We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maestro's at the Van Dam

Maestro's at the Van Dam
353 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-3111
+1 518-580-0312
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Maestro's at the Van Dam is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Phila Street
Description: Great food, great hosptality, and a great new space. We feature a classic bar and lounge, beautiful dining room and an amazing raised terrace for outdoor dining right on Broadway. Everything we serve we make here. One of our new features are homemade sausages and burgers cooked over lump charcoal. Our mission is to "put the love on the plate". Our culinary team is the most talented and most passionate team in the area. Our service staff has the power to "just say yes" to all customer's needs and wishes. We also feature a great Chef's table that accomodates up to 14 people. A perfect setting for a celebration. We serve great food in a casual and fun atmosphere with no pretense and warm hospitality. Please understand absolutely no reservations are accepted on the outdoor terrace. Outdoor dining is on a first come first serve basis. Reservations made are for inside only.
Upstate New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

This is my favorite downtown restaurant by far. My favorite is the lobster macaroni and cheese. The price fixe menu is the best way to get a wonderful 3 course meal at a reasonable price. Their own flavorful bean spread is a nice start to the meal and the complimentary dark chocolate is a great way to end it, along with the french press coffee.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    185
    97
    28
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“arrogant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

i do not like to bad moth a resturant but the chef,i think standing in dinning room watching ever move we make is crazy.when we both got are meal my fish was under cooked,i ask to speak to owner who was the chef,he told me thats the way it comes.sorry good by never again.i guess if you have a degree you can act like that.

  • Visited September 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockport, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice meal on a cold night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

We spent one night in Saratoga Springs, the day after which they'd received quite a bit of snow and ice. We just walked down Main Street looking for a restaurant for dinner, and walked into Maestro's. Even on a very cold night, the room was warm and cozy. The menu had a nice variety, as did the wine list. When the wine we ordered wasn't available, we were offered another bottle that was higher priced at the same price as the original bottle, which was nice. They did stumble a bit on my salad, which was gritty (confirmed by my husband). Another salad was offered, and when I declined, the original was taken off the bill. Our entrees were great, as was the dessert we shared. The French press coffee was excellent. They are moving to a larger space next door in the next couple of months, and we look forward to stopping in during our next visit to Saratoga Springs.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Atrocious Restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

The service is appalling, the food is but ordinary and overpriced; owners (John LaPosta and Tina Kruger) are condescending, arrogant, and just downright rude people!! The wine list is very minimal with average wines.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Try the crab cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Small place but cute. They are moving their location which I assume is bigger. The menu is unique. Just beer and wine, not other alcohols. The food was good but a little expensive. The crab cake was very good. The dessert selection is very minimal. I’m not a huge bread pudding person but their bread pudding was soooo good. I would go back, they have a price fix menu for $25 a person which is a good deal.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maestro's at the Van Dam also viewed

Saratoga Springs, NY
Saratoga Springs, NY
 
Saratoga Springs, NY
Saratoga Springs, NY
 

Been to Maestro's at the Van Dam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maestro's at the Van Dam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.