We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very uneasy feeling” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Gideon Putnam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Gideon Putnam to your Saves list
The Gideon Putnam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Gideon Putnam Road, Saratoga Spa State Park, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866 (Formerly Gideon Putnam Hotel and Conference Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
GreenLeadersSilver level
Farmington, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very uneasy feeling”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Very strange place, from the moment I checked in for a 2 night stay I knew something was wrong.. The place had a very weird ora about it. I checked in they tried the bate and switch pricing at the front desk with the AAA pricing they charged me more money then the room was going for reguarly. The Manager Eric could not explain why. I proceeded to go up to the room, I felt a presence that was not good but evil right when I reached the elevator.. Ghoast hunters watch out!! The room was a old delapated pile of mess, wires hanging out from the walls,curtins filthy,bathroom moldy,and fixtures coming out of the wall. Needless to say I gave them my 445.00 dollars for one night, left that night to return home on a 3hr ride back. Very uneasy feeling about the whole place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. The Gideon Putnam is a historic hotel built in 1935. We don't have any known ghosts, but I imagine, given our age, certain people may sense something. Regarding your room rate, much in the same way that the airlines fluctuate their rates, hotel room rates fluctuate. Your rate does not change once you've locked in your reservation. Our AAA rate is $10 off the Bed & Breakfast package - if you prefer not to have breakfast, then the best available rate is a better deal. We're sorry you couldn't stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    169
    86
    56
    42
See reviews for
89
248
15
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marlboro, New Jersey
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stopped for breakfast and can say the lobby was beautiful. Reminiscent of the early 1900's. the restaurant was nice. We ate outside surrounded by the windowed lobby and lovely trees. Service and food were both good. Breakfast wasn't as expensive as I expected. I can't critique rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for stopping by. You are correct - the lobby is "reminiscent of the early 1900's," because it was built in 1935. We appreciate you sharing with the travel community just how much you enjoyed the food, service and ambiance. Perhaps in the future we will see you for an overnight stay. Enjoy the rest of your Summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Recently spent a week-end in Saratoga Springs. Stayed at Gideon Putnam Hotel. Because we made plans at the last minute and it is racing time, this was the only hotel that had an opening. It was more expensive than we had planned but we hoped that it would be an excellent place to stay. I have to say that everyone was friendly when we checked in . The first indication that it might not be great was that the elevator was filthy - in need of vacuuming and sticky finger prints all over the interior. We checked into our room to find a small room with a very old bathroom. It was showing signs of wear and had a damp feel to it despite the loud air conditioning unit that was running. The bed was very uncomfortable with sheets that were rough and would not stay on the mattress. The pillows were rock hard and smelled dusty. The sheets felt a little damp and uncomfortable. Shower had poor water pressure. Great towels. Was pleased to see make up remover pads included in the amenities. Took the shuttle to the Roosevelt spa. The shuttle was in desperate need of vacuuming but we appreciated the ride. Unfortunately, that was the last time that the shuttle was convenient so we drove everywhere else. I requested new pillows after the first night and two more older pillows were delivered. The grounds are beautiful around the Gideon Putnam. We ate breakfast there and had a beautiful, delicious breakfast at a reasonable price. I understand that renovations are planned but hope that they do not delay much longer.

Room Tip: Definitely go to the Roosevelt Spa and Mineral Baths. Well worth it. The massage was fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am glad to hear how well our staff treated you, that you enjoyed your massage at Roosevelt Baths & Spa and that you enjoyed a delicious meal in Putnam's. But despite these positives, I'm sorry to hear you had a less than satisfactory visit. You are correct - more renovations are planned - and as you might imagine for a historic hotel built in 1935, renovations are eternal. I have asked our Executive Housekeeper to follow up on your observations. Thank you for choosing the Gideon Putnam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Gideon Putnam is nestled in a great park with a very nice golf course.
Unfortunately, the rooms need serious help. For $400/might, they should have larger rooms with better amenities. The free breakfast was so bad that I did not go back there the 2nd 2 times when it was free.
I understand it's an historic hotel, but the rooms need to be as good as the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your honest opinion. As I mentioned in the previous review, care for a property such as this is eternal, and like any good business, we operate on a timeline and a budget. We just finished re-painting all the guest rooms, and all the furniture, mattresses and linens are new within the last few years. We are never without multiple project and we hope you will continue to see improvements with each phase of renovation. We are so glad our staff treated you well, and we hope you will consider visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Where do I begin? Lets start with our request when I made the reservation..."first time to your hotel request a quiet room". We were given room 510. So for approx. $450 / night after taxes, etc. you too can enjoy listening to the elevator doors open and slam close along with the machinery necessary to operate the elevator ALL NIGHT LONG. Although the room had ceiling vents and a thermostat, which I would believe may have been for A/C, it didn't work but we did have a small window a/c that had white duct tape all around it to seal the holes. The grinding A/C teamed up with the elevator so that sleep would be almost impossible. Add two broken windows, and housekeeping that perfectly placed a hand towel with smudged pink lip stick right in plain view. Added bonus is the singing shower...you know the one from Motel 6 that no matter what you do it sounds like a siren in the shower. I picked up my Ipad from the floor, where it was charging, and found that several ants had found the heat very refreshing.
When I made the room reservation I added a mineral bath for my wife. My wife called at 09:00 when they opened and her call went to voicemail.She left all the required info for the call back and repeated this process a couple hours later.......we never received a return phone call and had to get a refund for the mineral bath. As for golf, while the course is a visual pleasure it is not in very good shape. Tee boxes beat up, fairways also poor, and very slow greens. If you can hold a golf club you will be allowed to play. As for all the notes on the website about pace of play and rangers.....ranger just drive by up twice while the group ahead, playing from the blue tees and two guys could not hit it out of their shadow. There was more than a hole open ahead of The Pros from Dover......clueless, and nothing ever said to them. Now standby for the corporate manure to follow this review.......never going back.

Room Tip: Avoid room 510, and I would think and room ending in 10 would have elevator noise....do yourself a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you Robert, for taking the time to share your thoughts. I am so sorry to hear that your good night's sleep was interrupted. As a historic landmark hotel built in 1935, we face our fair share of challenges (a classic Otis elevator, noisy pipes, original fixtures). The lipstick on the towel is totally inexcusable and I have already talked to our Housekeeping Supervisor about this. Please accept our sincere apologies for failing to meet the level of service that you deserve.

Care for a property such as this is eternal, and when Delaware North Companies took over management of the hotel in 2008, we committed $20 million toward capital improvements. Guests will continue to see improvements with each phase of renovation. If you were unhappy with the Golf Course, please direct your comments to Saratoga Spa State Park/State of New York - they own the golf course (as well as the Victoria Pool, the Gideon Putnam, the Roosevelt Baths & Spa).

We are not perfect, but we are the perfect getaway. A storied hotel, in an idylic setting. We hope that we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We regularly stay here and are never disappointed. Fine golf course(Reserve a tee time ahead); excellent dinning at several levels-- bar, regular menu dining, and Estate dining; Spa and baths; SPAC and Horse Racing in area. And the setting is just beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about the Gideon Putnam with a wider audience! You put into words exactly what we hope our guests experience... and the sentiment we hope they take away from their visit. Thank you for choosing the Gideon Putnam time and time again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Nice to stay in something so rich in history. Rooms need to be updated. We enjoyed the Roosevelt Spa/ for massages/mineral treatments but they can do better to be more updated in the relaxation area and locker rooms, ie, hooks, available towels/ reading materials etc. Staff so nice but I wish our hotel room was more quaint. Best part was getting to go info on a tour of the mineral baths from an well educated volunteer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for appreciating the rich history of the Gideon Putnam Resort and Spa. We are thrilled to hear that our staff treated you well and how much you enjoyed your mineral baths, massages and tour of the mineral springs. Your observations are important to us and I will pass them along to our Spa Director. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gideon Putnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gideon Putnam

Address: 24 Gideon Putnam Road, Saratoga Spa State Park, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866 (Formerly Gideon Putnam Hotel and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#5 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#7 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gideon Putnam 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some places are just different. You feel it. You sense it. And when you're there it welcomes you. It encourages you, and it leaves you in a better place than when you arrived. A place that is legendary for making people feel better. It's not just a hotel. It's the cure for what ails you. The Gideon Putnm is a classic boutique hotel located in resort-like setting of Saratoga Spa State Park, minutes from downtown Saratoga Springs and the Adirondack Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your The Gideon Putnam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gideon Putnam Saratoga Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gideon Putnam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.