appetizers and dinner and it all tasted great!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Terrific Place, Full of Character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This little bar/rest. on the main street is a gem.
Great food, and they make their own beer, two varieties, in a micro-micro brewery in the back. But when I asked about the draft beers they were the last ones mentioned - modest. Terrific wheat beer that they made. The barman when we were there for lunch was lively and charming.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow! No ordinary bar food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

The place, a normal looking dark bar environment, kind of tight warm patrons, friendly atmosphere. The food, out of sight! Never have I seen or tasted bar food that was turned up a notch! I did not know 5 star bar food could exist. It does at the Dutch Ale House. I hade the blue cheese burger with the most potent and tastiest blue cheese I've ever had. The fries are the real reason I bought a burger. Truffle & Parmasaian fries. Amazing! Ketchup would destroy these fries. I highly recommend and would go back in a here in a flash! Kudos to the chefs and wait staff!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome food in a small town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

John is absolutely awesome. Doesn't hurt that his food is top notch too! Very friendly, very welcoming.

The award winning wings, on the mark. The hanger steak sandwich, incredible and flavorful. Sweet potato fries were crispy which is hard to do.

His Dutch Colonial Wheat beer...delicious and refreshing. Being from the city, this was a treat!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dutch Ale House also viewed

Saugerties, Catskill Region
Saugerties, Catskill Region
 
Saugerties, Catskill Region
Saugerties, Catskill Region
 

Been to Dutch Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dutch Ale House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.