We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Way to Start Your Honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Batcheller Mansion Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Batcheller Mansion Inn to your Saves list
Batcheller Mansion Inn
20 Circular Street, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866   |  
Hotel amenities
Ballston Lake, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Way to Start Your Honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My "husband to be" and I wanted a special place to stay on our wedding night. The Mansion is breathtakingly beautiful inside and out. Our room was rich in history, had every modern convenience and our room was very, very large. Dressing for my wedding was something I will never forget in a great way! My attendants and photographer were delighted with the facility. The bathroom sported extra conveniences from a make up table with excellent lighting to one of those huge old fashioned bathtubs that the photographer used to take some incredible photos! Marble topped dressers, turn of the century sitting area and a huge bed are just some of the many features in our room. We were looking for a place to stay the evening of our wedding that was close to where our wedding was held - the Batcheller Mansion was just perfect and we hope to spend anniversaries there in years to come. The breakfast was excellent even though we went down very late the next morning. Breakfast was cooked to order by their expert chef -- you can't get any better than that. The common areas were spacious and full of architecturial beauty. Off street parking is available to guest, which was a pleasant surprise. My husband was delighted as well. Our previous favorite place was The Essex, a 4 diamond resort in Vermont. The Essex can't come close to the Batchellor Mansion. The Batchellor Mansion is Number 1 in our book and it will be in yours as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    17
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
99
2
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

This is just a beautiful mansion. Dan and his staff are very very welcoming! It's close to everything! Walking distance to the beautiful historic park, downtown, restaurants, bars and shopping! I definitely would go back! Especially for a horse race.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We finished up our upstate NY trip with a one night stay at Batcheller Mansion before flying out of Albany the next day. We had not stayed here in probably 5 years and were traveling with a couple new to the area. It was like coming home!! Having been in 5 different beds in 10 days, this was the BEST! We all said we wish we had given Saratoga and Batcheller more nights so we will for sure be back sooner next time. Nicki was so welcoming on our Sunday arrival and of course Dan's breakfast is TOPS in our book. His homemade scones were a welcome treat and the blueberry compote stuffed French toast was to die for. We stayed in The Grant room and loved the jacuzzi tub for 2. You can't go wrong here that's for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We trailed in along with a bus tour that we happened to bump into during our walking tour of the area and got a great first hand guided tour of this lush structure inside and out! The architecture is amazing, inside and out. This would certainly be a lovely place to stay while in Saratoga.

Room Tip: Just toured the buidling
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buttaba, New South Wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I and our adult son and daughter stayed recently at the Batchellor Mansion and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Heather showed us several rooms and was a charming advocate for the residence. We had some initial teething problems booking in (we were mistakenly but substantially overcharged), however after a chat with the staff, the problem was sorted and we settled into the Kate room and the Grant room - two of the most expensive rooms in the house.

They were beautiful - I thoroughly enjoyed a relaxing afternoon reading on the balcony off our room, we all enjoyed a game of billiards, a spa, and a beautiful night's sleep in the huge beds. Dan cooked a fantastic breakfast in the morning - even made a second omelette for our son who has a voracious appetite. He was extremely knowledgeable about the history of the house and displayed a true enthusiasm for the residence.

Yes it's expensive - but every now and then it's worth treating yourself and the Batchellor Mansion is an excellent opportunity to do so.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Shokan, New York
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a wonderful stay! Exquisite place, but not stuffy. Dan knows how to run a business. The staff was top notch too. We felt welcomed the minute we arrived. The Inn is so gorgeous. My husband is a carpenter and was simply in awe over the woodwork. Breakfast was wonderful, the other guests were friendly and pleasant, bedding crisp and clean.....We travel a lot, and we both agreed that the Batcheller Mansion Inn is among our top ten. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario,
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We saw the advertisement on the Saratoga Springs Chamber of Commerce web site. The Mansion looked so amazing. It was even better in real life. We arrived much too early, but we were shown around the first floor and offered tea. We went off to see the downtown area which was just a short walk. There is a beautiful park close by as well. Our room was huge, very clean, very quiet. The staff were great..and made us feel at home in this grand place . In the morning we went to the elegant dining room....and we chose a light breakfast of a banana-nut crepe...which were very good. There were many more choices on the menu.. This home is amazing and I want to read more about the history. It is well worth a visit and hopefully we will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Batcheller Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batcheller Mansion Inn

Address: 20 Circular Street, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Saratoga Springs on historic Congress Park, this magnificent inn represents old world sophisticated elegance with a new world attitude. One of America's great Victorian houses, the Batcheller Mansion Inn simply cannot compare to other Saratoga Inns. Built in 1873, this American architectural masterpiece is an elegant mixture of small hotel and living history museum with the intimate feel of a bed and breakfast. Intricately carved European woodwork, hand carved marble fireplaces, family relics on loan from museums, original 1800's Batcheller family furnishings, and spellbinding grandeur make this one of a kind Saratoga inn and living history museum a stately retreat. Throughout the past 137 years, some of Saratoga's grandest parties were staged here, hosting U.S. Presidents, European Royalty, Dignitaries and Hollywood Celebrities. Designed by Nicols and Halcott of Albany, NY in 1873, this High Victorian Gothic mansion exhibits influences from the French Renaissance, Italian, and Egyptian styles. The red and gray slate mansard roof is bifurcated by dormers, each accented by a huge clamshell arch. The ivory stucco facade is studded by a myriad of ornate bays and its conical tower, resembling a minaret, is right out of Arabian nights. That bit of exotica was the result of original owner George S. Batcheller. This Saratoga inn was selected as Inn of the Month in the April 1999 issue of Country Inns. The mansion has also been the subject of many architectural studies, and has been featured in many books and film throughout its history. The Batcheller Mansion was specifically cited as an inspiration by Kevin Cummings, Development Manager for Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Batcheller Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batcheller Mansion Hotel Saratoga Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Batcheller Mansion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.