We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, not memorable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Saratoga Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Saratoga Arms to your Saves list
Saratoga Arms
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   497 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct-Best Rates
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
HOUSTON,TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“OK, not memorable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

Moderate in every way. For the money, there are many alternate choices. $450 per night for an average king bedded room places Saratoga Arms at the top of the price range in Saratoga. Breakfast was decent, though more was expected. Two fruit choices and one hot breakfast entre were offered, along with an assortment of bread items and dry cereal. Again, moderate by most means.

The proprietor voiced a totally inapropriate joke about my home state, and seemed to have an opinion on absolutely every topic..

Saratoga Springs is a lovely town. I suggest doing research on available accomodations, as I saw several lovely properties from which to choose.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saratogaarms, Ddirector of Sales & Marketing at Saratoga Arms, responded to this review, October 14, 2008
For a short six weeks during the summer, Saratoga Springs is home to world class thoroughbred racing. It is our high season and lodging rates throughout the city reflect that. Saratoga Springs is a wonderful place to visit year round and rate ranges change depending on the time of year.

The rates at Saratoga Arms include:
1) A full breakfast each morning served from 8:30-10:00am. Our breakfasts offer one or more fruit options, four juice choices, three varieties of cereals, Irish oatmeal, a selection of yogurts, and assorted baked goods. We also offer a cooked to order omelet choice
2) Free highspeed and wireless internet service throughout the hotel.
3) Complimentary bottles of sparkling and flat Saratoga Water.
4) 24 hours fitness room
4) Concierge services and much more

Saratoga Arms is a family run business. The Smiths, lifelong residents of Saratoga Springs, have a wealth of information to share about their wonderful city and gladly offer guidance and information to those guests who are interested in all that Saratoga has to offer. In the President Grant Dining Room, guests are treated to stories and anecdotes from Kathleen as she makes an effort to greet each table, often sharing a story or a historical fact about Saratoga and the interesting people who made it famous.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    36
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
48
204
12
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

We stayed at the Saratoga Arms two years ago during racing season and enjoyed it so much that we booked it again for this summer.

We again found the inn to be charming and the owners/staff exceptionally gracious. However, there were some issues with our room which caused some discomfort for us.

The inn is at the very top of the price range in Saratoga and I do appreciate the fact that the prime season is short but the accommodations and amenities do not reflect the high price.

We stayed in a queen bedded room. The room was average size which was fine but the lighting was abysmal making it very difficult to read. The TV was 15" and a leftover from the 20th century. The bathroom barely had space for our toiletries.

In summation, it's certainly seems like it time for some upgrading of the rooms particularly at the high price point.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saratogaarms, Director of Sales and Marketing at Saratoga Arms, responded to this review, October 14, 2008
Saratoga Arms is a thirty one room hotel with one part that was originally built in 1870 and restored in 1999 and another section that is a new addition completed in 2005. These guests stayed in the newer section during their first visit two years ago. Their return visit had them in a room in the original part of the hotel.

All rooms, regardless of when they were built, feature the same amenities. Some of our guests prefer to be in the historic section with our original tin ceilings and windows that overlook the main street, while others prefer the rooms in the new section. All television sizes range between 19-27 inches, we do not have 15 inch TV’s. We are constantly updating and refreshing our rooms and all televisions will be at least 29 inches by 2009. Bathrooms in the historic section have pedestal sink with a ledge that runs along the perimeter to hold toiletries. All of our rooms have at least four different light sources with each with at least 75 watt bulbs.

Our guests comfort is paramount to us. If a guest is not happy with the room and alerts us at the time of their stay, we do everything possible to move them to a room that they may find more comfortable. Our staff is readily available to assist a guest with any and all concerns, in fact, the owners live on the premises and take pride in the our level of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

A wonderful hotel in a beautiful town. There is so much to see and do in Saratoga Springs. The owners and staff are all very friendly and welcoming. The accomodation is lovely, fresh and clean. The breakfast is very nice and plentiful, served in a beautiful dining room.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

My wife and I stayed at this lovely property for our first visit to Saratoga Springs last week. We will definitely book a return visit. The location is perfect, in the heart of everything. The rooms are scrupulously clean, and the attention to ongoing refurbishment is unwavering, which is particularly welcome as this is a historic building. But the best part of staying there is the friendliness of the owners, who do everything from making sure one gets attentive service at restaurants owned by their friends to providing excellent recommendations for touring the town. One could hardly do better!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2008

I spent 4 nights at the Saratoga Arms with my parents and sister, and we had an incredible stay. Our rooms were clean, comfortable, and the King Suite had a very cool terrace. Everything is in stellar condition! The location of the hotel is perfect for walks around town. But probably the best part of our stay was the quality of the hotel staff. The owners live on site and personally serve breakfast and serve as your concierge (there is just about nobody in town that knows more about Saratoga Springs than Mrs. Smith!). Other nice touches include free wifi, saratoga spring water brought to the room everyday, tv in the bathroom, and a great porch for reading. My only cons were that the advertised fitness center was pretty bare bones and that there is some construction going on down the street. Otherwise really an incredible stay! One of the most pleasurable family stays we have had in a long time.

  • Liked — Staff!
  • Disliked — Fitness center
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

My wife and I were very impressed with the Saratoga Arms. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The King suite was beautiful. The room was clean, the bathroom was clean, it was a very pleasent experience. I would highly recommend anyone to stay at this hotel. I would have to say it was the little things that impressed me. Robes, water in the rooms, their website and the overall quaint feeling the hotel projected. The owners have been able to keep the old time charm, with updated amenities. My wife and I will definitly be returning to the Saratoga Arms again!

  • Liked — The overall experience
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2008

We recently stayed for 4 days at this lovely place. From the first phone call to handing in our keys, the staff were gracious, helpful and accommodating. We had a lovely room with a small balcony looking out on trees and a quiet street -- it was so restful we stayed in most of our first day! Breakfast was a delicious home-cooked meal; lunch and dinner recommendations seemed ideally suited to us. The location was also great for exploring the town on foot, since we didn't have a car. We plan on going back soon -- it was terrific.

  • Liked — lovely room
  • Disliked — --
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saratoga Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saratoga Arms

Address: 497 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#1 Spa Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#2 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#3 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Saratoga Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an award winning Saratoga Springs luxury hotel located in the heart of beautiful downtown steps to the Thoroughbred Races, shopping, restaurants, and museums. Our Saratoga Springs bed & breakfast features 31 individually appointed rooms with fireplaces & whirlpool tubs, combining historic elegance and modern amenities. A delicious full breakfast, Wi-Fi & concierge service is included at our romantic Saratoga Springs lodging. Experience why the Saratoga Arms stand apart from all other hotels in Saratoga Springs, NY! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Saratoga Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratoga Arms Hotel Saratoga Springs
Saratoga Arms Springs
Saratoga Arms Hotel Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saratoga Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.