We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced - Definitely not a "Luxury Inn"” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Porcupine Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saranac Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Porcupine Inn
Save
You added Porcupine Inn to your Saves list
350 Park Ave, Saranac Lake, NY 12983   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Saranac Lake B&B and Inns
Franklin, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced - Definitely not a "Luxury Inn"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Pros: Quiet location, large rooms, decent breakfast (although meager in size), pool table, hottub

Cons: The place is run down,not clean, beds are from Motel 6, the property is overgrown and not well tended. I paid $543 for two nights and and would say this is surely not a luxury Inn...I would expect the price for this to be in the $90 to $100 per night range based on how tired and unattractive the whole property is.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    11
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
3
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We had an absolutely fantastic time at this beautiful b&b. The property is very well cared-for and the owner is very charming and very knowledgeable about the area. The bed was very comfortable and luxurious and the breakfasts were outstanding. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

I would recommend the Porcupine Inn to all.
Meg did a fantastic job of welcoming us and making us feel at home. We were welcomed with open arms, shown around and then invited to a complimentary drink. Meg was very personable and informative, she gave us a map of the areas and great recommendations. She suggested the Brown Dog Cafe, it was great ambiance and food. The inn was very clean, cozy and warm. The outdoor hot tub was the best way to end the day, amazing sky/star views. Good selection of games and pool table to play. We stayed in the Mohawk room, great views, fireplace and very comfortable bed. After having a fire our first night Meg replaced the log, no problem so we could have another fire! The breakfast and coffee were great!! Our first morning we had french toast croissants with bacon and Eggs Aldrich on the second day which was SO delicious, fantastic way to start the day!

Room Tip: We stayed in the off season, in the Mohawk room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

We stayed for one night on our way through the region, so it was a brief stop-over for us. We arrived at 5pm and received a very warm welcome from our hostess, Meg. She even offered to help us upstairs with our bags. She was eager to help us settle and provide us with any information and assistance that we needed. She recommended a great place to eat and happily made the reservation for us; she even gave us a glass of wine on the house as we sat and considered our dining options with her. I cannot fault her hospitality...or her breakfast, which despite the lack of menu choice, was incredibly good and she was keen to discover any food intolerances/preferences first so I am sure if anyone had a problem with her menu she would have gladly accommodated that. She is after all just a small B&B, not a big hotel, so for her not to offer a wide range of options for just 2 guests seems entirely fair to me! (I make this point having read some of the other reviews).

I would happily recommend Porcupine Inn. It's comfortable, our room was spacious especially with the extra sitting room (The Mohawk room/suite), internet connection and speed was impressive and we were made to feel very welcome and at home. It restored my faith in B&Bs!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We stayed at the Porcupine Inn during a weekend visit to Saranac Lake. We came from NYC so with traffic and stops, we got to the Inn late at night. Our host was incredibly accommodating and made sure we were attended to properly despite the late hour of our arrival. The Inn itself is kept up really well and the room we stayed in (with fireplace) was ready to go. We also happen to stay during a huge blizzard, no worries though. The walk way to the car was shoveled by morning and getting in and out - no problem. I would highly recommend staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

I stayed at the Porcupine for two nights in June of 2010 with my boyfriend, sister, and sister's husband. We experienced none of the problems described by other guests who gave this establishment an appalling one-star rating (you wanted Meg to do your laundry? Seriously?). The breakfasts were sublime, our rooms were more than ample, and the hot tub was, in no other words, a hot time. I would encourage folks to step back and take a look at themselves before judging the innkeeper as overworked and/or unfriendly. To get good customer service, you need to be a GOOD CUSTOMER. Conversely, there's the adage of "Garbage in, garbage out." Think about it. Meg was nothing but courteous during our stay, and we couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

My entire experience at the Porcupine Inn was incredible and I highly recommend that you try it out if you are visiting the area. It's the perfect getaway for couples or groups and the service and atmosphere are great. We were greeted at the door by Meg, the owner, who was very enjoyable and helpful. She toured the house with us upon request and helped us plan the rest of our trip by recommending restaurants, snowmobiling locations, shops, etc.

The breakfast was extraordinary and different every morning and, after being out and about all day, it was great to come back and be able to relax with friends playing pool and listening to music, sitting by the fire or hanging out in the hot tub.

Overall, great place for a weekend getaway, a ton to do within 10-15 minutes of the Inn, clean and VERY PRETTY location and great service. No complaints!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porcupine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porcupine Inn

Address: 350 Park Ave, Saranac Lake, NY 12983
Location: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Saranac Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself with Adirondack charm in Saranac Lake's largest, luxury inn overlooking the forest and mountains. This one-of-a-kind historic lodge features 6 fireplaces, an outdoor jacuzzi, a billiard lounge, wine & beer bar, gourmet kitchen ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Porcupine Hotel Saranac Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porcupine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.