We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit to Caldwell House” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   25 Orrs Mills Rd, Salisbury Mills, NY 12577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New Year's Eve Special
GreenLeadersGold level
ny
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“First visit to Caldwell House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Dena & John are wonderful hosts, so warm & welcoming. They attract such friendly guests who sit around & talk over breakfast& Dena is a fine baker.The hosts are so accommodating,printing out directions to attractions & making suggestions for where to go for dinner.
The house is lovely, so well kept & clean.Our room(Butter hill) was beautiful &spacious( especially for a B&B), with luxurious robes & towels, had plenty of toiletries, covers, ac, i-pad & tv. ,too.
A gem of a place!
Iris

Room Tip: You have to check out the rooms--the 4 I got a glimpse of were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfinneran, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We have a range of mattress types here - "soft, medium, and hard" as each person/couple seems to have slightly different tastes. Next time we'll get you into a firm bed!
Hope to see you again real soon,

John and Dena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    17
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
146
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This review is long overdue, stayed here in June to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday at Storm King and Brotherhood Winery. Dena and John were fantastic hosts. We were greeted by Dena when we got there and she gave a us a tour of the Inn. There were delicious cookies and snacks everywhere which was great after our drive up from nyc. Breakfast the next morning was delicious and the company was great! The Inn is very clean, the owners very hospitable and the location is perfect. It was a shame we were only staying one night. I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Average rated sleep quality since the mattress was a bit too firm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfinneran, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
What kind remarks, we very much appreciate the effort you took to post this!
We look forward to seeing you again here at the Caldwell House real soon.

John and Dena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We only spent one night at the Caldwell House, but as we left, we wished we had more time to spend there. Dena and John are wonderful hosts, welcoming us with warmth upon arrival and spending quite a lot of time telling us the house’s history, talking about renovations they had made and making recommendations for local activities and food options. The house itself is circa 1800 and is full of interesting materials and antiques. John and Dena keep it immaculate and the guest rooms are all large, comfortable, private, quiet and have private, individual bathrooms. If you must remain connected, they have wifi and excellent TV options (including a flat screen) in each room, but truth be known, we didn’t use any of that. We were just enjoying the peace and quiet, the comfort of the bed and sitting areas and the adventure of staying in an amazing old building. Loughran’s next door proved to be a very good place for dinner and our fellow guests also had good things to say about Bella Luna just down the road. Dena’s breakfast in the morning was outstanding and sent us all off into the day pampered and smiling. In all, Caldwell House is an excellent choice for spending a night or much longer and Dena and John will make sure you are comfortable, happy and well taken care of.

Room Tip: Dena and John are very accommodating - call them with room, diet, visit requests and I'm certain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfinneran, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
How kind of you for such nice remarks! We are so happy that you enjoyed not only the Caldwell House but all the wonderful restaurants and attractions in the area.
We sure hope to see you again soon,

John and Dena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We spent three nights here while visiting our cadet over Ring Weekend at West Point. John and Dena made us feel right at home with cookies and coffee on our arrival and continued great hospitality throughout our stay -- ipad and Netflix available in the room, dark chocolate for late night snacking, and great recommendations for lunch and dinner -- and of course a great breakfast and very comfortable bed. We enjoyed our time there immensely and will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfinneran, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again - in the brand new rooms that will be ready when you are back!

John and Dena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We chose to stay at Caldwell House the night before the West Point Triathlon instead of one of the local hotels in Newburg. We realized we wouldn't have a lot of time to enjoy the house because of all the things we had planned to do in the area, but we decided to stay there anyway because we knew it would be a great way to relax before the triathlon. We're certainly glad we made the decision!

We arrived Saturday afternoon and received a warm welcome from John, who gave us a short tour of the house before taking us to our room. When we explained that we needed to leave for the triathlon by 7:00 am and would miss breakfast, he immediately asked Dena what could be done to help us out. She quickly told us that she would make a parfait with yogurt, fruit and granola and leave it in the refrigerator. John then showed us where to store the bike for the night and printed out a map with directions to the start of the triathlon. Our short stay was definitely off to a great start!

After we settled into our room Saturday afternoon, we decided to head to Woodbury Commons for some outlet shopping. Before we left, Dena armed us with a voucher for a discount coupon book...and insider information about the best place to park. We grabbed a few treats from the parlor before we left and then set out for the mall.

Sunday morning brought and early start for us. (Thank goodness there was coffee in the parlor!) When we went to the kitchen to get our breakfast, we found a goody bag in the refrigerator with two generous servings of parfait, along with brownies, water and bananas. Needless to say, we wished we were going to be around for Dena's renowned breakfast that we'd read about, but her goody bag was a pleasant surprise and definitely filled us up!

When we returned from the triathlon, John and Dena had just left for church so we freshened up and prepared to depart. Meagan made sure we knew there was no need to hurry and asked if there was anything she could get for us. A bottle of water sounded really good, so the lovely young lady helping Meagan clean the rooms got a couple from the refrigerator as we were leaving. Needless to say, the hospitality we received at the Caldwell house continued right up to the very end of our stay!

We hope to travel to the lower Hudson Valley more in the future and will definitely consider staying with John and Dena again...if nothing else than to enjoy that breakfast we missed out on this time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfinneran, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
What a nice review. We really do hope you have the chance to visit us again so we can give you the "royal treatment"!
It is such kind people as yourself that make this business so much fun to be in!

John and Dena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We booked at the very last minute, but John was very accommodating. The Inn was lovely, the details adorable, and the breakfast was delicious. Before we left, we were already planning our return visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfinneran, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay. We, too, look forward to seeing you back here again, soon!!! :-)

John and Dena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We found this site on the Internet and sometimes you just don't know what to really expect. This place had it all!! Very welcoming host and hostess, charming, immaculately clean and recently updated accomodations with all the latest amenities, such as Internet, flat screen TV, blue tooth and air conditioning, Sunday newspapers and a wonderful breakfast in a home style setting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfinneran, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you! We particularly appreciate your comments about the Inn living up to expectations. We have a wonderful staff that takes great pride in what they do. They love to hear that everything was just as the guest expected it - clean, fresh, and cozy!
Please come see us again, soon.

John and Dena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 25 Orrs Mills Rd, Salisbury Mills, NY 12577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Salisbury Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning historic Select Registry bed and breakfast in the lower Hudson Valley on eight landscaped acres with 14 individually controlled HVAC guest rooms with private baths, DirecTV/HDTV/Netflix/Hulu+. Ten rooms have fireplaces, 6 have in-room jacuzzi tubs, and 2 with large soaking tubs. Near Storm King Art Center, Bear Mountain, Brotherhood Winery and the Shawangunk Wine Trail, West Point, Hyde Park, and Woodbury Common Premium Outlets. Hiking, biking and lots of great outdoor activities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.