We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain Lakes Saranac NY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Mountain Lake Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Mountain Lake Inn
487 Lake Flower Avenue, Saranac Lake, NY 12983   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
rochester, United States
1 review
“Mountain Lakes Saranac NY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Friendly staff, nice accomodations, girls used indoor pool which was clean and the water was warm. Bathrooms were fine - clean - basic. Beds were comfortable. Other guests were quiet and pleasant. That is about all I can think of, If the review needs to be longer I guess I can't think of anything else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    76
    42
    6
    9
See reviews for
82
58
8
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

I forgot to say in my review that there is not an elevator in this hotel. Be sure and get a first floor room if you don't want to lug your luggage! This makes a big difference to us. None of the rooms has much view anyway as the hotel is not on the lake. McKenzies Restaurant is right next door but breakfast is not included. This is probably the best hotel on the lake, and Saranac Lake is a charming small town. Be sure and have dinner at Nonna Fina Restaurant , only a few blocks away.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We liked this location in a quiet area but close to downtown. Room was ok except for very lumpy pillows. This is high season so we were glad to have a nice room at a reasonable rate. It's not quite on Saranac Lake, just across the street, so no lake view. We belong to BW hotel club but did not very welcome. But we've stayed in "Worst Western" hotels in the past, so we were relieved that this hotel is ok. We didn't see a chain-type hotel right on Saranac Lake, which the town needs, so we didn't think we could have found anything better. We loved the town and would probably go back to this BW but cannot highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Spent 3 weeks touring the Eastern US and stayed in a number of Hotels, Motels and B&Bs, some of them very poor value and over rated. In comparison this Best Western, in my opinion was good value, clean and you what you are going to get - no surprises. The room was spacious, the staff friendly and helpful. Its in a very good location for Saranac - a beautiful spot.

Would we stay here again or recommend to friends - yes.

Room Tip: No lift and we had a background noise probably from the swimming pool extraction ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have stayed at several hotels in the Saranac and Lake Placid area in the past. We had to choose this hotel since other hotels in the area were fully booked for leaf looker season. The hotel lobby is nice and gives great hope that the rooms will also be. Unfortunately, the rooms are outdated and have a dirty smell to them. The carpets are frayed and the beds and linens are worn. The bathrooms are much in need of new grout and caulking. There are many other choices in the Saranac and Lake Placid area. Do yourself a favor and choose any other hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Service at this hotel is excellent and keeps us coming back! We have never had a bad experince with this hotel! The rooms are comfortable. To be honest the most important thing is the helpfulness of the staff . The pool is relaxing and the hotel is in close proximity to stores, Dunkin Donuts, Hospital and Paul Smith's College. The rooms are clean and someone takes pride in the appearance of the hotel, inside and out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

helpfull staff clean and large room comfortable bed very good breakfast variety the promotional room rate was exceptionally cheap and worthy . the hotel location is good and the neighbourhood is quiet plus a very good restorants right at back of the hotel plus starbucks cafe next to them - pleasure to stay there !!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Mountain Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mountain Lake Inn

Address: 487 Lake Flower Avenue, Saranac Lake, NY 12983
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mountain Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain Lake Hotel Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
Saranac Lake Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mountain Lake Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.