We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but weird seating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Corner Cafe

Country Corner Cafe
25 Church St, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-2131
+1 518-583-7889
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner, Café, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: HOMESTYLE COMFORT FOOD made with the freshest ingredients will warm the heart and soul. The areas largest selection of BREAKFAST options featuring Omelettes, Breakfast Sandwiches and Wraps, Eggs Benedict, Pancakes, French Toast, Potato Pancakes and Vegan Specialties. For LUNCH, Hearty Soups made daily, creative Sandwiches, Panini's and Crisp Salads. Family Friendly Childrens Menu. Take-out available. OPEN 7 Days. NEWNow Serving Beer, Wine, Mimosa's and Bloody Mary's!
Saratoga Springs, New York
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good food but weird seating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Came here for the first time on a busy Saturday morning. The first thing that was weird was that there were 2 seperate dining rooms with 2 totally different seating lists. The second thing that was weird is that there is no hostess, instead you put your name on a white board and have to wait for your name to be called in a cramped area. The specials menu had some great choices on it and which tempted me to get one of them. It was excellent and hit the spot. Overall it was a great choice for breakfast and look forward to coming back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    27
    10
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Frustrating service and average food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This place has a ludicrous system of seating people. There are two dining areas located through different entrances. Each entrance have a chalkboard you sign up to be seated on. Naturally everyone signs up on both in an effort to be seated asap. The waitresses just end up shouting name after name looking for whos left on the street.

The food was just ok. Standard breakfast food along with some weird specials. The omelet looked gross and tasted like nothing. The home fries were bland and you only get one piece of toast cut in half.

The service was average and I had to ask 3 times for a glass of water.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont
1 review
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Went here on the 4th of July, and had a great experience. My buddy and I are in town this week for the Phish shows and needed to find a great local joint. First off, i wasn't expecting too many places to be open today considering the holiday, but they were serving until noon (normal hours 7-2, i think). I had the Swedish pancakes with eggs and bacon while my friend had one of their Benedict's. the Benedict was something i had never heard of. it was on top of two potato pancakes with roasted red peppers and scallions in them (Yum!) My Swedish pancakes were amazing! The added sweetness and the oatmeal was a great twist. i opted for the real maple syrup, considering it was only a little bit extra, and i didn't want to ruin the pancakes with the imitation kind. Growing up in Vermont, that is considered a sin. I was glad they even had the option of the real stuff, because i cant think of too many places who even go out of there way to offer that, considering that its crazy expensive. the Waitress told me her husband was involved in producing the New York pure maple syrup, which i thought was really interesting and unique that they use locally made things like that. Had a great time chattin it up with the waitress and told her if we are physically able to make it back one of theses days after the concerts we definitely would. the whole time we were there we got the vibe it was the local place to be, and that's exactly what we wanted!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
“Nickle and Dimed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I used to love this place, but somewhere along the line, they lost their way. They now charge for maple syrup and give it to you in a plastic container resembling a pee cup. For god's sake, increase you prices on your pancakes if you need to, but do not limit ration my syrup. That, and the food has really gone down hill in the bast 12-24 months.... Will never go back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast with bugs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

Ate here on5/26-12. Had to kill an ant while walking up stairs.had to wait along time for waitress. Then waited long time for average at best food Over ten min wait for check. Saw over 1/2 dozen ants on walls and floor. Will never go back

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Country Corner Cafe also viewed

Saratoga Springs, NY
Saratoga Springs, NY
 
Saratoga Springs, NY
Saratoga Springs, NY
 

Been to Country Corner Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Corner Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.