We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been going for ages - the tradition continues” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adelphi Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saratoga Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Adelphi Hotel
Save
You added Adelphi Hotel to your Saves list
365 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866   |  
Hotel amenities
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Been going for ages - the tradition continues”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Every August during track season my husband and I spend three nights or more at the Adelphi. This time we went with his sister and her hubby. They loved it as much as we did. This is a hotel for people who are into the romance of the turn of the century, but who appreciate modern amenities, i.e. soft mattresses, new AC units and cable TV. All rooms are decorated with period antiques. Hotel staff is polite and efficient. Lovely breakfast is included. When the bar opens at 5 PM, complimentary cheese, fruit and crackers are served to accompany your cocktail. Dessert and coffee are available in the eveniing. Whether you prefer spending time inside or outside, there are a number of areas to relax in, each one more beautiful and interesting than the next. (The Piazza is my favorite.) The Adelphi is a feast for the eyes and for the imagination. I don't know what I would do if I couldn't get a room at this hotel. We are all booked for next August. (I am not an employee of the hotel, nor am I related to one.)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    22
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
12
29
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kilauea, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This landmark hotel has been a mainstay of many horse racing and other visitors of beautiful Saratoga Springs. The friendly accomodating staff offer over the top service. The buffett breakfast is fresh and diverse with delcious coffee and fine tea. Each room has a different theme or decor which is amply stocked with fine linens, comfortable beds and attention to cleanliness. There is a lovely pool surrounded by a natural shade garden and a charming courtyard for cocktails and dessert to enjoy after a long day of handicapping, shopping or sightseeing.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

My sister and I took a mini-Vacation to Saratoga Springs, NY in July. I did some research on the computer before we left, and we decided to stay at the Aldelphi Hotel. The location was perfect because it was right in the middle of downtown where all the shops and restaurants were. When we walked into the lobby we were surprised on how elegant it looked with velvet red couches and large plants everywhere. On some reviews I read that the minute you walked through the front doors you could smell how musty it was, but we did not experience that at all for an over 100 year old hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were put up in a gorgeous French Provencial suite with a very pretty sitting room, and had access to a private balcony that overlooked Broadway. The breakfast fare they served was delicious, and we had a wonderful time talking to the ladies that kept bringing out the yummy food. If you do go to this quaint hotel do not forget to go up to the top floor to see all the great antiques up there. We are definitely planning to come back to this hotel in a couple of years. The only thing wrong with this hotel was there was no parking lot, and it was very difficult to find a parking space in front of the hotel at night. I was fortunate enough to find parking within a block or two away each night. This hotel is definitely worth staying at when you are in Saratoga Springs, NY.

Room Tip: The French Provencial room was a very beautiful room overlooking Broadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We arrived in Saratoga Springs late afternoon . By chance, we walked into th Adelphi looking for accommodations. The staff at the front desk was very helpful and offered us a lovely suite on the second floor of the hotel with a balcony. After dinner we sat on the balcony and watched the crowds on the main street. This historic hotel has a nice pool in the back, offers a yummy continental breakfast (they also provide wicker trays so you can have your breakfast on the porch or near the pool). Linens were pristine. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stopped here on our way back home. On line, the look of the place intrigued us, but the experience was even better. The service and staff were also very friendly and accomodating. Great back yard area and pool, great breakfast. The rooms, lobby, elevator, even hallways were right out of a picture post card, but the updated air conditioning, plumbing, TV, all appreciated.
Don't go if you want modern, however.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

The service was exceptional. We experienced a wonderful romantic weekend.
Lovely appointed room, high ceilings, hugh bathroom, clean & crisp
Great location - close to great shops, beautiful garden lounge , so romantic
The amenities were great, delicious breakfast, afternoon treats and evening cocktails in the garden
I liked the beautiful old world charm and decor best, the staff was wonderful
& what I liked the least was having to go home:)

Room Tip: The
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

What a unique & funky hotel! The staff was so helpful with suggestions. The hotel is immaculate. Breakfast was perfect and make sure to have coffee/whatever on the veranda. Before going to bed, have a drink in the garden. Also, it is in the perfect location - you can walk anywhere in town.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adelphi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel

Address: 365 Broadway, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Adelphi Hotel Saratoga Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adelphi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.