We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great B&B close to NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   25 Orrs Mills Rd, Salisbury Mills, NY 12577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New Year's Eve Special
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great B&B close to NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

John and Dena were extremely friendly and helpful with nearby attractions. The room accommodations were excellent and breakfast was sumptuous. Despite the heat the house remained cooled off with AC.

We cant wait to return in the fall season

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thanks so much for such a kind review. We hope to see you again soon!

John & Dena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    17
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
146
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mattituck, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We visit this area once a year, and this was our first time staying at the Caldwell House. We will definitely be back next year. The room was nice, clean, and just right for what we needed. The B&B is also in a good location for various attractions in the area. John and Dena are friendly and helpful, and we felt very comfortable there. We have stayed elsewhere in the area, but we think this will be our new spot when we visit the Hudson Valley.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Wow, what kind thoughts!
We are so pleased to hear that you will be back with us. We can't wait to see you again!! Have a wonderful summer.

John and Dena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

I can't speak for the other rooms, but the Catherine Caldwell room was lovely. The jacuzzi tub is a nice modern compliment to the old charms of the 19th century house. John and Dena are great hosts, too. If you're looking for a quiet place to relax, you won't be disappointed by this charming B&B. We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The Caldwell House is and absolutely beautiful and historical home with a gorgeous lawn spanning many acres. The hosts, John and Dena, are very sweet and welcoming, and ensure from the start that their home feels like yours. The rooms are decorated quite tastefully and simply, which also made me feel more at home than other over-the-top Victorian B&B's. Dena makes a DELICIOUS three-course breakfast in the morning, and has tasty home-baked treats down in the parlor readily available for enjoyment. Though the local pub is literally right around the corner, everything else is a mile or two away (winery, Storm King), so John and Dena were nice enough to drive us to our winery tour. Bike rentals are also an option.

All in all, we loved our experience, which was a perfect start to a relaxing summer!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temora
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

My partner and I were touring New York State on our motor bike and in search of a quite retreat off the beaten track on our way back to NYC. Caldwell House ticked all the boxes for us. It provided an experience rather than just bed and breakfast. John and Deena were very hospitable and helpfull. More like old friends than hosts. Caldwell house is definately unique, and the most pleasant thing was sharing stories with other guests over an excellent breakfast. Our idea was to relax by booking Caldwell house, and we got all we bargained for. It a pity were from australia otherwise we would be scheduling another stay ASAP. The other pleasent surprise was the meal at Longhrans irish pub 150m from caldwell house.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfinneran, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
The feeling of "being old friends" is mutual, to be sure! We had such a wonderful time listening to your stories about the various world traveling you have done. Our only regret is that you couldn't stay with us longer!!!
Good luck with the rest of your travels and please come see us again,

John and Dena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I stayed here this past weekend with my boyfriend and everything was perfect. The owner, John, picked us up from the train station and then drove out of his way to take us to a bike rental shop. When we found out the shop was closed the following day, he offered to take the bikes back himself on Monday. This was very generous of him. Both owners were very friendly and accommodating. Coffee & delicious treats were always available in the dining room:). The rooms were very nicely decorated and clean. The French toast breakfast Dena made for us was delicious. As far as activities go, I would recommend biking around Beaverdam Lake and taking a swim if it's warm enough. Brother's Vineyard is also close by. One of our favorite activities wound up being sitting out on the front porch and reading/lounging. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfinneran, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you so much for such kind and generous comments. It was absolutely no problem picking you up at the train station and going to the bike rental shop. As I mentioned, we hope this catches on with many people from the city who don't have access to a car.

We certainly enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon!

John and Dena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Caldwell House, in Salisbury Mills, NY. During a recent visit to NYC, we were looking for a place that was just a short car ride away, but yet would take us away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The Caldwell House fit the bill.

The Caldwell House is a wonderfully restored home built in the early 1800's. Everything about the home has been carefully preserved....and on entry to the foyer, you feel like you've been transformed to a simpler and more relaxing time in history. Each guest room is more charming than the next, and all are uniquely decorated with period furnishings and their own private bath. Our favorite part about the home was the beautiful wraparound porch that overlooked the Caldwell House's wonderful property. While we were there, the flowers were all in bloom and the grounds were just gorgeous. The new owners, John and Dena are working tirelessly on the grounds to prepare them for the summer season.

Breakfast at the Caldwell House consisted of a delicious multi-course meal prepared by our friendly hosts. We loved waking up to the smell of fresh bread and pastries. During the meal, John and Dena shared stories about the Caldwell family and provided a great historical perspective on the home and the surrounding area. During our stay, we visited West Point (just a short drive away) and some of the local wineries. Our favorite dinner was eaten at Laughran's Irish Pub, just around the corner from the inn. After grabbing a pint, it felt great to walk home at the end of the evening and relax in the parlor.

The Caldwell House website accurately depicts all that the Inn and the area has to offer. However, nothing can capture the charm and history of this magical place in the Hudson Valley, short of staying for a night or two. We will definitely stay at the Caldwell House the next time we visit the NYC area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfinneran, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for such a wonderful review. You were such great guests and we hope you will come and visit us again real soon!

John and Dena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 25 Orrs Mills Rd, Salisbury Mills, NY 12577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Salisbury Mills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning historic Select Registry bed and breakfast in the lower Hudson Valley on eight landscaped acres with 14 individually controlled HVAC guest rooms with private baths, DirecTV/HDTV/Netflix/Hulu+. Ten rooms have fireplaces, 6 have in-room jacuzzi tubs, and 2 with large soaking tubs. Near Storm King Art Center, Bear Mountain, Brotherhood Winery and the Shawangunk Wine Trail, West Point, Hyde Park, and Woodbury Common Premium Outlets. Hiking, biking and lots of great outdoor activities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.