We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean, old school” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saratoga Downtowner Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Saratoga Downtowner Motel to your Saves list
Saratoga Downtowner Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   413 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Alpine, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location, clean, old school”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a show at SPAC. Centrally located, there are plenty of restaurants and bars within walking distance. The rooms are clean. They still use keys, so that gives you an idea of the age of some of the amenities, but everything is well kept. There is a pool in an atrium in the middle of the hotel. This would be a fun spot for a group getaway. Breakfast was typical hotel fare, and served in the lobby, the coffee was the only thing we partook in and that was good. We had breakfast at a diner called The Triangle.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    79
    26
    20
    10
See reviews for
46
60
24
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Everything from start to finish was impeccable. The reservation process was simple, the check, top notch. Breakfast was delicious. The service here is what you would expect from a REAL concierge hotel. By far this hotel will give you the true Saratoga experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tupper lake
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We scheduled this to see the Kid Rock concert, this place is very clean, right in the heart of town, and were given a free upgrade. We Definitely will stay again soon! Plus a nice pool, and continental breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Downtowner isn't the kinda place that is going to make you forget 5 star resorts but it will provide a clean bed at a hotel that is located right in the middle of town. The rooms are older and pool atrium will harken back to hotels from the a bygone era - and I kinda liked that about this place. As long as the price was a reasonable as it was when we stayed, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

After years at The Adelphi, the closure for the season made me look at alternatives. I chose the right one. The location, the parking (Excellent for a downtown location), and the staff were a delightful experience. Pricechopper right out the back door, Uncommon Grounds out the front door left to Putnam Mkt and Compton's, right to all kinds of clothing stores. And the Racetrack, down Phila St., right on Nelson, left on Lincoln (stop for a martini at Siro's) and a twenty plus minute stroll gets you to the best throughbred track in the world. Whether you go is up to you, I know I will return. KJ

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The location is amazing, right in the middle of the strip. The price was great to. The Motel is a little old but very clean. The staff is friendly. Nice continental breakfast. Will definitely stay there again. My only complain was the parking. The main parking was full so we were told to park in the public parking right behind the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed here in the month of May so we had no need for A/C. Inquire about the air conditioning, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannah
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Being the week before the track season, made this a good deal. It is in the middle of Broadway which is downtown. It is an old motel but clean, fairly quiet, and safe. We were happy to get an interior room. A few updates like regrouting the bath would make this a real deal but we would still go back again. Professional staff at the desk, for the most part. Continental breakfast was okay with cinnamon bread, bagels, English muffins, juice, coffee, tea and some fruit. Parking is free and you will not have to drive anywhere. There was a refrigerator and a new petite upscale Price Chopper just two short blocks away. Walk to many restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: We liked the interior rooms. There is an indoor pool right out our door. But closed at 8:30. Quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Saratoga Downtowner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saratoga Downtowner Motel

Address: 413 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Saratoga Downtowner Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saratoga Downtowner is located in the heart of beautiful downtown Saratoga Springs, New York among wonderful shops, fine restaurants, and great nightlife. The property extends a friendly, personal, and relaxing atmosphere that only a family-owned and operated business can provide. The Downtowner's enclosed Atrium, complete with lovely plants, creates a comfortable social area that surrounds a heated swimming pool. For your summertime pleasure, the Atrium roof retracts to let the sun in! The Saratoga Downtowner takes great pride in providing clean, pleasant, and updated rooms, which have earned AAA approval for 35 years! Discover the convenience of being in the center of the city. Saratoga Downtowner's location and service set the property apart as the place to stay. Wake up and enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast or help yourself to coffee or tea anytime. The Saratoga Downtowner is a bit of a throw-back, adding great character to the place. The word "kitchy" is often used by the wonderful guests. The majority of rooms have direct access to the courtyard and indoor swimming pool. All rooms feature individually controlled heating and cooling, a full bath, and expanded cable television. The Saratoga Downtowner is a completely smoke-free property. Complimentary wireless internet is also available throughout the building. The Downtowner offers accommodations for all seasons in Saratoga Springs, a small city rich in history. Throughout the year, the Downtowner offers great deals and special events your family and friends will enjoy! The Downtowner's friendly, caring owner-management will help you plan whatever you'd like to see and do. Experience Saratoga Springs, New York lodging at the Downtowner, and see why so many visitors prefer the Saratoga Downtowner to any nearby Saratoga Springs hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Saratoga Downtowner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratoga Downtowner Hotel Saratoga Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saratoga Downtowner Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.