We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean lodging at a great price.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saratoga Downtowner Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Saratoga Downtowner Motel to your Saves list
Saratoga Downtowner Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   413 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
A TripAdvisor Member
“Good, clean lodging at a great price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I decidec at the last minute to visit my son at Skidmore College and to my delight I found the Downtowner where my room was clean, at a great downtown location and warm, helpful staff.
I look forward to going back.

SR

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    76
    26
    18
    10
See reviews for
45
59
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Arlington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I've stayed at the Downtowner a few times, now and it is a good value. It's clean and it's in a great location. The amenities are basic, but the place feels well maintained. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. There is not enough parking, so be prepared to find parking elsewhere, but we've never had a problem finding a space close by. It was one of the worst showers I've ever experienced, but that was my only real complaint.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Needing to make a quick trip to Saratoga, I was looking for a clean, low rate place to stay in the downtown area. The Saratoga Downtowner was perfect. This is a well maintained motel style facility right in the heart of the city. The rooms, baths, and public areas are clean and offer all of the basic amenities expected for a comfortable stay. The front desk is manned 24 hours and the attendants on duty during my stay were very personable and enthusiastic when answering my questions and providing assistance. They have an informative website ... check it out. I would stay at the Saratoga Downtowner again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorheesville, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We've stayed at the Downtowner every time we visit Saratoga. It's situated right in the heart of the city and a quick stroll to all our favorite spots. The owners are hospitable and make us feel right at home. They share our love of dogs as all in Saratoga do.

Thank you Mary Kay and staff!

Room Tip: We personally like the rooms facing Broadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I used Hotwire for a one night stay in Saratoga Springs. I had never been to Saratoga Springs, so I didn't know what to expect. I was so pleasantly surprised by this place. It has a great location on the main street, right in the middle of the shops and restaurants. It is not a new, modern glitzy hotel, but it is clean and comfortable. The front desk staff is terrific. I had what I thought was a problem with a lock and when I went to the front desk, someone came with me back to my room. Any question I had was immediately addressed - unlike many hotels I have stayed in, where you could wait forever for someone to help you. There is an indoor pool area with tables so you can bring in food and eat if you choose not to eat in a restaurant. There is a small continental breakfast with pastries, bagels, croissants and really good coffee. If I was staying for a few days, the only thing I wish they had was a small refrigerator in the room and maybe a microwave. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If outside noise bothers you, you might want to request a room that doesn't front the main stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

The rooms were from hunger. This motel smack dab in the middle of Saratoga Springs couldn't have been more convenient, and the staff was very nice, but the rooms were seriously uncomfortable - cheap, uncomfortable mattresses, serious dust behind the beds and nightstand, rusty fixtures in the bathroom.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We recently stayed at the Downtowner for a family weekend and had a great stay. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. It was a great and affordable way to enjoy a ritzy Saratoga weekend. Our daughter loved the pool too! A nice addition to a cute hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saratoga Downtowner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saratoga Downtowner Motel

Address: 413 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Saratoga Downtowner Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saratoga Downtowner is located in the heart of beautiful downtown Saratoga Springs, New York among wonderful shops, fine restaurants, and great nightlife. The property extends a friendly, personal, and relaxing atmosphere that only a family-owned and operated business can provide. The Downtowner's enclosed Atrium, complete with lovely plants, creates a comfortable social area that surrounds a heated swimming pool. For your summertime pleasure, the Atrium roof retracts to let the sun in! The Saratoga Downtowner takes great pride in providing clean, pleasant, and updated rooms, which have earned AAA approval for 35 years! Discover the convenience of being in the center of the city. Saratoga Downtowner's location and service set the property apart as the place to stay. Wake up and enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast or help yourself to coffee or tea anytime. The Saratoga Downtowner is a bit of a throw-back, adding great character to the place. The word "kitchy" is often used by the wonderful guests. The majority of rooms have direct access to the courtyard and indoor swimming pool. All rooms feature individually controlled heating and cooling, a full bath, and expanded cable television. The Saratoga Downtowner is a completely smoke-free property. Complimentary wireless internet is also available throughout the building. The Downtowner offers accommodations for all seasons in Saratoga Springs, a small city rich in history. Throughout the year, the Downtowner offers great deals and special events your family and friends will enjoy! The Downtowner's friendly, caring owner-management will help you plan whatever you'd like to see and do. Experience Saratoga Springs, New York lodging at the Downtowner, and see why so many visitors prefer the Saratoga Downtowner to any nearby Saratoga Springs hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Saratoga Downtowner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratoga Downtowner Hotel Saratoga Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saratoga Downtowner Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.