We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the Polar Express on the SNCR!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saratoga and North Creek Railway

Saratoga and North Creek Railway
26 Station Lane, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
877-726-7245
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic Railroads
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Saratoga & North Creek Railway offers passenger service between Saratoga Springs and North Creek, NY. With sightseeing excursions, special events and on-board dining, there is always something unique happening.During the winter months, the passenger service offers the Gore Mountain Snow Train with transportation to Gore Mountain Ski Resort as well as a host of activities for the non-skier to relieve cabin fever in the cold weather.Around the holidays, the railroad operates The Polar Express from Saratoga Springs - a magical round-trip journey to the North Pole. Cookies, cocoa and caroling elves delight young and old as the classic story comes to life.
Long Island, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“We loved the Polar Express on the SNCR!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This past Saturday we enjoyed our experience on the Saratoga Polar Express Ride with our family and friends. We were all pleasantly surprised at how wonderful it was and how great the employees were. They did an amazing job and looked like they were all enjoying their part of the show. The children in our group ranged from 1yo up to 7 yo. They loved every part of it as well as us adults. We were a little hesitant taking a 4 hour ride from Long Island but this was certainly worth the trip.

A couple of tips: we took the 5:30 train which I would highly recommend. The 7:30 was much more crowded and a parking lot disaster! The cars stretched out in a line all the way to the main road waiting for spots, which we were all in from the earlier show. We ran into people in our hotel that said it was a nightmare because it was so crowded and stated they would definitely do the 5:30 next year. You definitely need to arrive an hour before the 7:30 show, and maybe 20-30 mins for the 5:30 show.

Also, we chose the standard class seating which had comfy seats facing each other. We were so pleased we decided on the standard class because of the seating arrangement, and not to sit around the table. It was much easier for the kids to get up and dance with the characters and move around to see Santa and take pictures.

I've read reviews that people thought the North Pole lighting outside the train seemed fake, not to our children. Remember…this is for them not necessarily for us. They believe!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    24
    7
    16
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
freeport, ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointing experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Drove to Saratoga with great excitement for our ride on Polar Express. A 5 year old, a 7 year old, Mom, Dad and 2 Grandparents. Conductors were great and welcoming. Train was decorated nicely.
We had purchased 'Diamond' tickets and were assured we would sit together. When we boarded, we were not seated together. We were seated 4 on one side and 2 on opposite side, sitting with strangers. Much larger booths in the car had only 3 people sitting in them but when we asked about changing, we were told, sorry, assigned seating.
The 'cooks' on the ride were not very enthused or interactive, they seemed to just be going through the motions. The hot chocolate was fine and so was the cookie. ( singular, one cookie per customer, that's all you get)
Perhaps the most dissapointing of all was the North Pole. It was obviously flat cardboard or plywood, many of the lights were out, it was so poorly done that my 7 year old Ganddaughter knew it was fake in about 2 minutes.
Santa was not realistic looking. He had one elf with him who obviously wanted to be elsewhere.
The whole experience was below par. Our family loves all things Christmas and we love Saaratoga. We were hoping this could become a new family tradition but never again! I would not recommend this to anyone.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia area
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a Fall day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We spent a sunny late October day enjoying a trip on this wonderful train. We boarded in Hadley, NY, a few miles from Lake Luzerne. The first thing I noticed was the music of Ella Fitzgerald, Frank Sinatra and Nat King Cole on overhead system, a nice complement to the ambiance of the dining experience. The coffee was hot and the light breakfast fare was good. The train staff was attentive and knowledgeable. The ride to North Creek was scenic, however we were challenged to find things to do in North Creek during the 3 hour layover. It was rather cold the day we traveled and it appeared to be off season for visiting North Creek. Would we do it again. . . Yes.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medusa, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“The kids had fun, but quite expensive for what you got”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Since it was fairly booked, we got the lowest priced tickets...two adults and one child, $87.00. We were disappointed that we were asked for another $5.00 to park the car! The train moved very slowly through the dark. The only lights we saw during the trip were the headlights of cars. When we arrived at "The North Pole", the kids were very excited, but noticed that everything was fake. I would tell parents to take the kids to someplace they could see reindeer, etc instead. The whole train ride was an hour.
The actors were awesome, though.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinderhook, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We went on the polar express on sunday and just loved every min my so mom 3 year old and even my 5 month old holding the conductors hands as he sang to him we loved all of the staff hobo joe was great and even took a seat and told some jokes...we did ride in the diamond class and highly recommend doing so if you can spend the extra money after the ride we met the conductor in the loby and he sat and talked to us and held the baby...everyone was great and we will definitely be going back great job everyone!!!!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saratoga and North Creek Railway also viewed

 
Saratoga Springs, NY
Saratoga Springs, NY
 

Been to Saratoga and North Creek Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saratoga and North Creek Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Saratoga and North Creek Railway to your Saves list