We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic accommodations combined with great tennis facilities equals great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Total Tennis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saugerties
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Total Tennis
1811 Old Kings Highway, Saugerties, NY 12477   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Saugerties
Scarsdale, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rustic accommodations combined with great tennis facilities equals great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

This is a wonderful tennis camp, which provides fun and challenging drills as part of their intensive tennis training. The pricing is very reasonable for what is provided - a comfortable room with bath and towels, three healthy, tasty meals and 4-5 hours of tennis instruction. Additionally, those wanting additional tennis play can find other players for doubles after the group lessons.
While the accommodations are adequate, there is nothing luxurious about this "camp", just healthy food and fun.

Room Tip: The wireless internet reception was spotty - my room in the main building did not provide enough ran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    21
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
2
17
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Just came back from a weekend at Total Tennis. So much fun! Great food, great tennis and the cabins brought me back to camp days. Booked my next trip while I was there!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

This was my second stay at Total Tennis. My first experience was great - good tennis instruction, great food, basic accommodations and nostalgic atmosphere. This last stay was really disappointing as the tennis instruction (which is the major reason for being there) was awful. We were put with a "pro" that was a college student who arrived the week before. He was not trained, could not feed the ball properly and was not familiar with tennis drills. We complained after the first day to the receptionist. Ed, the owner never spoke with us. The only action taken was to put a really good pro on the court next to ours. After a second wasted day we approached the desk again only to be told that Ed had left for the day.

It was admitted to us that the pro was hired through the recommendation of a friend at the last minute. They put an untested, untrained tennis instructor on the courts as a pro. A week later we received an email from the receptionist apologizing and informing us that a credit would be given for our next stay. Have yet to receive it but I doubt I would risk returning.

Caveat Emptor - Beware of who you get - nothing will be done once your pro assignment has been made!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

just finished a 3-day weekend - Amazing!!!

instructor was great - Guillermo. s nice, engaged and funny.

chef was friendly, food was good - though hard to really enjoy because i was afraid of overeating!!

room was very clean amd i never needed anything, but very camp-like and basic.

i will go back within the next 2 months for sure. love it!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

The overnight accomodations at Total Tennis were average, the food was excellent, the tennis instructors were helpful, and the cost was too expensive. The only eyebrow raiser was what I would call an unsanitary hot tub. Overall I'd rate this adult Tennis Camp a "C", but I wish I could find some other adult tennis camp that was more upscale for a more reasonable price.

It would also be great if they offered single rooms for single guests without charging them extra!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

The tennis was not good. A weak player was left in our group and another player flirted with our tennis pro the whole time --it was like get a room already for chrissakes. lol
The tennis is the luck of the draw and the owner won't switch it up. He doesn't seem to give a damn about that. He does care about money though and at every turn you'll be asked to buy something, from massages to tomatoes. The drills were no different than what you get at your local club at home.

However, the food was excellent and hanging out with other tennis junkies was a blast. Even though the tennis was bad it was a weekend in fresh air and nature. My room was fine and the bathroom was simple & clean.

Everyone will tell you it's cheap or a great deal. I don't know. Maybe I'm poo' or cheap. Seems like a fair price. I could get 12 private lessons for same price.

I would go again and hope to land in a more even tennis group. Just know it's more of a social thing than a game improvement weekend.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, NJ
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Total Tennis is camp for adults who play tennis. 10 hours of tennis over Saturday and Sunday. It's a full schedule with lots of time to practice. The pros were good, the courts were in good shape and the balls were brand new (though, I heard they've been playing on dead balls for quite awhile before this weekend). You declare your skill level (beginner, 3.0, 4.0, etc and you are assigned into a group of four with one pro. The cabins are very basic. It was fine for a place to sleep and shower. The shower wasn't great - cold then hot, hard to manage the temperature. The food is cafeteria style and it was ok. Nothing fancy, but nourishing with lots of options for fresh salad and fruit. For those who want to drink at the end of the day, there is a bar and plenty of opportunity to have cocktails. I wouldn't recommend the cocktails if you came to play, though - most of the pros work the players to their max and everyone looked tired. Overall great experience and a great place to receive instruction with a small group. There is a pool and a hot tub. Pool looked nice and I didn't see the hot tub. There is a spa on site and my $80 one hour massage was outstanding. I'm definitely going back this summer and would recommend it to any tennis player looking to improve their game.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Total Tennis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Total Tennis

Address: 1811 Old Kings Highway, Saugerties, NY 12477
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Saugerties
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Saugerties
Also Known As:
Total Tennis Saugerties
Total Tennis Hotel Saugerties

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Total Tennis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Total Tennis to your Saves list