We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wet bed, damp room, dirty bathroom” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   232 Broadway, Rt. 9, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
ny, ny
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wet bed, damp room, dirty bathroom”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I'm not sure if it was because we came during a busy week (all hotels were booked up because of the races and the bar examination), but my experience here was terrible.

To start, all the employees seemed to be overworked and in a bad mood from being stressed out. I didn't hold it against them at first because I knew it was a very busy time...but their attitude when handling the issues with our rooms was completely rude and unaccommodating.

And boy did the rooms have issues.

Our first room appeared to be a bit damp, but overall fine. However, as we were getting into bed, we found out that one of the beds was WET beneath the comforter. not damp, but WET. This was not only mortifying because we had no idea what caused the wetness, but also extremely distressing because it was midnight and we were all extremely tired from a long day of studying and were supposed to wake up by 7am. Management (grumpily) came to confirm the wetness and we had to hurriedly pack up all our things to move to a different room while still half a sleep. They only compensated us for the distress with a $20 breakfast coupon between four people.

Our second room was not much better than the first. To start, the room itself was even more damp than the first room and the carpet was moist. The sheets on one of the beds was also damp (the only solace about having wet/damp sheets a second time is that we were able determined that all the sheets were probably put on the beds before they properly dried, rather than being wet/damp from bodily fluids). Finally, the bathtub also had large spots of dirt all over it, showing clearly that the bathroom had not been cleaned. At this point, we wanted to leave, but as it was now 12:30-1am, we could not get in touch with the front desk of other hotels to find other lodging. We had no choice but to stay.

The next day, we left as soon as we could find another hotel to stay with. I will say that management was nice enough to give us a ride to our new hotel in their hotel van... but even the van driver was grumpy and stood idly by while we (four girls) loaded our luggage in the trunk. We asked for a full refund of our stay, since we unwillingly stayed that one night... however, they were only willing to refund us the nights we did not stay.

To sum it up, I was extremely disappointed with the quality of the rooms and found the management to be very rude.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We are truly sorry that your hotel experience was less than satisfactory. Please feel free to contact me directly so that we can discuss your comments further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    124
    39
    17
    16
See reviews for
66
89
24
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Usually the Holiday Inn brand is like the old HoJo chain where you would expect decent food and lodging consistently anywhere in the US.
Saratoga Springs, horse racing capital of the world, has a very special Holiday Inn located right on Broadway ( historic Victorian town) and less than one mile from the track.
From the fabulous front desk staff ( led by Kathy French) to the wonderful Bookmakers restaurant ( full breakfast fresh for under $10.00), to the English speaking local housekeeping service.
Friendly van drivers ( including Santa Claus), will drop you off and pick u up at the track and historic downtown restaurants.
We have returned for the past 10 years during racing season(August ) and will continue

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Clearly by my name I love this brand. Was in town visiting with my in-laws for the fourth of July This hotel is in the center of everything, convenient parking, within walking distance of EVERYTHING, friendly staff, especially housekeeping, the grounds are well kept, the entrance way sets the tone for the experience you are going to have. Rooms are clean and in good shape. Television setup is really great. Breakfast was very good, attentive waitstaff. Kudos to the management team and ownership for having such a wonderful establishment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Holiday Inn. This location has the right ideas. We all know Holiday inns are a respected hotel chain. This location has it right. the rooms were average but very very clean. Why so pleased you may ask,this is why.This is a pet friendly hotel, right down to the doggie dishes located outside,the front entrance. Pet friendly and nose friendly. Not and oder or scent of animals. ( I was not traveling with my pooch,but nice to know). It was the little things that put this place over the top. Two pools indoor and outdoor. Gym for a quick workout. Free bicycles to zip around town, Nice outdoor firepit to relax a have a cocktail. A full size popcorn machine to snack on popcorn while sipping your beverage. Complimentary Morning coffee, set up in lobby. Lasltly the staff,Front desk,Hostesses,Bar tenders and Housekeeping all make you feel at home. Nice surprise, things the way they should be. Thank you Holiday Inn,Saratoga

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merion, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed overnight recently via Priceline. I received a great price. Quick checkin. Very spacious room. Very comfortable room! Large flat-screen TV. Didn't take advantage of the indoor and outdoor pools but nice to have them available. Used the exercise room. Great!

The easiest checkin and checkout ever!

Ate at the hotel restaurant for a Sunday brunch buffet. Very reasonable. Had a made-to-order blueberry crepe, which was delicious. Had the option of a made-to-order omelette as well.
Lovely interior and exterior.

Easy parking. Would come back any day!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narberth, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Will stay here whenever in Saratoga. Have tried other places but this is perfect during racing season. Shuttle to the track is a great bonus. Breakfast can be eaten outside. Good bar . Even a fire pit at night. Can walk to restaurants too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at the holiday inn for a week. It was a very nice hotel. The hotel was clean, nicely decorated, the inside and outside pools were very well maintained and there were always towels by the pools. They have bikes that you can use, so we rode through congress park behind the hotel. I stay at a lot of hotels and this is one of my favorite hotels. I'm not sure why there were mixed reviews because it exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs

Address: 232 Broadway, Rt. 9, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#10 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of our hotel. The Holiday Inn Hotel Saratoga Springs is a full service hotel & conference center located in the historic downtown district of Saratoga Springs, a short walk to shopping, great restaurants & entertaining nightspots. We are close to all major attractions and within walking distance to the historic Saratoga Race Course and the Canfield Casino, Saratoga Spring's most popular wedding venue. Bookmakers Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and offers American cuisine as well as light offerings. Breakfast buffets are available during the summer months, on Sundays & Holidays. Banquet and meeting accommodations are offered for groups of 10 to 800 people in 6 spacious rooms. The historic Congress Park adjoins to the hotel property... ask about a park side room. Our indoor pool and heated outdoor pool complex is a popular favorite for families and sunbathers. Keep fit in our 24-hour exercise facility. Free high-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is available in guest rooms, Bookmakers Restaurant, all meeting rooms and even the pool areas! Our 24-hour business service center is open for coping, faxing, internet use and all business needs! We offer free courtesy van service within 5 miles of the hotel to our convention center, area businesses & attractions and the Saratoga Amtrak/Bus Station. Enjoy seasonal dining on our Broadway patio complete with firepit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs Hotel Saratoga Springs
Saratoga Springs Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.