We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small without being personal” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Saratoga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Saratoga to your Saves list
The Inn at Saratoga
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Small without being personal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Cabin fever hit and so we hit the road for an overnight getaway in chilly mid-February, and altogether found our stay at the Inn to be OK -- I wouldn't label it as "poor", but still really only should get 2 stars out of 5.

Room was large with a separate area with a desk and full-length mirror, which was nice. Furniture was old without having lots of personality, generally, so the overall impression is that it could use an upgrade. TV must have been over 20 years old, for instance.

At check-in, I asked the young woman at the desk if she knew an antiquarian bookstore in town I had heard of. She said "no" and didn't bother to try looking it up, or asking someone else -- seemed a strange lack of interest in providing service beyond the bare-bones of what was required.

Breakfast looked pretty sad -- I peeked into the crowded room and saw the low quality of the food and we decided to take off down the street to a cafe instead. Typical acrylic cases of low grade english muffins and pastries, boxes of cereal, and two warming trays that were empty but looked as if at one time had eggs and meat in them.

Overall wouldn't stay there again since in terms of service and quality, the things we hoped they would have, that are supposed to give an experience richness -- small scale of hotel should mean a personal experience, older building/furnishings should be full of character and of good quality. In our view, the inn fell short in both of these areas.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    65
    25
    21
    7
See reviews for
42
90
6
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Our stay here was very nice. The rooms are decorated with antiques and are very large. Water pressure is not so good. The bar was a nice surprise with live music and a friendly staff. Unfortunately our dinner was not nearly as good. I have been to many wonderful restaurants in Saratoga but dinner here was not one of them. On a positive side their holiday brunch is fantastic with so many options to choose from no one could possibly leave hungry.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

One week ago, I was so disappointed with the service when checking in I left. I am still being charged the full rate of the room!!!! What happened to "hospitality"?? There are several other wonderful hotels within walking distance (unless you like to walk 5 miles) that appreciate your business, and have a friendly staff. Dont waste your money here!!

Room Tip: Down the street at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tias, Manager at The Inn at Saratoga, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
In response to unaccommodating I did some extensive research into this issue as we pride our selves in great customer service, as you can see by other reviews. This customer cancelled a prepaid reservation made through epedia.com at 5:30 pm the day of arrival. They were informed there would be no refund as it was within the 24 hour cancellation policy. The customer then arrived at The Inn at 10:30pm to check in. We have a camera system behind the front desk that we use for training purposes. I reviewed the entire check in, or attempted check in, and found the desk clerk informed the guest that they would reinstate the reservation and get them checked in. The desk clerk did a wonderful job and did their best to accommodate the guest, and that is the extent of what I will say regarding this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was our first stay at the Inn at Saratoga. The staff was very friendly and polite. Our room was beautiful and clean. Great old furnishings. The king size bed and the linens even impressed my fussy wife! Even though the inn was full we were amazed at how quiet everything was. Great nights sleep! All this with a great location...we were there for the chowderfest and could walk to everything. It's right in town. Had dinner in the lounge which was also very good.
We frequent Saratoga often and will be staying here again!

Room Tip: The king size bed was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Very beautiful, old hotel. Stayed for only one night on our way back to Toronto after skiing in Vermont. Room was large and nicely furnished. We all liked the old style furniture with a lot of details. Kids were amassed with old peaces, felt like traveling back to the 18th century.
Bathroom large and well equipped. Beds are high and very comfortable.
Breakfast was good and included in the price.
Hotel is located in the center of Springs, so we had a very nice walk in the evening.
We would definitely stay in the same hotel again.

Room Tip: any room would do
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I visited the Inn with 3 other moms for a spa get-away weekend. We normally stay at a different place, but the reviews for this Inn suggested it was really special. The staff was very attentive and friendly. I didn't care for the room or amenities. Cheapish furniture, worn carpet, stale air. I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I really enjoyed being in this warm and charming Inn. It is well-located for convenience. I really liked being in a place well-designed for the business traveler, but appealing to the person who just likes to travel. The staff was extremely helpful. The breakfast was better than most. I often don't sleep well when I travel, and it is especially hard when I travel from West Coast to East Coast - no problem here at all. I slept very well. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Saratoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Saratoga

Address: 231 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#11 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Saratoga 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Saratoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Saratoga Hotel Saratoga Springs
Hotel At Saratoga
At Saratoga Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Saratoga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.