We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Putnam Gideon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gideon Putnam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Gideon Putnam to your Saves list
The Gideon Putnam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Gideon Putnam Road, Saratoga Spa State Park, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866 (Formerly Gideon Putnam Hotel and Conference Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
GreenLeadersSilver level
Centereach, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Putnam Gideon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

WOW!!! What a great getaway my wife and I enjoyed at this wonderful resort and spa. We knew the grounds and facility would be amazing from all the pictures we saw online but when you combine it with people who really care about you and your stay you end up with a world class resort. I am almost compelled not to go on to much as this may be one of the best kept secrets!! The folks at the front desk were kind, understanding and helpful. The bellman was very helpful too!! Everyone in the restaurant made you feel as if they were your personal wait staff!! The food was phenomenal!!The folks at the spa knew exactly how to make you feel relaxed and they are very experienced at what they do!!! We felt rejuvenated and invigorated!! Highly recommend this resort and spa.

Room Tip: Since it is a family friendly hotel too ask to be placed in a room not next to infants. Being 1 room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
WOW!!! Is right! Thank you for your wonderful review. We take pride in providing great customer service for our guests, and I am so glad to hear that you experienced this through our staff. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your experience at the Gideon Putnam. Until next time... Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    169
    86
    56
    42
See reviews for
89
248
15
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had an opportunity to stay at the Gideon Putnam over the weekend. The hotel is in such a beautiful old building with gorgeous surroundings - in the middle of Saratoga Springs State Park! The antiquity and classiness is played up by the furniture and 2 fireplaces in the lobby. The rooms were surprisingly spacious, clean, updated and comfortable. There is a shuttle into downtown available all day/evening and free use of snowshoes if the spirit moves you - the snow covered golf course is right out thefront door. I have also seen the Public AAAA Golf Course in the summer and it is amazing!
The Sunday Brunch is something to go there for all by itself but the restaurants and bar are beautifully maintained in old world charm. All this with the Roosevelt and Lincoln Spa/ Mineral Baths virtually next door can make for an exquisite getaway to make you feel like you've stepped into a different age.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your amazing review. As we've mentioned to other guests before you, you have put into words exactly what we hope our guests experience... and the sentiment we hope they take away from their visit. Thank you for choosing the Gideon - we are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful time celebrating the Valentine holiday at the Gideon Putnam. It was the perfect location for us to meet long-time friends who live in Boston while we live in Rochester, NY. The grounds are an amazing tribute to the work that was done during the 1930's Great Depression. Saratoga Springs has some of the best mineral springs in the world and the hotel and bath houses of the Gideon Putnam were built to take advantage of the natural resources of the area. Still today the buildings are elegant. We walked the grounds, enjoyed the springs and the Geyser, had hot springs baths and massage at the Roosevelt Bath and Spa. Our package included breakfast that was delicious each morning and we also enjoyed a lovely lunch. The only issue we had was a dinner with music. Our lunch server said they would have a piano playing....nice background music so that we could visit with our friends, we thought. Wrong! It was a keyboard and vocalist...who were both talented and created a great vibe for dancing later in the evening, but not so good for a quiet dinner with friends. We ended up leaving and having dinner in town...then returning to a lovely time in front of the fire for drinks and conversation. I am anxious to return and have recommended this as a place for our children who always go away for their anniversary in January.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback! Being centrally located between NYC, Boston, Montreal, Buffalo/Rochester.... the Gideon Putnam is a great gathering place for friends!! We are so glad we could play host to your special weekend. Regarding the Dinner & Dancing - I'm sorry it was a bit too loud and you felt you needed to go elsewhere for conversation. I have passed along your feedback to our Director of Food & Beverage. Thank you for suggesting us to your children, and we look forward to welcoming you back as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresskill, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a wonderful, amazing and relaxed weekend at the Gideon Putnam Hotel that exceeded our expectations. The kindness of the staff members working at the hotel, the service of the "shuttle" all day till 11 p.m. and the kindness of the drivers were amazing. We have never been at a hotel that provides this type of service. Once you arrive there, you don't need to use your car at all, the shuttle will take of you with just a simple phone call they will take you and pick you up. The breakfast was delicious and the service was nice. Also, their Spa, the mineral baths, etc. was excelent. Above all, the the kndness of all the staff members made our stay confortable and welcomed.

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
You made my day! Great Customer Service is a top priority for us, and I am so glad you were able to experience this through our excellent and kind staff. We are delighted to have "exceeded your expectations."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I purchased an expensive all-inclusive package, with breakfast and dinner included, spa treatments (one bath one massage) for 2 nights over President's Day Weekend. The reservation confirmation process was very poor, and that should have alerted us... Yes the location is beautiful, in a relaxing and charming park, but the service is a disaster. For the amount of money we paid, we expected a much better service and quality level - at least a 3 or 4 star treatment. We found the room to be very small and not better than the average Best Western. The heater was super loud, the safe did not work (and we asked for it to be fixed but they tried and could not, and of course did not offer any alternative). We called them to ask if they had hotel slippers, and they said they would look into it and never called back. The hotel was doing some kind of construction right across the hallway from us, and even though we complained about it, the hotel did not offer anything to make it up to us. (We complained twice that it was too loud, and it even woke us up every morning early, but the receptionist made fun of us about it!!) We were never treated so bad in a hotel. We had free wifi in the room, which was nice. The mattress was bad since we both woke up with backache. Amenities are overall really antiquated and the decor beyond old. It is a shame because the building is beautiful, and with a modern decorator, it could successfully manage to keep its old charm while looking refreshed and contemporary. The restaurant is okay, the waiters were polite and helpful, the food was not amazing - certainly not work the cost of the package either - but it was okay for Saratoga Springs I guess, and the portions were quite substantial. The restaurant seemed like the only part of the resort that was managed well.The spa is a 19th century experience, and if you expect a Bliss type of experience, don't go to Gideon as the treatments are pretty light and it looks like a spa from old movies, but we found it interesting and authentic. Overall, it was not the relaxing weekend we were hoping for though. The rude reception staff made us way too aggravated and we're never going back there!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback. I am very disappointed, and surprised, to hear about your experience with the Front Desk. This is not in keeping with the high quality standards our team strives to achieve every day. I will certainly share your comments with our Front Desk Manager. Please accept our apologies for failing to meet the level of service that you deserve.

I am also sorry you ended up with one of our small rooms. We are a historic hotel and unfortunately, some of our rooms are smaller than others. We were near capacity over President's Day Weekend and had to utilize most of our rooms.

As for the Spa, you are correct. The Historic Roosevelt Baths & Spa opened in 1935 as a bathhouse – part of the Saratoga Spa complex, which includes the Gideon Putnam hotel. Travelers have flocked here for more than a century to bathe and drink the healing mineral waters; in our heyday, close to 200,000 people sought treatment here each year. We offer wonderful treatments at the Spa, but our facility is unique and storied, in fact, the entire Saratoga Spa State Park complex was entered onto the National Historic Register in 1985.

At the very least, we are glad to hear that you found our location to be beautiful and relaxing, that you appreciated the free Wifi, and that you thought the restaurant was well-managed with polite and helpful staff. Should your future plans lead you back to Saratoga Springs, we do hope you will allow us another chance to better serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were very disappointed with a number of items relating to our stay. We asked to talk with a manager upon checkout, and were told no. We made a call to the general manager upon our return home, and he listened to my concerns of the hotels shortcomings, he said a credit to our account would be issued. That never occured, also filled out the survey they email you with our concerns, never heard a reply to that either.
The hotel certainly has alot of potential, but until they realized that guest satisfaction is a priority, we will not return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you Joy P., for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I haven't forgotten our conversation, and I apologize for the delay in crediting your account. Regarding our guest surveys, we respond to every guest who asks to be contacted. We have gone through all survey responses for the month of February and we do not see one from you, I'm so sorry. If there is anything else you would like to discuss, you have my number, please feel free to call. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Gideon Putnam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had a great time at the Gideon Putnam Hotel. We were there for a weekend convention Feb 8, 9, 10. We were supposed to have 16 inches of snow there but only had 6. The staff was very nice and helpful. The lobby welcomed us in with both fire places burning. All the meals we had with our convention were excellent, especially the banquet dinner. We really enjoyed our mineral baths and massages at the spa. We also had a good time snow shoeing around the park. The park is very pretty in the snow. We would love to go back again and highly recommend the Gideon Putnam as a great place to visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about the Gideon Putnam with a wider audience! You put into words exactly what we hope our guests experience... and the sentiment we hope they take away from their visit. Thank you for choosing the Gideon - we certainly hope you find your way to us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gideon Putnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gideon Putnam

Address: 24 Gideon Putnam Road, Saratoga Spa State Park, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866 (Formerly Gideon Putnam Hotel and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#5 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#7 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gideon Putnam 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some places are just different. You feel it. You sense it. And when you're there it welcomes you. It encourages you, and it leaves you in a better place than when you arrived. A place that is legendary for making people feel better. It's not just a hotel. It's the cure for what ails you. The Gideon Putnm is a classic boutique hotel located in resort-like setting of Saratoga Spa State Park, minutes from downtown Saratoga Springs and the Adirondack Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your The Gideon Putnam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gideon Putnam Saratoga Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gideon Putnam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.