We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views, very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   777 Seneca Allegany Boulevard, Salamanca, NY 14779   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Salamanca
western NY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely views, very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

Spectacular setting with lovely views. Rooms are clean, well appointed and very comfortable. Quiet, too! That's nice! Buffet serves a decent meal, cafe even better, and steakhouse very good. Recommended!

  • Liked — The beautiful views and comfortable bed.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    88
    36
    14
    11
See reviews for
50
189
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greensburg
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

We have stayed here several times over the last year. Most recently in April. From start to finish, the staff was pleasant, the room VERY clean and oh so comfortable. If there was a way I could get the bed down the elevator and into my car I would...LOL.The buffet is always tasty and has a good selection. I already have reservations for a few weekends throughout the year made. This is a great place to stay!

  • Liked — Staff and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benezett, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2007

i have frequented Seneca Allegany Casino since it's opening in 2004. I have watched it grow and transform into the full service hotel and casino that it is today. It is still expanding every year.
The hotel is truly a work of art inside. The lobby has a floor to ceiling fireplace with overstuffed chairs . To your left is a well laid out casino with the table games near the center and over 2000 slot machines fanning out from there. To your right, past check-in is coat check where you can get a complimentary wheelchair if needed. Next a bank of elevators to the guest rooms . Then another entrance to the casino with a large Native American sculpture.You then can choose the escalators with an impressive copper colored feather mobile overhead or the gift shop with a variety of souvenirs, gifts, sundries, etc.
If you go to the second floor, you are greeted by a large muralSeveral restaurants are here. I have eaten at the 24 hour Seneca Cafe and found their sandwiches large enough for 2 people who don't want a large meal. I recommend the Reuben, Chicken BLT, and Bacon Burger. The waitresses there will split everything on 2 plates for you. I almost forgot. For $1 more you can change your fries into sweet potato fries with a great honey cinnamon dip.
The other 2 restaurant are a high end steakhouse and Italian. I have not tried either as I like the buffet when I am really hungry.
If you are a guest, you can use the indoor pool that is also located on the second floor near the spa and fitness area.
The rooms in this hotel are very similar to Seneca Niagara. Nice wood wall cabinets, oversized shower with several mirrored areas. Every room has a coffee maker, iron and board, hair dryer , etc. The beds are pillowtop with duvets. Nicely decorated in a Native American decor. They are very comfortable and large.
There is good news for the players as
I believe that the slots are more active than they were earlier in the year and promos are more abundant. I think this may be due to the competition from Presque Isle Downs in Erie, PA .

  • Liked — comfortable room with quality woodwork, comfortable beds, super bathroom , indoor pool.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

Been here twice (May & Oct 2007) and both experiences were awesome. First off, you can't beat the gorgeous scenery surrounding the hotel: the trees, the mountains, the air...it's magical. Great view from your room and the pool.
Everything is clean. The hotel is fairly new and so everything is still functional. The bed is very comfortable. Also an iron, fridge, hairdryer, makeup mirror Huge bathroom! No tub, just a shower.
Housekeeping staff is great.

Quick check-in both times. Everyone is very friendly, always a plus. Ate at the steak house and the other resturant on the second floor. Both places were fine. Very friendly staff. Food was okay.

Thought the casino was awfully tight in May. A lot more payoffs this last trip in Oct. I was up $280 at one point....

My only one complaint is the jaccuzi next to the pool. On both trips, there has been some issue of cleanliness when I would go to use it first thing in the morning. It opens at 7 am. (First time scum around the sides; the second time gnats (or whatever) in the water. I don't know when they get around to cleaning it, because when I would go there later in the day, it would be fine. Would be good if someone checked on this before they open.

Having said that, this is still such fabulous getaway. I can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Liked — Just about everything, especially the scenery
  • Disliked — jacuzzi next to the pool
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2007

I go to the Salamanca casino quite often, but I'm far from a high roller....so I was very surprised by getting comped for a free stay in the mail.
The hotel is brand new and absolutely goregous. The rooms are quite large and luxurious. The bathroom has a large sink area and is flanked by seperate rooms for the toilet and a stand up shower stall. The beds are some of the most comfortable that I've ever slept in. Everything is as top notch as possible and the rates upon inquiring range from $75 to $200 and something a night depending upon what's happening at the casino eventwise. The low end of that is better than the Holiday Inn Express across the way from the Casino (also a great hotel).
As for the Casino, it's a lot nicer than most Indian casinos I've been to. The Buffett is excellent and highly recommended. They also have an Italian resturant, a steakhouse and a snack bar on the second floor as well as another, non-gaming bar. The bar in the casino will serve you complimentary drinks of all types as long as you're playing the video poker machines at the bar. The payouts may be on the low side (I haven't heard of anyone coming out more than a few hundred dollars ahead) but if you're just looking for a good time and a nice place to stay, it's hard to beat the Seneca Allegany Salamanca Casino as long as you keep the gambling under control.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2007

Stayed at Seneca Allegany for one night Thursday May 24th, 2007. The hotel itself is really new and the rooms were great. Nice tile in the entry-way and the bathroom had a nice, big glass shower and a seperate water closet for the toilet.
The beds were fantastic and everything was still in brand new shape. Towels and wash cloths were better quality than some of the ones we have at home. That was a nice change from the normal paper-thin ones you normally get a standard hotel. Room did have a working mini-fridge that was nice. Flat screen TV and nice dark entertainment center.

We ate twice at the deli-type restaurant on the second floor and the food was good at a little above-average prices. We had appetizers once and sandwiches the second time. The steakhouse was not open when we were there. I heard great things about the buffet, but we did not try it. We had some beers and watched an NBA game at the bar upstairs due to the VP bar downstairs being full. There were only a few other people that stopped by there for a quick drink but it was a nice bar.

The casino was pretty nice. It's better than some other indian casinos I've been to since it had a nice ceiling inside so it didn't feel so warehoure-like. There are only about 40 table games and they are pretty much in two big pits right beside one another. Had two craps table open and one was $5 and one was $10. Only one Caribbean Stud table, 2 3-card poker tables, 2 roulette tables and 1 4-card poker table. A lot of blackjack with a few dead tables waiting for players at all times.
The slots seems to be set tighter than anywhere I've ever been. There was one machine going crazy the whole time that I remember and I think it was for a $1,000 payout on a quarter machine. Besides that, pretty quiet.

The VP at the bar was okay in its payouts. We probably lost about $100 total there playing Deuces Wild for about 2-3 hours. This was the only place you could get top-shelf liquor and anything other than draft beer comped. On the floor the only thing they serve "complimentary" is Bud Light and Coors Light draft in little 8 or 10 oz cups, and well drinks. It felt so nice having a few Stoli's and Sky's comped since that's what we are used to having out in Vegas.

Played a little $1-$2 NL Holdem in the poker room. There were only three tables going mid-afternooon on Thursday, a 2-4 limit game, the 1-2 NL I was in and a 2-5 NL game. All three tables were full. A decent amount of pre-flop raises by my table, with 5 or 6 of the guys being locals and knowing each other pretty well. The game was $100 max buy-in, and a few of the locals were pretty loose and would go all-in with middle pair and then just pull another $100 out trying to get lucky. I got chased down in a big pot by a younger kid to my right that flopped bottom pair and I went all in with top pair. He had good pot odds and called me and tripped-up on the turn. Overall the play wasn't great and you could probably make some good cash here if the local fish don't catch their card, but the players were pretty friendly and I think you could have fun for a few hours playing here while making a few bucks.

Overall, it was a nice night away for me and the wife since we have twin 6-month old boys at home and the new well-appointed rooms were a great bonus. We paid the rack rate which was a little high but we were only there one night so it was well worth it. You also get a USA Today in the morning to read which was nice.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
148 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
285 helpful votes 285 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2007

We had visited the Senca Allegany casino twice before and knew they were building a nice, large hotel as the Holiday Inn Express is really the only other viable hotel in town. The new hotel opened April 1, 2007 and we stayed there 2 weeks after opening. Believe me, the new hotel "wrinkles" were not evident as it is really a first class property, probably the only one within 50 or more miles. We had a king room reserved and it's possible that it was never used before. Everything was perfect! Comfortable bed, quiet location, huge bathroom with many oversize towels, a toilet room (with a phone) separated from the other bath areas by a pocket door and a shower with heavy glass doors that was big enough to have a party!! There was a plasma TV with a keyboard (I believe for internet surfing that I did not use). There is wired internet access but it costs $9.95 per day that we did not use. Room cost was $90 plus a $10 occupancy charge (there is no tax on the tribal lands). There is an 8-story parking garage (free parking) as well as outdoor parking (quite a walk but shuttle service is offered). The hotel has first run entertainment (Howie Mandel was scheduled for the weekend) and show prices were reasonable ($40-$50-$60). Free valet service is offered (we did not opt for this) and bellhops are readily available. There are several restaurants in the facility that offer everything you might want, but dining is a bit expensive, but food was great. The only downside was a very long delay in making a reservation but I'm sure this will be corrected shortly. The hotel is aware of the problem. All I can say is BOOK IT!! It's a really nice place and you get much more value than you might at the higher priced Holiday Inn Express. Enjoy!! Oh, yes, ye had a lot of fun at the new casino. It's equally beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino

Address: 777 Seneca Allegany Boulevard, Salamanca, NY 14779
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seneca Allegany Hotel Salamanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.