We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprising gem!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renwick Clifton House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saugerties
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Renwick Clifton House
Save
You added Renwick Clifton House to your Saves list
27 Barclay Street, Saugerties, NY 12477   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Saugerties B&B and Inns
Scarsdale, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A surprising gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed this past weekend at the Renwick Clifton house ("RC"). Candidly, we were looking to stay in Rhinebeck, (not Saugarties), but most of the usual suspects in Rhinebeck had already been reserved months ahead of time. We settled on Saugarties and the Renwick Clifton house as it was 20 minutes to Rhinebeck (over Rhinecliff Bridge) and 25 minutes to Woodstock - so, proximate to lots to see and to do. The RC is a lovely large home built in 1812. The owners have spent considerable time and effort restoring the house and "modernizing" it. I have stayed at many BnBs and, hands down, this was the best BnB experience I have had. The pros and cons:

>House is lovely and well maintained.
>Bathrooms have been renovated within the least 5 years and feel clean/new.
>The owners are completely lovely and unobtrusive; extremely accommodating. For example, when I usually stay at BnBs, there is one breakfast entree and that is it. Here, the owners endeavored to do it your way; they even would make gluten-free scones and gluten free french toast - if that was your thing!
>Good wine was put out in the early evenings with some cheese/crackers.
>Loved being served 4 course breakfast on china with beautiful silver on the large veranda with views of the river!
>Only 4 guest rooms!

Cons:
>A/C units in the windows were a bit noisy.
>No bathtub in each guest room.

If you are going to be in this neck of the woods, great place to stay! Would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nassau, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

It's our favorite tradition, to travel upstate to this little spot we think of as our home away from home. This past weekend (7/15//12) was our 5th return trip....This was a sweltering hot weekend. But lucky for us, Miriam (the lovely host) greeted us with homemade, ice-cold, refreshing mojitos. We met up with her other guests and soon lost track of time as we conversed into the evening. We arrived on Saturday afternoon and my husband noticed that eggs benedict was served earlier that morning, naturally he was disappointed as this is his most favorite breakfast. You can imagine his surprise when Miriam changed the menu and surprised us with eggs benedict on our last morning with her. Big smiles all around and we appreciated it so much. Everything else was lovely as well, the room, the view, the company, the atmosphere, everything was consistently lovely and we enjoyed a relaxing weekend away from the usual grind. Thank you to both Miriam and Eric for letting enjoy our weekend anniversary celebration. Until next time :)

Room Tip: There are 4 lovely rooms, this is a B&B for couples, any room is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Beautiful B&B with phenomenal host and hostess! All the right touches -- from chocolate and bottled water by the bed, to wine and cheese before to dinner, to full-time snack and coffee assortment... the list goes on. Breakfast was delicious and spectacular overlooking the water. Also, impeccably clean and comfortable rooms and bed! GREAT stay and highly recommended!!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

From the moment you approach the Renwick Clifton house you know you've picked the right Inn. The beauty of the outside is only matched by the elegance and charm of the inside. The owners have left no detail to chance. We felt like we were back in time (yet with every amenity of today). Our room, the Chancellor Livingston, was extremely comfortable with sweeping Hudson River views. Coming from NYC it was a much needed and relaxing escape. Breakfast was so much more than we ever expected, and the scones... well, put a few in your purse (or ask the hostess, Miriam for a some to go), they are worth the calories and you will be thinking of them weeks later. The owners, Miriam and Eric, make you feel extremely welcome and at home (without the obligation of visiting with family). We can't wait to go back for another relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We loved every single thing about our stay here - it truly couldn't have been any better. Our hostess Miriam made us feel welcome immediately by greeting us at the front door. The whole house was warm and charming, but also luxurious and decorated so beautifully with all kinds of elegant and unique art. There were chocolate truffles and bottles of water in our room. Before we went out for the evening, we were delighted with wine and cheese and jazz music that played throughout the house. The 4 course breakfast is unbelievable - like you are at a five star restaurant. There is also an amazing balcony with lots of comfy chairs and heat lamps where you can sit and look at the river and amazing scenery. We would definitely come here again.

Room Tip: The Mary Powell room has an AMAZING view (though all of the rooms are really charming).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

In the true spirit of a B&B, Eric and Miriam Adams are warm, personable hosts who create a delightful vacation experience. Their attention to detail and genuine hospitality make this an elegant 5 star establishment. The breakfasts are delicous and bountiful.
Saugerties offers a variety of experiences for all tastes and this elegant inn is the place to stay.

Room Tip: The Mary Powell has a wonderful view of the Hudson River
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

This truly is a lovely mansion right out of the old south, decorated beautifully with antiques, and special touches that make one immediately feel welcome, as did our hostess, Miriam. The pretty decorations at the entrance added to the feel of the autumn season. Our room was luxurious with a breathtaking view of the Hudson River. The bath was updated and spacious. The chocolates and bottled water refreshed each day were appreciated. The gourmet breakfast was delicious each morning, and the snacks and beverages provided throughout the day and evening, were a nice touch. We enjoyed the wine and cheese in the parlor pre-dinner and a sip of brandy before retiring to our room at the end of the evening. Miriam is a gracious hostess and provides wonderful service to her guests. This is a lovely place to stay in the Hudson River Valley!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renwick Clifton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renwick Clifton House

Address: 27 Barclay Street, Saugerties, NY 12477
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Saugerties
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Saugerties
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renwick Clifton House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.