We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we found the deck” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maestro's at the Van Dam

Maestro's at the Van Dam
353 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-3111
+1 518-580-0312
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Maestro's at the Van Dam is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Phila Street
Description: Great food, great hosptality, and a great new space. We feature a classic bar and lounge, beautiful dining room and an amazing raised terrace for outdoor dining right on Broadway. Everything we serve we make here. One of our new features are homemade sausages and burgers cooked over lump charcoal. Our mission is to "put the love on the plate". Our culinary team is the most talented and most passionate team in the area. Our service staff has the power to "just say yes" to all customer's needs and wishes. We also feature a great Chef's table that accomodates up to 14 people. A perfect setting for a celebration. We serve great food in a casual and fun atmosphere with no pretense and warm hospitality. Please understand absolutely no reservations are accepted on the outdoor terrace. Outdoor dining is on a first come first serve basis. Reservations made are for inside only.
Jefferson MA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Glad we found the deck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We took a chance and walked up on the deck and they found a table for two right at the railing. Besides watching the world walk by us on the sidewalk below we enjoyed the prix fixe for a great price and wide choices. We always make sure we order two different of everything so we can share. It was a great meal, great service and a we are glad we found the deck at Maestro's.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    118
    34
    31
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Gracious Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

A friend and I had dinner here recently. We opted for the front porch, which had a lovely ambiance, despite its proximity to the street. The service was impeccable, and the meal...delicious. I had a wonderful appetizer, with beef tips and beans, and then opted for the swordfish which was beautifully prepared. They brought us a cone of breads, all of which were very very good, and brought you a generous amount of chocolate with nuts with the bill, which helps with the sticker shock.
The wine list is impressive, and I also tried a bespoke gin and tonic, which was delicious as well.
The prices are quite high, but the quality is definitely there, so it's not a place to eat if you're trying to stretch your dollars.
Still, a very nice splurge, for sure.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterland, Ohio, USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Old style lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This place had a charming old feel to it. One of my Colleagues picked it on a recommendation from the hotel. It was a bit warm while we were there, so we chose to eat inside. The porch seemed really nice for people watching, but we were in suits and the inside AC was needed. The menu is pretty inclusive. You have a lot to choose from. I went with the Ahi ban mi sandwich. We also split some spring rolls that were pretty good, but not worth the price for lunch. The Ahi was good, but it was oddly covered in a panko breading that I must have missed on the menu. None the less, it was tasty.
Don't bother with desert, they will bring out a bowl of chocolate chunks with nuts. You get a piece on the house. Plenty for lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great place in the heart of the historic district”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Maestro's at the Rip Van Dam was a very good dining experience. The food and ambiance were excellent. Located in the middle of the historic district of Saratoga Springs, it is a very comfortable and upscale establishment. The menu is sophisticated and we found everything very well prepared.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Like Buttah!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Seriously ... my blackened swordfish was perfect! The ambiance, the staff, the menu, and the holistic graciousness are all a credit to this maestro's conducting. Bravo!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maestro's at the Van Dam also viewed

Saratoga Springs, NY
 
Saratoga Springs, NY
 

Been to Maestro's at the Van Dam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maestro's at the Van Dam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.