We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cook has no idea what the difference between a rare burger and well done.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Circus Cafe

Circus Cafe
392 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-3108
518-583-1106
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cook has no idea what the difference between a rare burger and well done.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Offering 10% off on an under cooked burger is an insult ....all I asked was to let cook know so he wouldn't do it to another customer...poor management .My 200 wedding guest won't be going any where near there.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CircusCafe, Manager at Circus Cafe, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hello Bobbi4vendors,

Thank you for joining us at Circus Café. While we are so apologetic for your experience, please know that we take great pride in our award winning burgers as well as the management of our restaurant. We spoke with your server from Sunday afternoon and she informed us that she went to your table 2 minutes after you received your burgers (which is an integral part of our customer service policy) and asked if they were cooked to your liking. The response she received was positive so she left the table to let you enjoy your meal. At the end of the meal it was mentioned that one of the burgers was under cooked. At this point the server felt terrible that she had not been made aware of this when she approached your table earlier, at the 2 minute mark. This rendered it impossible to do what we would normally do which is simply to cook the burger longer or offer to replace it with something else. The 10% discount was an attempt to rectify the situation at the point we learned of a problem. Again we do apologize that you did not enjoy your burger and hope you decide to visit us again so we can show you how truly delicious our burgers are.

Thanks again,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    61
    32
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Hot Wings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I ordered a Cobb salad and hot wings. The cobb salad was delicious and very filling. The hot wings were smoking!!! I loved them. They were crispy and coated with just the right amount of sauce - finger licking good. I'd go again for salad and wings.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CircusCafe, Manager at Circus Cafe, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Hi TravelerGurlNorfolk,

We are so happy you enjoyed our Chicken Wings and Cobb Salad (two of our best sellers) so much! Looking forward to seeing you the next time you visit.

Thanks so much!
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is a an enjoyable cafe with a circus theme that provides for a happy , upbeat environment. Even at the height of racing season, they were able to seat me quickly and honor my need to meet deadlines. This was the case on four out of four visits. The staff are extremely friendly and efficient, and the complimentary basket of popcorn is a nice touch. Everything I had here amounted to lighter fare and was fine. But the New England Seafood Chowder was a real treat -- evening the heat of summer! It is hearty and filled with all you'd want in a chowder including corn and potatoes. Reasonably priced for Saratoga. I can't wait to return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CircusCafe, Manager at Circus Cafe, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Hello RalphH42,

Thank you so much for dining at Circus Cafe! We are thrilled to know that you had consistent service and delicious food all four times you dined with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Thanks again,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jericho, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, Bad Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The drinks (we had mimosas and the pomegranate bellini) were really good. The cheeseburger was really good-- juicy, cooked the way we ordered, very tasty.

Clean place, cute decor. Family friendly, as they give cotton candy to kids.

My only real complaint was the service. The bartender doubled as a server as well, and therefore was never behind the bar. After waiting for 10-15 minutes, I actually had to get up, go over to her, and ask to close out my tab. Our waitress had a rotten attitude and was not friendly at all. After waiting for a while, I tried to get her attention so we could order. She looked back at me, gave me a dirty look, and kept walking in the opposite direction. When she finally did come up to our table, she didn't say "hello" or anything. Just "Ready?" While we were placing our order, she was tapping her foot inpatiently. More than once, she just dropped things on our table (i.e our food and the bill). Never asked us "How are things?" or "Is there anything else I could get for you?", as waiters/waitresses usually do. I understand people have bad days, but when you're in customer service, you have to at least try to put on a happy face.

In summary, good food. cute place. sub-par service.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CircusCafe, Manager at Circus Cafe, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hello Sophia T,

Thank you so much for dining at Circus Cafe. We are extremely grateful to you for writing to inform us about your experience. While we are glad that you enjoyed the food and drinks we are genuinely sorry for the service you received. Please know that we are known for providing excellent service and have won Friendliest Service by voters in our community through the local newspaper. Based on your review we were able to identify the server you had and she extends her apologies to you as well. While it is not an excuse please know that she is typically a very friendly server and unfortunately has had things going on outside of work that she allowed to affect her performance. She assures us that it will not happen again. We apologize again for the service you received and we hope to see you in the future so we may show you a true Circus Cafe experience.

Thank you again,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Menu is too large”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Great location & great staff. Food was also of good quality...when it finally came. It took forever. My honest opinion is that the menu offers too many selections to keep the pace moving.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CircusCafe, Manager at Circus Cafe, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Hello Scott P,

Thanks so much for trying Circus Cafe. We are glad you enjoyed the food and service and hope to see you again in the future!

Thanks again,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circus Cafe also viewed

Saratoga Springs, NY
Saratoga Springs, NY
 

Been to Circus Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Circus Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.