We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your backpack-you'll want to buy something at every stop!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saratoga Springs Food Tours

Saratoga Springs Food Tours
Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
+1 518-306-7513
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the tastes of Saratoga while learning about what makes our area so special. Start at the famous Saratoga Farmers market and taste some of the mouth-watering cheeses, tapinades and home-made jams creatively produced by local food artisans. At the same time our experienced guides will tell you the inside history of Saratoga and the area’s farm community.
Ballston Spa, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bring your backpack-you'll want to buy something at every stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We're local to the area but still learned a lot about the city and its history. Great food sampling and really neat to interact directly with the owners and managers.
Tour begins at the Saratoga Farmers Market, which last year got beat out by only a few votes as the "Best Farmers Market in America". Get to talk to some of the farmers and vendors and get a different perspective of where your food comes from.
Some of the other highlights for us were a visit to the beautiful and historic Olde Bryan Inn, one of our favorite Saratoga eateries; the Saratoga Olive Oil Company for a delicious tasting of bread, oil and balsamic vinegars, and Betties Cupcakes to top it off.
Joe is an excellent and congenial guide. Well worth it, we highly recommend this tour to both locals and visitors.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marlboro, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Fun Afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We enjoyed the food tour over Memorial Day weekend. Joe our tour guide was friendly, knowledgeable and from the food samples we tried, he has good taste. We loved everything so much that we ended up buying almost everything we tried from amazing yogurt to some fresh made salsa, specialty Olive Oils and Vinegars. The farmers and storeowners are passionate about what they do and it shows in the products they create. The couple we took on the tour lives in the area and they enjoyed it so much that they will be returning to the places that Joe introduced us too. I recommend the tour it is a nice way to spend an afternoon and enjoy what the local area has to offer.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Saratoga Food Tour has fabulous food, entertainment and education”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

The food tour is a great way to explore Saratoga Springs. We've lived in the area for 15 years and discovered many new things on the tour. Joe is very knowledgeable about the history of the area and what's currently going on. From local maple syrup yogurt made from goats' milk to salsa, it covers a wide range of yummy treats and the local purveyors are fascinating to meet. This is a great way to learn about Saratoga and eat great food.

I've recommended this to others and plan to take out of town guests on the tour as well.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great way to spend an afternoon in Saratoga”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We enjoyed the tour tremendously and have already recommended it to our friends. Our guide, Joe, was extremely knowledgable and friendly. A truly unique experience of meeting local farmers and shopkeepers, hearing their stories and passions, and eating some amazing food!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
1 review
“A Great Adventure close to home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

My husband surprised me with this activity for our anniversary. We are both from Ballston Spa originally and thought this would be a nice reintroduction to Saratoga and the food scene. I cannot say enough about Joe and what a wonderful job he did. It was a mix of food, local farmers and vendors, local restaurants and history of the area. I was surprised by the places he took us and the people we met. Ive been up and down Broadway and never noticed these little gems, but I will be going back to them for sure!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saratoga Springs Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Saratoga Springs Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saratoga Springs Food Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.