We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful train ride” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saratoga and North Creek Railway

Saratoga and North Creek Railway
26 Station Lane, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
877-726-7245
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic Railroads, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Saratoga & North Creek Railway offers passenger service between Saratoga Springs and North Creek, NY. With sightseeing excursions, special events and on-board dining, there is always something unique happening.During the winter months, the passenger service offers the Gore Mountain Snow Train with transportation to Gore Mountain Ski Resort as well as a host of activities for the non-skier to relieve cabin fever in the cold weather.Around the holidays, the railroad operates The Polar Express from Saratoga Springs - a magical round-trip journey to the North Pole. Cookies, cocoa and caroling elves delight young and old as the classic story comes to life.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A beautiful train ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

First you need to know I love train rides. We took this one in April prior to the tree getting their leaves. It was a pretty ride. The small town of North Creek was fun. Very very small town with no cell service. I would recommend going on a Saturday instead of Sunday. We went on Sunday and a fair amount if the shops and restaurants were closed.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    34
    8
    17
    25
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queensbury, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Polar express!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Took the kids on the Polar Express. It is worth it to pay for the 1st class seats. My son and daughter loved it.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Canceled themed train - reason sited: old trains employed by the line can cause danger passenger conditions”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I had planned a few days in Saratoga based around the a bunny express themed train set for April 5th. Made reservations, bought Amtrak tickets, put in for time off of work, etc. in preparation. My young child was very excited to go.

The railway website is relatively useless (as others have complained on TripAdvisor), so it kept reporting that no trains were available in April. I would check back every few days to see if the bunny train tix were finally available. I would get emails from the railway saying they were, but time after time, no luck.

Today I called the railway and learned that they just canceled the April 5th train. Naturally I was upset and asked why. I had two different representatives tell me that they were down a train because these "old trains can cause unsafe passenger conditions."

I'm upset for my child because he will be very disappointed to miss out on the experience, but certainly relieved that I didn't put him in harm's way by riding these faulty rails and trains. I recommend others avoid this "old and dangerous" railway as well.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“80th anniversary of the snow train”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Four of us signed up for this event which took place on March 1st, we left the Saratoga station on the 7:00 am train. The ticket price was only $19.34 pp and this also included 2 hours of tubing at Gore. We all had breakfast in the dome car while we enjoyed the beautiful scenery. I was surprised because the food was excellent and the portion size also. We were shuttled to Gore, it turned out to be a beautiful day, and we had a great time tubing. We ended up at the Copperfield for a quick snack and then got back on the 5:00 pm train. The train staff were all excellent, friendly and helpful. I honestly don't have a bad thing to say about this trip and I can't wait to go back to North Creek on this train again. Thanks for everything! Mark S. is a great Conductor and Sara thanks for all your help! You're the best!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Train was late again and Northpole Props are Cheap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Another bad trip on Saratoga Northcreek. Two years before the Northcreek early Fall trip was a disaster which was not limited to delays (no air conditioning, limited bathrooms, boring experience). As others have stated the hot cocoa was delayed and watered down, cookies hard, Northpole decorations included a few very fake looking cardboard props and six cheap floodlights.

How they have a 3.5 rating is beyond me?

This is an overhyped train ride that is a 1-2 star event.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saratoga and North Creek Railway also viewed

 

Been to Saratoga and North Creek Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saratoga and North Creek Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.