We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ravenous

Ravenous
21 Phila St, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-3104
518-581-0560
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Creperie
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Saratoga Springs NY
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Simple and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Though I've lived a few miles from this restaurant for many years, I've never tried it until my wife, the Amazing Max, took me there for my birthday. The ambience is quite spartan, with simple wooden tables and chairs and exposed brick and terra cotta colored walls. But it's comfortable and the cheery waitress answered all our questions and told us about the day's special.

Max chose the Bretagne and I had the Taj Mahal and of course we shared. Both were yummy and though the serving was large, it wasn't overly filling, because crepes don't dominate the flavors the way bread can. The fries were some of the best I've ever had, crisp on the outside and with the dipping sauces, it brought back memories of Amsterdam and their delicious mayonnaise based frites dipping sauces.

Beer selection is limited but great choices that will satisfy any thirst. I highly recommend ravenous for a taste experience that is both different and satisfying.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    45
    13
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Orange, NJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sweet or Savory? I'll have BOTH!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

After my daughter's interview at Skidmore, one of the Admissions staff recommended this place, and we're so glad she did! Cozy little dining room -- it was packed with happy diners on a Saturday afternoon. Appears to be supremely kid friendly. When we got our table, were bowled over by the divine sounding savory crepes -- and they tasted as good as their descriptions! Frites to die for, also. Did someone tell me they were fried twice to be so crispy and light? And then, there are the sweet crepes, and don't forget coffee au lait in a giant bowl, ala Paris. Wonderful, enthusiastic waitress who was keen to share her own personal faves with us, upon request. If our daughter goes to Skidmore, this is bound to become our new home-away-from home. They might even not mind if we practice upon them our pitiful French!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great Crepes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Went here with a large group Sunday of Parents' Weekend at Skidmore College. The food and service were outstanding. They were flexible and allowed us to design a crepe that was not on the menu. The prices were very reasonable a well! Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAMFORD
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Savory or Sweet, delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I read the reviews on TripAdvisor and decided to try this creperie. It's off on a side street in downtown Saratoga Springs, but there's a parking garage across the street. At 6:30 on a Tuesday, there were only four people in the place so getting in was not a problem. We ordered one savory crepe (with goat cheese, grape tomatoes and fresh basil) and one sweet (a lemon curd filling with powdered sugar on the outside. Both were delicious. A bit pricy, but how often are you going to try something like this. (The other family were celebrating their son's birthday (5 or 6) and thought it was a wonder way to celebrate.) Worth the visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The best crepes in Saratoga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We went here for dinner & had a coupon, no idea what to expect. Showed up at 7PM (they close at 8) and had the place to ourselves. So, of course, the service was super attentive! Watched the crepes being cooked as we waited, and had one of their specialty iced teas. Had 2 of their savory crepes and they were amazing! We live near Saratoga & had never been here before. It doesn't look like much from the outside, and it's not too big inside, but if it's crepes you seek you will love this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ravenous also viewed

Saratoga Springs, NY
 
Saratoga Springs, NY
 

Been to Ravenous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ravenous, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.