We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and smoke free” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saratoga Casino and Raceway

Saratoga Casino and Raceway
342 Jefferson Street, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
518-584-2110
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Sports Complexes, Casinos & Gaming
Attraction details
Colchester, Vermont, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very clean and smoke free”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This was a slot casino only, but the slots were varied and even had some simulated tables. The club was also very clean, but we found the patrons a little older than we are used to. Most people in the casino were over 50. Not that it really mattered, but it is not a party place. The staff was considerate, and since it is non-smoking, you didn't leave smelling like a stale ashtray. It was a fun place for a few hours.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    65
    45
    18
    25
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Races”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Track & casino are kept up very nicely. Food buffet is very good and has lot's of great choices for everyone. The brunch buffet at the track/grandstand is even better and the view of the track is wonderful.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“civilized horse track”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We usually go to the track once or twice a year in Saratoga and occassionally in NJ.The atmosphere in Saratoga is much more laid back and low key than the other tracks.When people lose there is no outburst of outrage and profanities you hear elsewhere.The staff is friendly and efficient which makes for a pleasant experience!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fun place to play and visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

My wife and I have been here a few times while in the Saratoga area. The casino is not real big and is almost all slot machines but it is still a fun place if you like to play slots. We seem to have a little more luck here than in some of the other casinos we have been to, so that make it more inviting!! I enjoy watching the horse racing and usually place a few wagers on the ponies, although I prefer the thoroghbreds to the harness racing, but they run here into December. The times we have been here the parking is easy, it has not been difficult to find machines to play and it is smoke free. Staff is friendly and helpful when needed.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Okay to pass a couple hours.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

In town on business and popped into the casino for a couple hours one evening. It was staying in Albany and it's a quick 25 minute trip straight up the highway.

It's a small casino with a racetrack - which was not running when I was there so cannot comment. Casino is dark and packed with various slot machines and video poker. Not the latest and greatest machines, but a few good ones to play on for a while. I would say the newest ones they had were one such as The Hangover, Michael Jackson & Sex & The City. But only a few. Mostly older ones. No smoking in the casino by the way for you smokers. Still fun for a couple hours. I didn't win big, but did walk in with 80 bucks and out with 240 in about an hour, so overall a good trip.

Certainly couldn't see spending an evening here playing, but good for a quick trip.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saratoga Casino and Raceway also viewed

 

Been to Saratoga Casino and Raceway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saratoga Casino and Raceway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.