We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of the good, Bit of the bad.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of PJ's BAR-B-QSA

PJ's BAR-B-QSA
1 Kaydeross Ave, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-8736
+1 518-583-7427
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
ct
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bit of the good, Bit of the bad.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Been to many places that do the 'Q'. N to S. BAR-B-QSA is a neat concept, but the product falls flat in both its' pedigree and its' presentation. Two sides picked, both were almost throwaway. The main course of Q; mediocre, and not even barely warm. Meh. Moderately overpriced and service was subpar. Whatever real Q that was here has departed the building, I'm afraid; and taken the magic that other reviewers mentioned before with it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at PJ's BAR-B-QSA, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
We appreciate your input, weekndflyer. Thank you for your feedback, as we value learning from our customers. We appreciate your business and hope you will join us in the future. – PJ Davis and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    37
    15
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kittery Point, Maine
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Really yummy place to go. I was in the area for 2 weeks and was able to sample a variety of items off the menu. The staff are pretty cool and helpful with selections.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at PJ's BAR-B-QSA, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thanks so much, lboogie757! We love hearing that our customers share our enthusiasm for great barbeque, and we're glad you were able to join us during your two weeks in the area. Thank you for visiting, and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you pass through town. Be sure to mention your review when you're here — we'd love to thank you in person! – PJ Davis and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great chicken and soda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Love this place. Look forward to it every year. the best buy is to get the whole BBQd chickens and take them home after the Track. Easy to order ahead while the horses are still racing, and pick them up on the way home. Also have local soda which is excellent.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at PJ's BAR-B-QSA, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you so much, Ellen. We're glad to be a part of your routine when you visit the track! We appreciate your business, and we look forward to seeing you again on race day. – PJ Davis and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Miss the old PJ's, but still good for a BBQ fix”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Hubby and I have made it an annual tradition to dine at PJ's on opening and closing day each season. In autumn 2011, PJ's as we knew it (a memorabilia-filled, old-school, drive-up summer joint) closed, and was reborn and reopened this past spring as the more modern, franchise-styled, year-round "PJ's BAR-B-QSA".

I think the intent of the long-time owners is to introduce patrons to various styles of barbecue (Carolina, Texas, charcoal vs. wood, rotisserie, etc.). In doing so, I think they have pulled some of the "standby favorites" off the outdoor grills and moved them indoors or to different cooking modes (e.g., the formerly amazing chicken, fall-off-the-bone tender with bits of beloved grill "char" is now done inside on a rotisserie), which is disappointing to the palate, and to the nose...not as much of that drool-inducing BBQ smoke filling the air as you drive by on busy Route 9!

Despite the sterile makeover of the facility itself (no more "Order #123 is ready to be picked up at the Fats Domino window!", nor ubiquitous oldies music and fun "baby boomer" timelines to read while you waited outside the walk-up windows), the food is still pretty solid, if a tad on the pricey side.

Hubby and I had always gotten the chicken-ribs combo dinners in the past. This time, embracing the new spirit of the place, we opted to share the "BAR-B-QSA Road Trip", which gave us an opportunity to sample all sorts of meats and cooking styles (NY chicken, Texas brisket, North Carolina pulled pork, Virginia sausage, and PJ's traditional ribs), plus 3 sides (we opted for the no-fail curly fries and cole slaw, and the AMAZING sweet potato casserole that has, I think, bits of orange rind and spices that make it double as a DESSERT!), two corn muffins, and an added beverage, all for about $25.

Food and vibe have changed somewhat, but we were happy with our meal (enjoyed outside...fortunately, the ample, informal picnic table area remains), and found it to still be a great place to satisfy that summer BBQ fix. Will look forward to having BBQ in the depths of our NY winters now, too!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJ B, Owner at PJ's BAR-B-QSA, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you so much! We’re excited you enjoyed your dinner with us and are happy to hear our sweet potato casserole was such a big hit. While we now barbeque our chicken indoors, it is not on a standard rotisserie roaster you’d find at a supermarket. Our model uses charcoal. Thank you for visiting us to satisfy your summer barbeque fix, and we look forward to seeing you again! – PJ Davis and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“The smell alone will make you go here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Passed this place on our way to stay in downtown Saratoga Springs. We noticed smoke coming from this BBQ shack. The smell of that smoke was awesome! We decided we had to go back one night for dinner. We arrived on a recent Sat. night and the parking lot was packed. We saw a line outside and almost didn't go in. We figured it would be too long of a wait. We waited outside and got some menu's. As we read the menu's we were very confused on what to order. The guy handing out the menu's explained the difference between Memphis and Kansas City ribs and pulled pork and NC pulled pork. You place your order at the counter and go outside or inside to find a table, then wait for your order number to be called. We stayed inside, but if you chose to sit outside, there was a someone spinning records and a live singer. Very good.

We had the NC pulled pork sandwich on kaiser roll, beef brisket on kaiser roll, both kinds of ribs, and fries. All were excellent and reasonably priced. A full rack of ribs was $20, a half $11. Both sandwiches were around $6.50 each. We also had the frozen custard for dessert. You have go next door for it. Very well priced and really good.

We really enjoyed our visit. This is really a roadside place so don't go expecting elegant dining. Get out your cutoffs and flip flops. We went there hoping to enjoy some good bbq and we got GREAT bbq. This place is definitely off the beaten path of downtown Saratoge Springs. If you want to dine with the hipsters, then go downtown. If you want finger licking good bbq, then this is your place. I only wish we lived closer!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJ B, Owner at PJ's BAR-B-QSA, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you so much, boysrus. We’re excited you enjoyed your dinner with us. We love hearing that our customers share our enthusiasm for great barbeque! Thank you for visiting, and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you pass through town. – PJ Davis and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PJ's BAR-B-QSA also viewed

 
Saratoga Springs, NY
 

Been to PJ's BAR-B-QSA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PJ's BAR-B-QSA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.