We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart warming place with welcoming host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   25 Orrs Mills Rd, Salisbury Mills, NY 12577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
It's All Academic!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
1 review
“Heart warming place with welcoming host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Jean and Carmela are good-hearted individuals. The Calwell house allows singles and couples to enjoy their stay in a quiet and welcoming house. Carmela's breakfast is high quality, full of taste while Jean is an expert at giving suggested towns and places to explore! Thank you, jean and Carmela!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESCT, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
We deeply thank you for your complimentary review!.
Carmela and Gene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    17
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
164
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Windsor, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

To celebrate my new job, and to take advantage of the fact that my husband and I have not taken any kind of vacation in years, I decided to book a room at the Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast for a one day getaway romantic outing.
We live 10 minutes away, but we felt we were in another world. The house is charming, the hosts, Gene and Carmela couldn't be nicer, and the crackling fire in the sitting room was too delightful to pass up.
Our room, The Catherine Caldwell Room was sparkling clean and so charming and romantic we didn't want to leave in the morning.
Breakfast was delicious with Carmela's home made banana chocolate chip muffins, orange waffles and blueberry cobbler with orange juice and lots of hot coffee for my husband and ice water for me.
I know we'll be coming back. I can't wait!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Beautiful house, adorable rooms and true american hospitality at it's best. Gene was so helpful and Carmela made us a delicious breakfast, even gave us some homemade muffins for the road! We loved our stay, and hope to come back again! Will defentely recommend Caldwell to friends!
/Linda and Jesper from Sweden

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

My boyfriend surprised me with a trip upstate - and we ended up at this lovely home. Eugene and Carmela were so welcoming and helpful with our stay. We loved getting out of the busy city and relaxing on the front porch, waking up to beautiful breakfasts cooked by Carmela...delicious coffee and just a warm feeling all around! I had to take home her cook book. You will definitely enjoy your stay! We highly recommend it!!

Thanks again!

Jenn & Phil

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

The breakfasts were outstanding!!! The rooms were super clean and very charming! Would go back again in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Jean and Carmela were very welcoming and a very lovely couple, it was a home away from home, very relaxing, who wants to go back to the city after visiting the Caldwell House!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port St. Lucie, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

My husband and I just spent 5 nights at this very lovely B&B where the wrap-around deck with it's comfortable chairs gave us opportunities to just sit and read and look out at the majestic oak and maple trees that grace the front lawn. Each breakfast was a delight - choice of juice, coffee or tea, a slice or two of a sweet freshly baked bread, then usually a poached or baked fruit followed by the main entree which might be pancakes, waffles, or eggs benedict. We stayed in the Trestle Room with a queen-sized bed and the only drawback in this otherwise comfy, clean and well-appointed room was the sink where washing your face was a bit awkward due to the positioning of the faucet. Carmela and Gene were charming and very helpful with tips on local eateries and sites of interest. We would gladly choose to stay at Caldwell House on our next visit north.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 25 Orrs Mills Rd, Salisbury Mills, NY 12577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Salisbury Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning historic Select Registry bed and breakfast in the lower Hudson Valley on eight landscaped acres with 14 individually controlled HVAC guest rooms with private baths, DirecTV/HDTV/Netflix/Hulu+. Ten rooms have fireplaces, 6 have in-room jacuzzi tubs, and 2 with large soaking tubs. Near Storm King Art Center, Bear Mountain, Brotherhood Winery and the Shawangunk Wine Trail, West Point, Hyde Park, and Woodbury Common Premium Outlets. Hiking, biking and lots of great outdoor activities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, T4B and Hotwire so you can book your Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.