We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ready Set BET” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saratoga Race Course

Saratoga Race Course
267 Union Ave., Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
518-584-6200
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This famed 350-acre racetrack features thoroughbred horseracing during its six-week season from late July through early September. Though one of the sport's premier events, the races often take second place to people-watching.
Shokan, New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Ready Set BET”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I was not familiar with horsetracks until this year. My boyfriend used to breed race horses and he wanted me to experience the beauty of these horses. We had a lot of fun and would be going back again when the season opens up again next year, The only thing missing from Saratoga is a vendor for FRIED DOUGH! I think that they had a vendor for everything else under the sun but that.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    146
    23
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York, United States
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very exciting place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Went there with the family: first time to see horse races, and we had great time! very exciting atmosphere, and if you put a dollar or two betting - it even boosting your excitement higher :-) very recommend this place..must be of course during racing season of course, which then > all the area's hotel prices are very high! (just mentioning...).

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Alot for a little”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

A wonderful way to spend the day. The great part about the race track is that you can spend as much or as little as you want. You can get free parking and bring in a picnic lunch and sit at the picnic table all day. Very cheap day out. Or you can buy a seat in the grandstands and watch the races in style.

Very clean and the staff is willing to help. I had never bet before on horses and they helped me through it. I started out with $20 for betting and left with $13. I had some exciting wins and great memories.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Summer Place to Be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Great way to spend a summer day. Fun and excitement.
Even if you're not a "race fan", the atmosphere is lots of fun.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fishkill, ny
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“One of the Best Sports Venues in the Country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Simply put; if you like horse-racing, you've got to go. The grounds are beautiful and you can get close to the horses and jockeys. The racing is very competitive and long shots come in quite often paying big bucks. You have a mixture of folks from all social and economic classes. The clerks are very nice when you bet. The infield of the track is gorgeous with the small lake and landscaping. Go when they have a steeplechase scheduled! One bad thing is the price of food and beverage. You can picnic though.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saratoga Race Course also viewed

 

Been to Saratoga Race Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saratoga Race Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.