We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sara-Placid Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saranac Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sara-Placid Motor Inn
Save
You added Sara-Placid Motor Inn to your Saves list
445 Lake Flower Avenue, Saranac Lake, NY 12983   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
The Perfect Getaway
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed in room 14 from the 12th - 15th July 2012. This place was fabulous. I read many of the outstanding reviews, but it was still better than expected! Steve was a pleasure and very helpful. The rooms were wonderful. Location outstanding. We will definitely be back. THANK YOU!

Room Tip: Talk with Steve before booking and you cannot go wrong. He is a dream!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraPlacidMotorInn, Owner at Sara-Placid Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you very much for the perfect review. We hope to have you both stay with us again. Steve/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    19
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
23
35
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I recently stayed here on the weekend as my daughter had orientation at Paul Smith's College. I had called late the same afternoon and was thrilled to find a room as area was quite busy. The owner Steve handled my reservation and was very accommodating. He gave me a wonderful room that had a small kitchenette. When we arrived, very late almost midnight, it was quiet and peaceful. When we entered the room I was thrilled. This is the first hotel I have stayed at in a long time where I was not scared to have the comforter touch me! The carpeting in the room looked brand new, bedding was impeccably clean, and the bathroom was spotless. I felt as though I had walked into a home, not a hotel. It was great. There was a coffee maker as well and a/s unit was brand new and quiet. We had stayed on our last trip directly across the pond at the Best Western for more money, and it did not hold a candle to the cleanliness and charm of this hotel. If you need a room for overnight or while touring area this is your best bet! Thank you for a superb stay! We hope to be back on all of our overnight trips during my daughter's upcoming years at Paul Smith's!

Room Tip: Most restaurants close early so be sure to eat before 8pm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraPlacidMotorInn, Owner at Sara-Placid Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time and providing a review of our property. It was also nice to read your possitive comments of the Sara-Placid Motor Inn. Hopefully your family will stay with us again in the near future. Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this motel. Our room was one of the largest available with two queen beds and lots of space. The walls were fairly thick because we could not hear our neighbors. Steve was very nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sara-Placid Motor Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time writing a review on our property. We were happy to read your possitive comments and hope to see you again in the near future. Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, CT USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This was an older 1950s type motor lodge. Seems well maintained, reasonably clean, and a decent value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sara-Placid Motor Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again. Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I just stayed at this wonderful property last night. The owner, Steve let us stay at the Lake house and we had a great stay. Sara Placid Motor Inn has very reasonable rates and the owners go out of their way to make sure you have a relaxing and worry free stay. The room at the lake had two bedrooms, a kitchen, a large bathroom and a living room with two couches. The view from the dining room was superb. There was a dock and a tandem adirondack chair which was a nice place to watch the sunset. If you are looking for a fair price a nice clean room and very friendly owners look no further. I am bringing my wife with me on Labor Day weekend and I cant wait.

Room Tip: The Lake house is great, the water is calming and the view is outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sara-Placid Motor Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your fine comments about our lakefront cottage. We look forward to your next visit. Steve/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Located on the Saranac Lake , this motel is far away from all the hustle and bustle of Lake placid .which is about a 15 minute drive from the hotel. We Stayed 3 nights and paid equivalent of what we would have paid for 1 night at some of the Chains. The Owner upgraded us to a room with Kitchenette without asking for an extra charge (Thank you).

The room was Spacious and had all the amenities in a standard room. I would highly recommend this place to budget minded travelers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful winter trip to Saranac Lake and Lake Placid. One of the highlights was our stay at the Sara-Placid Motor Inn in Saranac Lake. We always stay at Steve's place when we are in town as we know how wonderful the accommodations are there! We were not disappointed. We had a beautiful Jacuzzi Suite with a King Size Bed and a huge Flat Screen TV. We would highly recommend this motel to anyone coming to the area. It is only a very short drive to Lake Placid and so worth it! We write very few reviews but always take the time to write one for the Sara Placid.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sara-Placid Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sara-Placid Motor Inn

Address: 445 Lake Flower Avenue, Saranac Lake, NY 12983
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Saranac Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful lake/mountain setting. Motel rooms, kitchenettes, housekeeping apartments, suites with private bedrooms, Jacuzzi Suite, bed and breakfast type accommodations and three lakefront cottages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sara-Placid Motor Hotel Saranac Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sara-Placid Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.