We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Vacation at the Porcupine Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porcupine Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saranac Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Porcupine Inn
Save
You added Porcupine Inn to your Saves list
350 Park Ave, Saranac Lake, NY 12983   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Saranac Lake B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Enjoyable Vacation at the Porcupine Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2005

My boyfriend and I truly enjoyed the Porcupine Inn, and went from August 4 th through 9th. We are returning already on August 28th. From the awesome, filling breakfasts before we went hiking to the friendly hosts Andrea and Anthony to the advice on what hikes to take that day to the coziness/cleanliness of the Inn, our stay could not have been better! I have never felt more comfortable staying at someone elses home and this was my first experience with a Bed and Breakfast. The rooms were kept clean and were very cute with all of the knickknacks and pictures. We look forward to returning in the winter to use the fireplace and snowshoe. This place is the perfect getaway and is only about a 10 minute ride to Lake Placid where you can enjoy the little shops, restaurants, and mountains. We rode our Harley, and Anthony and Andrea were kind enough to set up an area where we could park the trailer we brought with it. They were wonderful hosts which made the stay so much more enjoyable!

Stayed August 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    11
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
3
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2005

Anyone looking for a peaceful weekend in a glorious setting could do no better than to stay at The Porcupine. Our room--soft bed, window seat, clawfoot tub --was lovely, but what really made our stay were all the other areas of the house at our disposal. We had wine by the glass in mission chairs in the downstairs living room. We relaxed and read in the adirondack chairs on the sunny deck overlooking morning glory vines and heirloom tomato plants. We ate breakfast in a bright living/dining room complete with oriental carpets and vintage travel posters from the 1920s.

The innkeepers were on hand to recommend restaurants and local hikes, but my husband and I were almost too charmed to leave the inn itself. It was perfect, and we'll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2005

Our stay at the Porcupine Inn was terrific. We especially enjoyed the attentive service from Anthony and Andrea, delicious breakfast, our large and well-appointed room (Saranac Room), and all the outdoor activities that the region offers within a short drive. Anthony provided excellent advice on planning our daily excursions and evening meals. The canoe trip on Lower Saranac Lake and the hike up Ampersand were very rewarding. Dinner at Richard's/Interlaken in Lake Placid was good although the menu was somewhat mainstream. Our meal at Lumiere was great, and we found that the six dishes we had were exciting and well-executed. Overall, this was the kind of long weekend we needed and would hope to emulate in the future.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2005

We had a great time and really enjoyed wonderful hospitality and congeniality. Andrea and Antony strive to please their guests the way a friend would want to please friends and visitors to their home. My wife and I enjoyed the small touches as well, the cookies, chocolate covered straw berries, the genuine concern about our over exposure to the sun, tips on eateries and restaurants, local attractions, and even fishing spots.

We can't wait to return again and again. Fall foliage and /or the winter snow are in mind presently.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2005

I loved it from the minute we arrived. Their website has a great job describing the property and their pictures are definitely accurate. But, for once, reality was just even better than their pictures. Starting with location, which is out of the noise from Lake Placid and perfect for relaxation but close enough to enjoy Lake Placid's restaurants. The place itself couldn't be any better. Tastefully decorated with an eclectic mix of styles, you find yourself admiring every room of the house. On the deck behind the house there is a fireplace with seating area and a jacuzzi. And their lovely garden is an invitation to explore. We stayed at the Charles room and coudn't wish for more. The private porch to enjoy some quiet reading or a glass of wine was definitely an added bonus to an unforgettable experience.
I stongly recommend The Porcupine and I will definitely be back this fall.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2005

In a town that was put on the map for it's "fresh air cure" The Porcupine Manor is anything but prickly. From its Elegant decor that was a mixture of fine art and humor to it's charming hosts and gourmet breakfasts this Bed and Breakfast is a diamond nestled in the heart of the Adirondacks. I highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast for anyone who would like to be pampered and refreshed. This guest eagerly awaits her next visit.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2005

They have a great website (theporcupine) that was the first thing that attracted us. Once we arrived, Anthony greeted us before we even arrived at the door, and once inside, generously upgraded us to a bigger room because they were slow that weekend. We met Andrea soon after and she was also very welcoming and friendly. The building is well-kept, beautiful inside with newly refinished hardwood floors and well-decorated. Everything was clean and everywhere there was interesting memoribilia to look at, including a wooden Old Towne racing canoe above the pool table. The room we had (the Saranac) was spacious with a sitting area, two queen sized beds, a private bath and an enclosed porch (closed in the winter snow we're having). On a deck out behind the house there is a fireplace with seating around it and a jacuzzi. We enjoyed the hot jacuzzi after a day of snowshoeing - they provided robes and towels. The 1st floor common rooms are welcoming with a bar (self-serve if they happen not to be around), a pool table, fireplaces, several comfortable areas to curl up to read, and a wall full of books. They were very hospitable, offering us coffee or other beverages several times through our stay, surprising us with tasty treats (mmm, those chocolate covered strawberries were great) a couple of times, lighting the fire in the lounge and offering help with any travel or dining arrangements neccessary. They arranged for a massage at the B&B for my partner who was having back pain. They also were very helpful and friendly, without being overbearing or a nuisance: e.g. I read for several hours in a main room by myself, and they checked in with me to make sure I didn't need anything, but left me alone the rest of the evening. Breakfasts were delicious and filling and great coffee. The area is also full of things to do. Located in Saranac Lake and only ten minutes from Lake Placid, there are plenty of restaurants, shops, and lots of outdoor sports and hiking/snowshoeing/skiing opportunities. Overall, it was a really great experience and I stongly recommend The Porcupine.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porcupine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porcupine Inn

Address: 350 Park Ave, Saranac Lake, NY 12983
Location: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Saranac Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself with Adirondack charm in Saranac Lake's largest, luxury inn overlooking the forest and mountains. This one-of-a-kind historic lodge features 6 fireplaces, an outdoor jacuzzi, a billiard lounge, wine & beer bar, gourmet kitchen ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Porcupine Hotel Saranac Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porcupine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.