We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saratoga Downtowner Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Saratoga Downtowner Motel to your Saves list
Saratoga Downtowner Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   413 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Seneca Falls
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“very special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

we found this hotel from the internet. Glad we did. The owner happened to be out planting flowers, in the pouring rain, and introduced herself to us, which I thought was great. Extremely outgoing and her staff was just as friendly. Rooms were very clean--and the location was perfect. I would without a doubt stay here again. Highly recommend the Saratoga Downtowner Motel.

Room Tip: choose a room on the side of the Main Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    71
    25
    18
    8
See reviews for
42
56
23
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Saratoga springs - Downtowner.
Dated Motel which was clean and well situated in centre of town.
Free parking , wi fi and indoor pool.
Helpful staff and great location.
In the centre of a busy town!

Best value for money.

Room Tip: In the centre of a busy town
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were traveling to Saratoga to take care of business at the racetrack. We chose this hotel due to location & great off season rates. Front desk representative was very accommodating & friendly from the second we walked in. Check in was easy & we found the room was clean & met our basic needs for 2 night midweek stay.Inroom fridge was a nice touch.Indoor pool was not a draw for us, but it seemed to be well kept. Although the hotel seemed to have numerous guests, we did not have an issue with excessive noise. It was more like live and let live. I had no problem taking a nap in the afternoon after an early AM at the track. Some guests were workers from the construction site across the street & didn't spend much time at the hotel. Hotel management did have signs up about quiet time-they cannot be accountable for rude guests, they are everywhere you stay-it's part of travel life-but we experienced none here. The light breakfast was fresh and sufficient. Don't expect a 5star resort for this price and then you won't be disappointed. Our stay was very pleasant & we would stay there again.

Room Tip: choose a room with indoor access for better use of the facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, RI
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We spent the weekend here and dispite all the negative stuff found here this hotel was great, the staff fantastic and the other bad reviews wrong.....our small group is already planning on returning, the breakfast was light but I did not expect a major one, Bagels, Muffins and juice and other finger foods set us up for a great lunch in town which was 40 feet away

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor in the back, 108, 111
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

On my first trip to Saratoga, I picked the most ideal location possible. It was awesome in the heart of downtown.

The staff was very friendly and my guestroom was very clean. On my next visit to Saratoga this will be my choice!!!!

PS - free coffee and breakfast too,

Room Tip: Request the great balcony rooms! What a great view and relaxing environment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Saratoga Downtowner Motel April 30-May 2, 2013. We had read the reviews based on cost and location while ignoring numerous reviews about noise and the homeless who loiter around this Motel. In terms of the noise, the management of the Motel make efforts by placing various signs on doors and walls that "noise" must be curtailed by 10pm. Of course, those signs appear on an 8x11 page in 12 point font. Most patrons seem to ignore these signs. Furthermore, patron's inconsideration and bad behavior are paramount in this Motel. The acoustics of the inner building echoes and also amplifies conversations across the motel. Folks weren't yelling, but normal conversations are amplified. In addition, doors slam shut rather than closing quietly. In my 60 years, this is the worst Motel that I have frequented.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

It is 4:52am as I lay awake listening to party goers next door as I have been since 2:30am. Room is very dated, clean but in need of renovating and the bed is hard. The front desk staff were pleasant. The location is great for a visit to downtown Saratoga. If you are thinking of sleep or a a fun getaway with a family and kids don't stay here

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saratoga Downtowner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saratoga Downtowner Motel

Address: 413 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#12 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Saratoga Downtowner Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saratoga Downtowner is located in the heart of beautiful downtown Saratoga Springs, New York among wonderful shops, fine restaurants, and great nightlife. The property extends a friendly, personal, and relaxing atmosphere that only a family-owned and operated business can provide. The Downtowner's enclosed Atrium, complete with lovely plants, creates a comfortable social area that surrounds a heated swimming pool. For your summertime pleasure, the Atrium roof retracts to let the sun in! The Saratoga Downtowner takes great pride in providing clean, pleasant, and updated rooms, which have earned AAA approval for 35 years! Discover the convenience of being in the center of the city. Saratoga Downtowner's location and service set the property apart as the place to stay. Wake up and enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast or help yourself to coffee or tea anytime. The Saratoga Downtowner is a bit of a throw-back, adding great character to the place. The word "kitchy" is often used by the wonderful guests. The majority of rooms have direct access to the courtyard and indoor swimming pool. All rooms feature individually controlled heating and cooling, a full bath, and expanded cable television. The Saratoga Downtowner is a completely smoke-free property. Complimentary wireless internet is also available throughout the building. The Downtowner offers accommodations for all seasons in Saratoga Springs, a small city rich in history. Throughout the year, the Downtowner offers great deals and special events your family and friends will enjoy! The Downtowner's friendly, caring owner-management will help you plan whatever you'd like to see and do. Experience Saratoga Springs, New York lodging at the Downtowner, and see why so many visitors prefer the Saratoga Downtowner to any nearby Saratoga Springs hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Saratoga Downtowner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratoga Downtowner Hotel Saratoga Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saratoga Downtowner Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.