We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kind of expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Leon's

Leon's
135 Crescent St, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-5004
(518) 587-2346
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Penfield, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“kind of expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We tried this mexican restaurant during off racing season and found the very high priced for what you received. Drinks were costly as well, nice atmosphere, food was a little on the dry side, but we couldnt get away from the high prices, so we ordered very little and had to split a dish.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    19
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niskayuna, New York
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Hard to find better around this area ! It's a little secret to find this place. I had to have people who moved to this area tell me about it, so now we drive up from Albany every chance we get ! Rachel Ray even has a dish on the menu! Always fresh , always great !

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Mex Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

For great mex food, chips and salsa, friendly service.. this place has it all and prices are great too. I have got the items recommended by the TV cook a couple times and was not disappointed. One time I tried the flaming fajita and it ended up burnt so I wouldn't suggest that.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great food, stingy management..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This place is great although management can be stingy, so they lose a star for that! Food is great, drinks are delicious, and service is usually good... Except for the one time I had a waitress who was more interested in taking smoking breaks than serving. However, they often try to get out of allowing you to use a coupon, which is ridiculous. One time I had the coupon on my phone and the manager wouldn't let me use it because I hadn't printed it… Just seems weird for a small, locally owned restaurant. It was a small coupon and we were spending a lot of money so it was pretty insulting. In addition, they charge you $1 for more salsa or chips, which just seems silly. Overall, still a great option in Saratoga!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food in Saratoga.... Near the track !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Best cevechi only if Aly makes it with a touch of pineapple juice ! Really enjoyed this place numerous times during 2012 Racing Season. Took the kids, family, friends.... And our sitter who live in the area and never had been there. She is now a regular! Has been featured on Rachel Ray... And is still going strong. Great casual Place after the races.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leon's also viewed

Saratoga Springs, NY
 
Saratoga Springs, NY
Saratoga Springs, NY
 

Been to Leon's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leon's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.