We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hattie's

Hattie's
45 Phila St, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-3211
518-584-4790
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Maryland
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

There is a lot of hype surrounding Hattie's, which we fell right into. It is not a bad place, simply not as good as the hype. I found it outrageous to have to pay for gravy for the mashed potatoes. Why not just sell mashed potatoes with gravy?

The fried chicken was good, but needed more spice. It was cooked well.

Our server kept forgetting to bring a beer, which got annoying. She was nice, but became overwhelmed.

Get there when it opens, as it fills up!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    94
    61
    29
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hattie's has lost it's soul”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Specialty food, like southern fried chicken, that is average rates a poor review in my book. The menu is uninspired. The gravy had no flavor whatever. All would be tolerable if it hasn't lost that "feel". I was socked to see Hattie's in rt 50 dwelling among McDonald etc. Commercial and it feels it -- right to its bones on Phila St where we ate and were served by its all white staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bland food, poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Went for dinner for my son's birthday in May. I have eaten at many Southern/Louisiana style restaurants including the famous Sylvia's in Harlem and Emeril's in New Orleans. I grew up on Southern cooking. This wasn't it. The macaroni and cheese was supposed to have several cheeses in it -- it was just watery and bland macaroni. The chicken was greasy and tasteless. The vegetables lacked flavor. The collard greens tasted like medicine. On top of a disappointing meal, the waiter messed up my bill and I was charged twice, causing a problem with my bank account. When I contacted the manager, I was foisted off the "accountant". She was rude and condescending to both myself and my bank representative. She eventually stopped taking our calls and the issue was never resolved. Go elsewhere, this place may have once been great but the new management does not live up to the hype.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston,MA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not the best choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I wish we had eaten at one of the other restaurants in downtown Saratoga Springs. Hattie's is famous for its fried chicken but we found it lacked taste and was simply very greasy. We should have gone to one of the other (though more expensive) restaurants up the street and enjoyed a more flavorful and varied dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranac, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My sister & I were spending a day in Saratoga "exploring" things we had never seen or done before. Neither of us had been to Hattie's and we were curious to try especially since they had beaten Bobby Flay in the first chicken throwdown. We know why he was beaten. A light, not spicy, crispy coating, fried to a golden brown covered moist, juicy meat. We also had the beignets which were, warm, light yeasty & coverd with powdered sugar. We ate at the "branch" establishment near Wilton Mall. The service was prompt, pleasent & helpful; the employees busy...no texting or cell phones; and the establishment very clean & neat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hattie's also viewed

Saratoga Springs, NY
Saratoga Springs, NY
 
Saratoga Springs, NY
 

Been to Hattie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hattie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.