We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my cup of tea” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Opus 40

Opus 40
50 Fite Road, Saugerties, NY 12477
845-246-3400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 20 Attractions in Saugerties
Type: Art Museums, Parks, Museums
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This sculpture park was intended to house the works of the designer, but the setting itself became the artist's masterwork.
Greenville
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not my cup of tea”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Bizarre place that someone obviously had too much time of their hands to create. I'd much rather go to a museum.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    27
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
rhinebeck
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Mind Blowing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Off the beaten track and very cool. Take the 10 minutes to watch a video that will inform you about the sculpture who made Opus 40 his life time sculpture all while working as a professor at Bard College. Bring a picnic lunch, a bottle of wine and plan on spending some time marveling at his work. You could walk through the property in under an hour but you get the true benefit from sitting and absorbing the enormity and beauty of it. There are rock walls upon walls upon walls. There is one area where you walk and the temperature drops dramatically. There are also several sculptures all around the property. Such a peaceful, beautiful place to spend an afternoon.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Over rated!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Amazing that one man created all the rock walls and sculptures BUT after 15 min walk around you are done. Not worth the admission price.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cuyahoga falls ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“we loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Opus 40 is a bit of an oddity, but also a beautiful work of art worth going out of your way to see.

You do not have to be an art expert to appreciate the vision of the artist, and the beauty of the almost-completed work.

Go

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Peaceful & Serene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I live in the area & love to visit this place. You can spend a a day or an hour & "recharge " your "batteries". Try to go mid-week to get the feel of Harvey's vision. Too many people blurs the essence. I always feel like I should whisper when I'm there, out of respect for God's creation & man's appreciation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opus 40 also viewed

Saugerties, Catskill Region
Saugerties, Catskill Region
 
Saugerties, Catskill Region
Woodstock, Catskill Region
 

Been to Opus 40? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opus 40, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.