We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection with one exception” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, and Conference Center to your Saves list
Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, and Conference Center
500 Union Ave., Saratoga Springs, NY 12866   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Perfection with one exception”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2007

My family and I stopped in on our way to Lake Placid at around 6PM last summer. Even though the location of the hotel is not in town, for a one-night stop it was exceptional. When other hotels in town were booked full, we got an extremely nice KING LOFT room. It was more than spacious for our family of a 3 year old, 10 year old, & then-13 year old & two adults with an upstairs king bed & tv , downstairs sitting area with pull-out couch & tv, desk with internet access and great bathroom with large tub. The service was great. The restaurant was a tad slow and the food was average but besides that we loved our stay! If your willing to drive to town, I'd highly reccomend staying at this hotel.

  • Liked — the room and friendly service
  • Disliked — the restaurant
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    58
    12
    3
    11
See reviews for
49
117
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2006

My fiancee and I visited Longfellows through their "Romance" package. It was a wonderful, relaxing getaway from the delicious meal, our attentive and friendly waiter, tons of delicious food and wine selections, and a truly gorgeous loft style room. Even the continental breakfast the next morning was wonderful! We are very much looking forward to our wedding which is scheduled there for the fall of 2007.

  • Liked — The beautiful rooms and good food! Everything is so unique and clean.
  • Disliked — It is a little pricey.
  • Tips/Secrets — Make your reservations in person- its easier to decide on times, reservations, etc. when talking to a person.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2006

Had many family members from out of town staying there -- reservations were continuously mixed up and mismanaged. Staff accomodated and upgraded for rooms that had been booked months in advance, however upon returning home charged full price of upgraded rooms to credit cards and wrong rooms to wrong cards. Food was mediocre -- used to be much much better, have stayed many times for getaway weekends and enjoyed ourselves, but the last few times and couple of weddings we have attended topped with repeated poor customer service and attention to detail for my family has left a very bad taste -- Waitstaff, maids and bartenders were wonderful -- management could use a great deal of help and organization. Beautiful unique rooms, very clean, great continental breakfast, just dine elsewhere and don't book online at the hotel's website!

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2006

We recently tried to enjoy a nice dinner out, and our experience at Longfellow's was terrible. Our entrees were cold, the waiter was abrupt, and hostess wouldn't acknowledge that we wanted to talk to her about lack of decent food and service. There are many wonderful restaurants in the Saratoga area, this just happens to not be one of them.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2006

This hotel failed to fax confirmation of our visit and failed to confirm the booking via E-Mail
We had to cancel our stay in this Hotel due to there lack of customer service.
Upon ringing they where rude.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2006

If you are looking to stay off the main strip and closer to the lake this is the place for you. It was incredibly romantic and adorable. We loved it so much we had our wedding there.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2005

We're locals who needed a night away from the kids, the dog, and some Romantic time alone, And Longfellows was it. We did one of their packages with dinner and rooms. Start to finish we were thrilled with the New Loft rooms and the restaurant couldn't have been more romantic...especially near the fireplace. Just what the doctor ordered!

Stayed October 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, and Conference Center

Address: 500 Union Ave., Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#9 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, Hotel Saratoga Springs
Longfellows Hotel Saratoga Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.