We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish Times for Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Irish Times - CLOSED

Irish Times
14 Phila St, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-3105
518-583-0003
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: AUTHENTIC IRISH PUB SERVING TRADITIONAL IRISH FARE
Morristown, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Irish Times for Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were seated on the upstairs outdoor dining area The waitress was very attentive and helpful
and the service excellent Had a corn beef Reuben sandwich and french fries, which was simply put delicious and the the fries were crispy and not greasy at all. Nice quiet sunny location for lunch

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    11
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Had a fun time at the Irish Times. Our waitress was prompt and courteous. The fish and chips dish was very generous...the fish was flaky and absolutely delicious. Also had a great turkey Reuben which was also delicious.

This is a casual, fun place and I would definitely go back. My rating was negatively impacted by the less than stellar condition of the restroom...could have been cleaner.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Too bad service was atrocious, the food was quite good!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A beautiful, multi-level pub. Great sandwiches and Irish breakfast, ok kid's meals.....a bit more thoughtful cuisine than most Irish pubs. Our server was a problem, he overcharged us by about 30%, mostly by charging us for drinks that came with kid's meals, refills we never asked for or got, etc.....and included the automatic tip for 6 people(we have three small kids). He presented me with a bill over $90 for lunch, and argued with us that drinks weren't included on kid's meals...while we were both looking at a bill that said they were....after 15 minutes and a nice discussion with a bartender, our bill was back where it should have been, about $55. They should get rid of this guy quickly, you can't run a business with service like that!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall R, Manager at Irish Times, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
I am sorry to hear of the poor service you received a week or so ago.I do apologize for this and it is unacceptable.I agree that we cannot run our business with such poor service.Could you please tell me the Day/Time you were here so I can investigate further.I will follow up with you after again.
Once again I am sincerely sorry for the poor experience and do hope you give us a second chance.

Niall Roche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Hill, Connecticut
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“On Irish time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Right from the start, the restaurant seemed disorganized as the hostess was nowhere to be found with people waiting for tables. When she did show up, she didn't show us to the table but told us to go upstairs and turn left and our table would be there. It was as a waiter pointed us to it. The waitress was doing her best but the food took forever. After an unreasonable wait, the irish nachos came out cold. The two ladies at the table next to us left about 5 minutes before their food came as they couldn't stand the wait. By the time our dinners came out we really just wanted to leave but they were delivered hot and were good but not worth the wait. The building is cool though with a nice outdoor area for dining.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Went back twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time there. The food was excellent and came out quickly. Get the dessert. The service was great and very friendly. You could sit outside on the rooftop terrace or inside. We didn't go to the bar but it had a good number of people there and looked well stocked.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irish Times also viewed

 
Saratoga Springs, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irish Times, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.