We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic motel! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saratoga Downtowner Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Saratoga Downtowner Motel to your Saves list
Saratoga Downtowner Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   413 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Farmington, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic motel! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Let's start with the location, could not be in a better spot, everything is within walking distance. Next, the staff. I can tell you everyone wants to help, personable and professional. Everyone takes pride in making sure you enjoy your stay. To top everything off the room was very clean, the bed was perfect and I know this sounds silly but there were enough outlets. I travel for business and have to bring a multi outlet with me but her they had me covered, they thought about all the details. Don't forget your swim trunks on this trip because doesn't the middle of the building is a pool, this place is awesome! This is my new go-to place in Saratoga Springs!

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    71
    25
    18
    8
See reviews for
42
56
23
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed at the Saratoga Downtowner multiple times when visiting the Saratoga Springs area. The motel is very dated, but clean. But the best part is it is centrally located. We park our car in the lot on a Friday and don't get back into it until Sunday. You can walk every where in the village from the motel. Great Location!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My friend and I stayed for a couple nights this month. Honestly this hotel is dead center of downtown Saratoga Springs. So everything is within walking distance. Shopping, restaurants, cafes, movies.... everything is close. I didn't use my car the entire 2 days of of our stay. It's that centrally located.

Now as other reviewers have said, the hotel is outdated. The Saratoga Downtowner could use some serious remodeling, and the beds weren't that comfortable. But the staff is very nice and friendly, with helpful suggestions for things to see in the area. The room and hotel was kept up and clean, and the price was reasonable compared to others in the area.

So overall we had a great stay. If you're looking for higher end rooms then perhaps try others in the area. But if you're looking for a nice place to stay that's perfectly set in heart of downtown Saratoga Springs, then I would recommend the Saratoga Downtowner. I know we've already talked how if we're ever revisiting the area we'll be staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent, PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My main concern with a motel is cleanliness. The Downtowner more than met my expectations. I didn't mind that it's a little older. It's clean. The location is the best in town. It's very near all the restaurants and shops. You really don't need a car at all. We were visiting our daughter and grandson and were within walking distance of their home. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. My daughter was always able to find a spot in the lot when she picked us up and I was very pleasantly surprised when we checked out and saw the final price. I will definitely stay at the Downtowner again.

Room Tip: This motel does not provide hair dryers in the room. Bring your own. Also, no iron or ironing boar...
See more room tips
Green Features: It's nice that the Downtowner has recycle bins available for guests.
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Spent the wkend of 10/24 @ the
Downtowner. Bad experience.
Pulled in parking lot to register
No place to park or stop
Had to drive to a municipal garage 1 block away. Carry our luggage. Room clean but badly needs updating. Carpets worn out. Stained. Door hinges badly rusted. Heated pool supposedly at 81 degrees. More like 71
Open 10 am till 8.30 PM have to call front desk to open pool in AM. Too cold to swim didn't see any one in the pool
Continental b'kfst mediocre
No place to sit. Had to carry to my room, the coffee cup and a small flimsy paper plate with a cut up Danish in it to my room
And for this I had to pay $149 a night, add the taxes, it comes to
$170. Do yourself a favor ....
You could find a better place within 5 miles, for less money

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014 via mobile

The staff were very accommodating. The room was like a nice Econo-Lodge, with better towels. The location is terrific-in the heart of the village. I chatted briefly with the owner. He tells me they will be doing some updating this winter. I would stay here again.

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

We echo the other comrnents. The motel is older but in very good condition.the staff or owners are quite obliging..We booked for one night but stayed two nights.Overall we were pleased.

Don & Eileen F.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Saratoga Downtowner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saratoga Downtowner Motel

Address: 413 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#12 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Saratoga Downtowner Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saratoga Downtowner is located in the heart of beautiful downtown Saratoga Springs, New York among wonderful shops, fine restaurants, and great nightlife. The property extends a friendly, personal, and relaxing atmosphere that only a family-owned and operated business can provide. The Downtowner's enclosed Atrium, complete with lovely plants, creates a comfortable social area that surrounds a heated swimming pool. For your summertime pleasure, the Atrium roof retracts to let the sun in! The Saratoga Downtowner takes great pride in providing clean, pleasant, and updated rooms, which have earned AAA approval for 35 years! Discover the convenience of being in the center of the city. Saratoga Downtowner's location and service set the property apart as the place to stay. Wake up and enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast or help yourself to coffee or tea anytime. The Saratoga Downtowner is a bit of a throw-back, adding great character to the place. The word "kitchy" is often used by the wonderful guests. The majority of rooms have direct access to the courtyard and indoor swimming pool. All rooms feature individually controlled heating and cooling, a full bath, and expanded cable television. The Saratoga Downtowner is a completely smoke-free property. Complimentary wireless internet is also available throughout the building. The Downtowner offers accommodations for all seasons in Saratoga Springs, a small city rich in history. Throughout the year, the Downtowner offers great deals and special events your family and friends will enjoy! The Downtowner's friendly, caring owner-management will help you plan whatever you'd like to see and do. Experience Saratoga Springs, New York lodging at the Downtowner, and see why so many visitors prefer the Saratoga Downtowner to any nearby Saratoga Springs hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Saratoga Downtowner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratoga Downtowner Hotel Saratoga Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saratoga Downtowner Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.