We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 5 year old and her friend had a great time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Children's Museum at Saratoga

The Children's Museum at Saratoga
69 Caroline Street, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
518-584-5540
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Children's Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This two-story fun and educational museum teaches children about science, history, community living and the arts through hands-on activities in a mock schoolhouse, fire department and bank and through challenges such as encapsulating themselves in a giant soap bubble.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“My 5 year old and her friend had a great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

It's a very hands on place for the kids. My guess is that it's good for under 10 years old. Staff was great. The hits for the girls were the dress up and theatre, the post office, and the diner.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    17
    8
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Potsdam, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our family loved it, with one small exception”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a great place for children...we were very happy to watch them enjoy themselves so much. We have 2 girls, ages 9 &5, and we went with another couple whose children are 3 &1. All the children had a great time, no matter the age. Our only complaint was that our kids loved the upstairs more than the downstairs, and we were only up there a short time when they announced that the upstairs was closing for a private pary. I really wish that they would have told us that when we arrived, so we would have known to go directly up there and then could have seen the downstairs exhibits later, when the pary was going on... major bummer to get kicked out of the upstairs. The kids were pretty disappointed about that.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a top-end fun time for the grandchildren. We totally enjoyed seeing the 2 kids (1 and 3) enjoy the many well designed and varied activity areas on two floors. The grandchildrens' parents (my son and his wife) simply said "we'll be back."

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun for children ages 1-8”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I went there when i was little about 2 years ago when i was 9 (sorry 2 yrs isnt in the option of the "when did you visit thing") And it was fun with my sisters lots of younger children and I honestly prefer the 2nd floor better then the first it had this little mini diner and a grocery store and bank etc. There were only two problems: 1- In order to enter this building it is 6-7$ for children under the age of 13 i think, i do not remember the fee for adults, 2- toys everywhere very messy kind of like a kids room. The staff does ask for the children to clean up the toys but they just pretend to then leave. I had fun and so did my sisters.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Lake, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great for younger kids and children with disabilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

It was a cold day today and we thought we would find a place to go where it was warm and our son wouldn't watch another movie stuck inside. Our 10 year old son has Down's Syndrome and he was ready to go out and do something! The museum has easy access and parking and the areas are well laid out inside. The museum has tips on how parents can interact with their kids and get the most out of the exhibits. We spent about an hour and a half and could have spent more time. He was excited to go out to lunch after too!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Children's Museum at Saratoga also viewed

 
Saratoga Springs, NY
Saratoga Springs, NY
 

Been to The Children's Museum at Saratoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Children's Museum at Saratoga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Children's Museum at Saratoga to your Saves list