We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Saratoga Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Saratoga Springs to your Saves list
Residence Inn Saratoga Springs
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   295 Excelsior Avenue, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great value and wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The room was recently renovated, though not in the jewel tones I love in some of the other Marriott Residence Inns; however, the super friendly staff, freshly baked cookies, great breakfast buffet with plenty of healthy choices, and in-room gas fireplace made our stay just wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovate room as all of them have not yet been done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    35
    9
    5
    10
See reviews for
43
24
6
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

My husband is here on business. Yes, I am writing this review from my hotel room, December 4, 2013. We will be here until mid December . . . . unfortunately.

My husband travels up to 80% of the time for business, so I know the difference between a nice hotel room and a not-so-nice hotel room.

We've had a couple of issues with plumbing and the staff (front desk and maintenance) responded and are very polite and competent. One thing we mentioned, that has been overlooked, is the fact that even housekeeping commented how "sad" our pillows are. My husband mentioned it to the front desk at the same time that he mentioned our plumbing problem and the pillow issue was ignored and just laughed off.

The bed, as one other guest mentioned, is waaaaaaaaaay too small for two people, so I too am sleeping on the couch. A filthy couch. Stains on both sides of the cushions. The cushions are also flat and the couch is not fit for sitting on. The roll-away inside the couch, however, is quite comfortable, but the bag of bedding left in the closet is filthy. There are long black hairs and short, coarse hairs on the blanket (ICK!). To remedy this, I am going to wash the blanket/sheets, myself, today. The contrast in color between the sheets in the bag o' bedding and the sheets on the bed is disgusting too. The sheets/pillowcases are noticeably gray.

The bathroom is in need of a facelift. The tub is chipped and the tile is cracked. The toilet would not stop running, but maintenance was quick to remedy the toilet problem. Thank you, maintenance!

The carpeting in the room looks grimy. I'm afraid to walk on it with my bare feet. Fortunately, I brought lots of socks and house slippers.

The kitchen floor has a spill on it that hasn't been cleaned and I don't assume it will be. Housekeeping (although they were very pleasant and friendly) were in and out of our room in five minutes. They threw out trash, replaced towels and made the bed. The dirty carpet was not vacuumed (not that it would help) and the floor was not mopped. They left no coffee and did not empty the coffee pot. My guess is that it's not part of their job duties since it IS a "Residence Inn."

Most Residence Inns are pretty stingy with paper towels (weird) and I have to yell at my husband to use Kleenex to blow his nose instead of toilet paper (what it's for anyway) because they are a little stingy with the toilet paper too. It wouldn't be an issue, but I am in the room almost all day.

Renovation is still going on in this hotel, but it has moved from the 4th floor to the second, indicating that they are done with the 4th floor. I wish they would renovate the rooms too instead of just the common areas. Our room is in very sad shape.

I wish I could give a better review because the staff members are really nice, but the room condition is disgusting and the staff's ability to help is limited.

I like to try to find good in all places I visit and make the best of my stay, but this hotel is less than adequate.

Room Tip: If you are able, get a larger room. If you are planning to sleep two people to a room, you WILL nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stumbled upon this hotel when deciding to split our drive from Buffalo to Vermont during the Thanksgiving holiday. The rooms were recently remodeled and were beautiful! I was impressed with the size of the rooms and the comfort of the beds and even the pullout couch where my teenager slept. The beds were exceptionally comfortable, the hotel was quiet and clean everywhere. The breakfast was probably the best complimentary hotel breakfast we've ever had. The evening front desk clerk was friendly and accommodating and helped us to search for the best price for our room. Great place!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This place is a little out of town and right next to the highway. The accommodations are very clean. The rooms are spacious and the kitchenette is well stocked with the kitchen wares you'll need for staying at home and cooking.

The breakfast was warm and plenty full.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veldhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I've visited the Residence Inn multiple times during my frequent business trips to Saratoga Springs.
The rooms are big and clean and it's very convenient to have a kitchen ... even though I must admit I didn't prepare any food except the ( complimentary ) pop corns...

The breakfast is free of charge, you can make your own pancakes ( that's the only food I'd eat as I don't really like the rest ). Four times a week there are "social events" where complimentary food is served.... nothing to write home about, but sometimes it comes handy if you don't feel going downtown for grabbing your dinner .

The location is closer to the highway exit, which means you have to drive to go downtown ( or anywhere else ).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This Residence Inn seems newer and is nice. It looks to be right alongside the main road right off the highway, but is actually on a parallel side street. When I stayed there was a ferocious amount of construction on the main road, and it took almost half an hour to get from the exit ramp to the hotel, even though I was in front of the hotel most of the time. Not the hotel's fault, of course, but it was a tough way to start. Plus, the construction started at 3 AM and I faced the highway so it was noisy... a temporary situation I know, but it made sleeping difficult

My suite was nice, and it was clean and quite comfortable. I was visiting Skidmore, which was just minutes away and the location was perfect for that. The rate was good. I missed the evening reception and thought that the breakfast was fair enough, especially for the rate I paid. I would stay again. Safe and clean.

Room Tip: Away from the main road and highway is surely quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Having stayed here multiple times, this Residence Inn makes others pale by comparison. The staff is friendly, attentive, and goes out of their way to make you feel welcome and valued. The general manager's office is always open, and he takes an active interest in each guest. The breakfasts and evening socials are presented nicely and offer a wide variety of options. The hotel is conveniently located to downtown and the Northway. The hotel is currently undergoing complete room renovations which will only add to its appeal..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Saratoga Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Saratoga Springs

Address: 295 Excelsior Avenue, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#8 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Saratoga Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Saratoga Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratoga Springs Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Saratoga Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.